We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Geneva”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starling Residence Geneve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here for a week in July and found the apartment to be ideal for our needs. It is very clean and the staff are extremely helpful and professional. The location is good, being on the 15 tram line which stops just outside the building. A free travel card is given for the duration of your stay making it easy to get round Geneva. The rate is very reasonable compared to other accomodation in the city and we booked a car parking space which was also very reasonable. Our apartment had a double bedroom, lounge with sofa bed, bathroom and small kitchen with a 2 ring hob, microwave and fridge. Plates, pans and cutlery are provided and a Migros supermarket is very close so simple meals can be made. Our only niggle was the air conditioner which was very noisy and not very effective. The noise meant that we could not keep it on at night then you get the traffic noise from the open windows. However on every other aspect, we would rate this highly.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank muletrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

Anyone visiting Geneva should consider this hotel. It's apartment style, so there is a decent size fridge as well as silverware, glasses, etc. Request a room on the top floor if possible, because there is a large terrace there.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkirsch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This place seems a bit far on a map, but by tram (free public transport for tourists with a traffic card given by the hotel) its just a few minutes away from the old center. The tram stop is just infront of the hotel. The residence stands on a very busy road, so ear plugs are essential.
We were definitely surprised about the room, didnt expect such a luxury of almost a 5 star city hotel. The room is tiny, but still enough space for a weekend. If you want to stay longer, it could get crowded. I read somewhere, the top floors were renovated. We stayed on the 9th floor and everything seemd to be brand new. There are tea and coffee facilities (but not filled during our weekend), a little oven (or a microvave), a fridge, a stove, a beautiful Valera hairdryer, huge shower sprinkle head, nice towels and linen and very nice Villeroy & Bosh dishes. A dining table is missing though.
What really upset me was, that the WIFI was not available in our room as advertised! We had to go to the corridor to get connected. Also the absence of reception could be very tricky. Especially if you forget your key in the room (as happened to me at midnight) and there is NO ONE who can help. We had to wait for one hour for the reception boy to come to the hotel to open the door for us. (Thank you again, Fabio, it was very appreciated)
Also no cleaning or filling toiletries whatsoever.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and always ensure you have your key on you when leaving the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kouzelna_Rybicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in mid-June. Booked through hotels.com. Place is very clean, staff were welcoming, the location great - only 10 minutes by tram from the main Cornavin train station, and crucially, the price is among the cheapest in Geneva. Place is also within easy walking distance of the city centre. Wifi was provided as well as a public transport card during our stay. Rooms/studios are on the small side, they're well kitted out and perfect if you're just using it as a base. Handy that there's a little kitchen in each room, which comes fully equipped. As there's no restaurant on-site, we bought food in the nearby supermarket, a mere 1 minute walk away. All in all, we enjoyed our stay there. Our only little minor quibbles were that we couldn't sleep with the air conditioner on, and that they didn't make up the rooms past 1pm. However, we'd go back again, and would recommend to fellow travellers - both for business and leisure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nialldoheny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is self catering accomodation (although a restaurant is supposed to open later this year). Rooms are not that big, but comfortable enough, and provided with a desk. The tram stop is immediately in front of the House and trams run frequently until midnight (2 am during the weekend).

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on higher floor, as the House is surrounded by roads that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We had a great stay here. The location is fantastic with the tram stop directly outside. The room as clean and spacious. The only downside was there was no toaster or tea towel in the kitchenette, but were were still able to prepare simple meals.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I recently stayed here in the first week of may this year. i booked 3 grand studios for the stay. the apartment was very cosy and the rooms vere large. the kitchen was decently big. We were connected to the city centre by a tram station opposite the apartments. the tram goes directly to the main station from where you can commute anywhere in Swtizerland. there is a supermarket just a couple of minutes away and a laundry station just opposite it too.

now the downside of the apartment......well there is none.....
Highly recommended for stay with the family

Room Tip: Chose a grand studio and the one facing the street......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 109 in Geneva
1,330 reviews
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
1,001 reviews
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 4 in Le Grand Saconnex
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 109 in Geneva
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starling Residence Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Residence Geneve

Address: route des Acacias 4, Geneva 1227, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range: £81 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starling Residence Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or leisure, enjoy a quiet and peaceful stay at one of the 89 apartments of Residence Starling Geneva. Our residence is located in the heart of Geneva close to the Plainpalais, University of Geneva and the Geneva Stadium.Easily accessible by tram (line 15), you will find all the facilities using this central location!A number of restaurants and bars are within walking distance.Brand new, you will find all the elements necessary for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Starling Residence Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing