We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting and informative”

CERN Univers de particules
Ranked #1 of 28 Tours in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: CERN, in Geneva, is the world’s largest particle physics research centre. CERN has recently brought into service the world’s most powerful accelerator, the LHC (Large Hadron Collider), which will provide new insights into the Universe and how it evolved. The entire Universe is made up of particles. But where do they come from? What laws govern their behaviour? The purpose of the "Universe of particles" exhibition is for visitors to confront the great questions of contemporary physics : a journey to the Big Bang.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really interesting and informative”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I am not a physicist so I wasn't sure how much I would understand but I loved it. I learnt so much and the tour guide was engaging and made it interesting. I would recommend booking ahead for the tour but even if you can't do the tour the exhibits at the CERN were fantastic and very educational.

Helpful?
Thank quiet_traveller_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    267
    80
    28
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“If you like physics, you'll like CERN”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A nice museum and a very good tour geared for visitors 16+. Younger children will be very bored here. You must book in advance or risk not being able to take the tour. Or you can skip the tour and just visit the two museum sites. No one except staff goes underground any longer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tkelly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
203 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“So Facinating”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you are any type of geek on the inside than this is a must if you are nearby. Going through the free walk around by yourself tour is so cool! My friend and I learned so much about this technology and what they do there that we now think our engineering jobs are super boring as this place is amazing!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Not so much a tour....”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We came here mainly for my boyfriend, the secret science geek. It was easy to get to CERN from central Geneva, just one tram all the way to the last stop. The 'tour' started late and to be honest we didn't really see as much as I thought. There were 2 films and a lot of just standing around in one place listening to the guide...but he was very informative, although most of it went over my head! My boyfriend enjoyed it so that was the main thing, and can now tick it off his list. Just don't expect an extensive tour of lots of different areas; it was pretty good for not costing anything and it lasted around 2 hours. You can take all the pictures you want and there is a gift shop at the entrance selling the usual t-shirts, pens, key-rings etc. If you are into science, I would say do it whilst in Geneva, you will just need to book a while in advance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Coconuts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Science is cool”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It's very interesting and if you have the time, it's worth the visit. It was easy to tour at your own pace and with the audio language options available, you can't help but get some education. Science is cool!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CERN Univers de particules also viewed

 

Been to CERN Univers de particules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing