We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from the fish and chips”
Review of Ole-Ole

Ole-Ole
Ranked #291 of 1,714 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stay away from the fish and chips”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The place has a nice atmosphere and attracts a lively crowd. Tapas were disappointing as I was expecting Spanish style tapas which wasn't at all the case. There wasn't a lot of variety and we probably selected the wrong things. As a starter we asked for patatas 'olé' style which turned out to be a HUGE dish of fried chunks of potatoes drowning in thousand island type sauce with chilipowder thrown in. This probably would go down well after having had some serious alcohol intake and/or being extremely hungry. The waiter should have warned us that the portions was huge and should consequently have advised against ordering main courses as well. My friend chose salmon tartare which was OK. I made the mistake of ordering fish and chips. Whilst again a huge portion, the fish had no taste and the batter it was fried in was so greasy it gave me instant nausea, particularly since the fatty skin of the fish had been left on as well. The chips were ok.

Staff are friendly, the wines are good and the interior trendy and welcoming.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardtoplease98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great ambiance & sangria, service could be friendlier”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Amazing fun place, especially if you are looking for a place for group (birthday drinks, etc). The staff is accomodating, you can bring your own cake and they will light the candles for you. The tapas are generous, the sangria is excellent. Overall ambiance is fun, and the terrace in summer is fun. Only drawback is the service, a couple of the waitresses could smile a bit more. But overall it s a place to hang out with friends, and stay till the late hours of the night! Had some wonderful evenings there!! :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good wine, nice setting, food was good”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Really enjoyed a few bottles of wine in this place.. We drunk the Argentian malbac which was fantastic.. ceilings are very high so it feels very airy in the restaurant. the buzz was great on a Friday night.. I ate the fajitas.. were nice but should be for 29 chf. Service was very attentive. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FW21Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place to go with friends for tapas and drinks”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The food is good, we always have the shared tapas plate though, so I can only speak for that. It is good value compared to many others. It isn't award winning but it is good and we have been back several times.They have a good selection of drinks and the service is always really friendly. The atmosphere is great as it has a really laid back, relaxed feel to it. It's definitely a great place for friends to go and eat a few bits or drink together.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennyer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Heading to a different restaurant in this questionable area I was surprised to see a crowded happening place on the way. The decor looked pleasant so I decided to make my way through the smokers and ended up taking a place at the bar where others were also eating. It was phenomenally busy for a Tuesday night with groups having their pre-Christmas get-togethers and, although the staff was unprepared, the service was excellent and as attentive as could be expected under the circumstances. Their slogan of "Tapas ou pas tapas" says it all. It has a rather eclectic menu that includes everything from tapas to Swiss specialties and a good selection of wines and beers. As for the price, well, this is Geneva. A local friend thought it was a great, "affordable" discovery.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garnet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ole-Ole also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Ole-Ole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing