We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for longer stays, love the kitchenette”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Starling Residence Geneve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Pros: New and clean rooms, located right in front of tram stop, KITCHEN, supermarkets next door, good value

Cons: Pathetic wifi, limited service and no fitness center

I am in Geneva for a 2-3 week business trip and I really wanted to stay somewhere with at least a mini kitchen, since eating out in Geneva is ridiculously expensive and every closes so early - Starling Residence fit the bill perfectly.

It's not perfect, but it is very good value for money. The kitchen is a nice (and rare) addition which made it a much more comfortable stay.

Location: Not exactly city center, but the tram stop is right in front of the hotel and it only takes 5-10 min to get downtown. (Plus you get a free travel card for the duration of your stay.) The trams are quite frequent - comes every couple minutes during rush hour.

Supermarkets: There are also TWO supermarkets which are 2 min walk away. One of them is a Migro (big Swiss chain) that has pretty much everything you need, but unfortunately this being Switzerland it generally closes quite early (7 or 7:30pm) so I don't always make it in time. There is a smaller mini supermarket next door that is open till midnight, which is a godsend.

Rooms: look exactly as advertised. Love the kitchen - there is a proper fridge (with freezer and all), stovetop, microwave oven and kitchen sink. They also provided basic utensils, cups, bowls and plates, as well as a pot and a pan. You are not going to be making complex gourmet meals with this, but it's certainly sufficient for a multi-week stay and far better than what you would get in a regular hotel room. There is also ample closet space which allowed me to settle in a bit rather than live out of my suitcase for weeks.

Wifi connection: Other reviewers have mentioned this, and it is my biggest gripe so far. The wifi works most of the time, but the connection can be pretty slow and unreliable. For my cell phone I just ended up getting a prepaid Swisscom Natel Easy Smart card which gives you unlimited data for CHF2/day

Services: This is not a full service hotel so you need to adjust your expectations. The front desk is only manned 7am-11pm, if you want to get in/out after hours you'll need to remember the front door code. Rooms are only cleaned twice a week. But frankly none of these bothered me.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeedaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Friendly atmosfere, all the furniture new, good location, silent nights, close to bus stops, parking facilities... Pretty good. My only complain is as far as Wifi is concerned: non very efficient at least in our room. Anyway we enjoied our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fildispada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We arrived early and luckily were able to check in, we didn't return until later that evening to find some other guests trying to check in and they clamed no one answered the when they dialled the contact number. We were able to let them in as we had key code for the door and once inside there were instructions left for them. My advice would be to check via email about check-in procedures.
Overall we were pleased with this choice (last minute) acommodation which was perfectly located for visiting family nearby. The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable and an endless and immediate supply of hot water with fab showers was welcomed at the end of four busy days. We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to family looking for somewhere to stay in this area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank bigworld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The + :The residence lets us check-in at 9AM! Very friendly staff. Clean and cozy studio. Just near a tram station.

The - : we can hear noise from other studio (a gentlemen sings in shower). No breakfast on WE.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oitanigami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I booked this hotel as a surprise trip for my husbands 40th. I emailed them to request a bottle of champagne and swiss chocolates in the room on our arrival. The response was quick from them and when we got there, all was ready for us. The rooms are very clean, really impressed with the cleanliness. Reception staff is really nice and polite. Location is perfect, you can walk or take the tram, which is just outside the door step. Haven't tried the restaurant so cant comment on that. Overall great experience and very expensive city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OG1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very clean and bright little studios with a fully equipped kitchenette (complementary tea/coffee), work station (free internet wifi) and a very comfy double bed. My studio was on the 8th floor with a lovely view on the city. Breakfast not included but can be bought for 15 francs at the adjacent bar (including fresh fruit salad, croissant, jiuces and a hot drink). Conveniently located opposite tram 15 stop Acacias (complimentary travel card offered upon arrival). Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emanuela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend in Geneva!

These studio apartments were great, staff spoke very good English and were very helpful. Nu 15 tram stops right outside the hotel and you receive a free transport card for the length of your stay. this was great and the transport system in Geneva is also really good.
Check-out is at 12 noon, however they increase the length on our cards so that we didn't have to checkout until 3, this was very helpful.

I am a very light sleeper, however I have no trouble sleeping here, yes you can hear the road, but on the 5th floor, this caused no problem to me (much to my surprise)

Would defiantly recommend, and would use again if returned to Geneva.

Room Tip: higher floors for less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#39 of 109 in Geneva
1,324 reviews
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
996 reviews
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 4 in Le Grand Saconnex
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#44 of 109 in Geneva
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starling Residence Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starling Residence Geneve

Address: route des Acacias 4, Geneva 1227, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range: £88 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starling Residence Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or leisure, enjoy a quiet and peaceful stay at one of the 89 apartments of Residence Starling Geneva. Our residence is located in the heart of Geneva close to the Plainpalais, University of Geneva and the Geneva Stadium.Easily accessible by tram (line 15), you will find all the facilities using this central location!A number of restaurants and bars are within walking distance.Brand new, you will find all the elements necessary for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Starling Residence Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing