We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A crafted museum with the business isolated”

International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.74*
and up
Geneva Pass
Ranked #12 of 149 things to do in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This renowned museum, universally acclaimed as one of the best in the city, provides a moving reminder of the importance of international humanitarian efforts.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A crafted museum with the business isolated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a good museum in the sense that it shows one what the main objectives of The International Red Cross is, very clearly. I particularly like the case studies of how they helped uniting long-lost family members. However, the museum feels static, whereas the international red cross is an active and dynamic organisation that is dealing with life and death any second. This museum is OK as a historical piece but one cannot feel it is alive like visiting the UN HQ. So, the museum is good but the Red Cross HQ, there is nothing to see. There is a nespresso machine there which sells the best and the best-value nespresso coffee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yu_Wai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    168
    64
    26
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eglisau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Few technical glitches, but the idea is superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum reopened in May 2013 after extensive renovations. In August 2013 works were continuing outside, making our Geneva friends wonder if it was indeed open.
The Museum has three parts, each designed by different people and offering different, interactive experiences. The most compelling is the account of "witnesses" - real people who tell visitors their story when we place our hands up to theirs in a holograph. This generates remarkable intimacy and immediacy with people in a variety of tough situations helped by the Red Cross and Red Crescent.
Unfortunately during our visit about 1/3 of the electronic bits didn't work, especially in the section on disasters, which is designed by Shiguru Ban, who designed Christchurch's Cardboard Cathedral build after the 2011 earthquake. At one point there was a blackout while the museum rebooted its computers. These glitches might be ironed out by now.
Entry fee of CHF15 includes an audioguide. There is limited extra information available about the exhibitions but you can buy a book that explains more. History geeks might find it places too little emphasis on detail.
Free storage (you put in a coin and get it back when you return). Clean toilets. Nespresso coffee (CHF2) but the café seems to have gone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosemarieNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I generally hate museums. However this is a great one and I recommend. It is not huge (just the right size. It took us about an hour. Very modern, comprehensive and quite touchy

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank miskoosuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very interesting to see how the people in Red Cross is tring to help the others. Please make attention of openning time. It has taken me 3 hours to visit all the museum.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank YBZ888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I took a university friend from Edinburgh to the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement Museum. There are three areas in 'The Humanitarian Adventure' exhibition: 'Defending Human Dignity', 'Reducing Natural Risks' and 'Restoring Family Links'. The whole exhibition gives you a whole idea of what is happening in present world and what are the roles and responsibilities within the Movement. My favourite part of the exhibition was the Chamber of Witnesses, where you hear stories of survivors from the affected areas across the globe. I personally enjoyed my first visit to the museum after many years. A visit not to be missed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fumiaki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum also viewed

 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing