We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet good breakfast but very basic”
Review of Hotel Les Arcades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Les Arcades
Ranked #48 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quiet good breakfast but very basic”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We only stayed at hotel Les Arcades for one night and that was plenty long enough considering the room.

The hotel was difficult to find as it wasn't well sign posted and i had to call to find it. It was directly across the road from the train station though so very convenient. The room was very small and a tiny bathroom. The bed was not very comfortable and the room we were in the bed was very low to the ground. Not all rooms were like this though from what we saw, some had normal beds.

The breakfast was the highlight for us and it was quiet at night so ok for overnight.

Overall, we wouldn't stay here again but as an overnighter it was good value in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tibballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    105
    26
    3
    10
See reviews for
18
49
44
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

As someone else here said, don't count the entrance, the rooms can easily be given 4* cleanliness and quality.

Hearty breakfast and coffee and helpful staff. Price is very good compared to Geneva prices!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Omar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed for two nights. It's in the heart of Geneva, situated minutes from the river, bars and restaurants.

The lady who owns the place was so helpful and the staff very friendly and also helpful.

The setting is quirky and the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We booked this hotel for a group of adults on a study tour 14 months ahead, confirmed the reservation six months out, again three months before our dates..We were assured each time that all was in order and that we should not be concerned. When reconfirming four weeks ahead, shockingly, the hotel said they could not possibly accommodate us. We were left scrambling for a hotel that would be able to take the group at very short notice.
I cannot recommend this hotel with any confidence.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyGoldfinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed for one (Saturday) night. Even though I reserved single room, I got the double bed. My room was ready before noon (check in is from 1.30pm). Location is great, stuff frendly, room clean with good free internet connection. Entrance door are locked from 7pm for security reasons, but the reception is open 24 hours. Recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. We thought location was good, near the train station and near many public transorts to move around easily (15 walk to the center anyway). The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good too. Room was simple, clean, perfect. Good price for what is offered.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angeles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at hotel les arcades for 2 nights with our three children. The location is quite central. Of course, not the most beautiful place of Geneva because it´s near the train station but you can basically walk yourself around. Staff was helpful and breakfast and decoration (asian style) were nice. I found it very adequate and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicaaguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#57 of 105 in Geneva
276 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#28 of 105 in Geneva
484 reviews
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#45 of 105 in Geneva
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Arcades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Arcades

Property: Hotel Les Arcades
Address: place de Cornavin 14-16, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cornavin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Arcades 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located opposite Cornavin train station and close to all public transportation, within 10 minutes by bus to all International Organisations, and walking distance to the lake and Old City. Friendly and cosy atmosphere. A complimentary nice continental breakfast is offered by the hotel. Free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Les Arcades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Arcades Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing