We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starling Residence Geneve
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great surprise”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This place seems a bit far on a map, but by tram (free public transport for tourists with a traffic card given by the hotel) its just a few minutes away from the old center. The tram stop is just infront of the hotel. The residence stands on a very busy road, so ear plugs are essential.
We were definitely surprised about the room, didnt expect such a luxury of almost a 5 star city hotel. The room is tiny, but still enough space for a weekend. If you want to stay longer, it could get crowded. I read somewhere, the top floors were renovated. We stayed on the 9th floor and everything seemd to be brand new. There are tea and coffee facilities (but not filled during our weekend), a little oven (or a microvave), a fridge, a stove, a beautiful Valera hairdryer, huge shower sprinkle head, nice towels and linen and very nice Villeroy & Bosh dishes. A dining table is missing though.
What really upset me was, that the WIFI was not available in our room as advertised! We had to go to the corridor to get connected. Also the absence of reception could be very tricky. Especially if you forget your key in the room (as happened to me at midnight) and there is NO ONE who can help. We had to wait for one hour for the reception boy to come to the hotel to open the door for us. (Thank you again, Fabio, it was very appreciated)
Also no cleaning or filling toiletries whatsoever.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and always ensure you have your key on you when leaving the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kouzelna_Rybicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    121
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
27
109
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in mid-June. Booked through hotels.com. Place is very clean, staff were welcoming, the location great - only 10 minutes by tram from the main Cornavin train station, and crucially, the price is among the cheapest in Geneva. Place is also within easy walking distance of the city centre. Wifi was provided as well as a public transport card during our stay. Rooms/studios are on the small side, they're well kitted out and perfect if you're just using it as a base. Handy that there's a little kitchen in each room, which comes fully equipped. As there's no restaurant on-site, we bought food in the nearby supermarket, a mere 1 minute walk away. All in all, we enjoyed our stay there. Our only little minor quibbles were that we couldn't sleep with the air conditioner on, and that they didn't make up the rooms past 1pm. However, we'd go back again, and would recommend to fellow travellers - both for business and leisure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nialldoheny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is self catering accomodation (although a restaurant is supposed to open later this year). Rooms are not that big, but comfortable enough, and provided with a desk. The tram stop is immediately in front of the House and trams run frequently until midnight (2 am during the weekend).

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on higher floor, as the House is surrounded by roads that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We had a great stay here. The location is fantastic with the tram stop directly outside. The room as clean and spacious. The only downside was there was no toaster or tea towel in the kitchenette, but were were still able to prepare simple meals.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I recently stayed here in the first week of may this year. i booked 3 grand studios for the stay. the apartment was very cosy and the rooms vere large. the kitchen was decently big. We were connected to the city centre by a tram station opposite the apartments. the tram goes directly to the main station from where you can commute anywhere in Swtizerland. there is a supermarket just a couple of minutes away and a laundry station just opposite it too.

now the downside of the apartment......well there is none.....
Highly recommended for stay with the family

Room Tip: Chose a grand studio and the one facing the street......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I have stayed at the studio a couple of times, the last being January 2011 ( the month timer doesn't allow me to go further backwards).
The single bed studio is my favorite as the room space is well planned and configured, allowing for maximum flexibility and room airation. The double is slightly bigger with a couch for relaxing and a dinner table. Most kitchen utensils have been availed but one must purchase some dish washing liquid as it is not provided. Guest WiFi is also available on request. The laundry machines get quite busy in the evenings and Sunday so one must prepare early else you may run the risk of sleeping late. The electronics, from the telly to the fridge, are quite old but they work just okay.
The facility is well served by the Geneva tram service which has a stage right infront of it making it a great location for both holiday, cultural and business visitors alike - Plainpalais, Bel Air, UN etc are one tram wide away.
Most international coffee shops, fast food chains and Turkish kebabs are within walking distance of the facility.
The facility was undergoing renovations so possibly the facility is now quite mordenized. I'm looking forward to staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfiugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed in Geneva for a few days due to a conference I was supposed to attend in the week of 23rd to 27th April, so I have splitted my stay in different hotels so I could enjoy different ways of staying in a city where accomodation is known as overpriced. I've spent 3 nights at Residence Starling and it was the best thing I could have done! The studio where I stayed was extremely clean, brand new, well equipped and comfortable. Good selection of TV channels and suitable lighting and heating. Besides, it's only 5 to 10 minutes from Cornavin train station, and there's a tram stop right in front of the building. You can trust the pictures shown, it's exactly what you're going to find. A special "thanks" to the young staff (the residence belongs to a hotel school chain), always doing well and providing any assistance needed quickly and efficiently. Definitely my choice when in Geneva next time - it feels like home!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaCris1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 105 in Geneva
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geneve Cottage
#2 of 2 in Versoix
58 reviews
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starling Residence Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Residence Geneve

Property: Starling Residence Geneve
Address: route des Acacias 4, Geneva 1227, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Starling Residence Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or leisure, enjoy a quiet and peaceful stay at one of the 89 apartments of Residence Starling Geneva. Our residence is located in the heart of Geneva close to the Plainpalais, University of Geneva and the Geneva Stadium.Easily accessible by tram (line 15), you will find all the facilities using this central location!A number of restaurants and bars are within walking distance.Brand new, you will find all the elements necessary for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Starling Residence Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing