We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Sub-par Holiday Inn Express Experience, but still a Good Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport
Ranked #40 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Sub-par Holiday Inn Express Experience, but still a Good Bargain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

This is not a bad hotel, but it is lacking in a few things regular Holiday Inn Express (HEI) guests have come to expect. First the good: it is close to the airport and it DOES have a free shuttle which runs every 30 minutes (I waited 28 minutes at the airport and it did arrive). The rooms are clean, modern, albeit a bit on the small side, but not uncomfortable for up to 2 persons. The AC worked well, the room was quiet, and the shower (no tub) was hot with good pressure. The tram station is only a short 1 block walk. Breakfast buffet was typical and very basic HEI fare. The not so good: there is no usable Wi-Fi signal in the lobby. The signal is poor and catches in only a small corner of the Lobby, and does not catch at all if more than 1 user tries to log on. Wired internet in your room will cost you 10 CHF/day. There is a single internet computer terminal in the Lobby, but it is always busy. On this same technology theme, the old style Philips CRT TV in the room has a decent selection of cable stations, but with just a 17 in/42 cm screen, they will appear tiny. The staff, efficient on most all other matters, had an aversion to providing information about gym access for guests. While the hotel web site advises an “off site” gym is available “for a fee”, two different Front Desk employees on two separate days advised they thought there was a gym in the hotel next door, but had no idea how much it costs or whether HEI guests could even use it! Both politely advised this was what their manager had advised them to tell guests. I have no problem with any hotel not having a gym if they disclose it, but this hotel should remove its current disclosure from its website. Finally, my room did have two single beds pushed together which apparently equals a queen bed in this hotel, although they were not uncomfortable. With these caveats, this hotel is still recommended because at just US$110/night for July (booked many months in advance) it was a very good bargain for Geneva.

Room Tip: Use the general rule: face the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FitDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    374
    244
    71
    24
See reviews for
117
234
101
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

On arrival at Geneva I could not find where the "free" shuttle would pick me up so opted for a taxi, very ignorant individual who obviously wasnt keen on my money as he kept insisting that I should have waited for the shuttle bus! On arrival the hotel looked ok, small bar next to the reception desk and a couple of vending machines. Room on 3rd floor was very tired, small double bed, "scabby" looking sofa-bed - not sure if there would be enough room to open this out if needed as the room was very small, ok bathroom with shower only, plenty of towels. Tea/coffee making facility but no milk, hair-dryer in bedroom next to large mirror :) carpet need a good clean, or replace with something more hygenic! Taxi into Geneva were very expensive at 40Franc one way. There is a very small safe you can get for free located in the office behind the reception but it can only your passport and not much more. Once you manage to navigate the train/train system there is a stop close by which can take you into the city so thats far cheaper - reception staff didnt offer a map of city which was disappointing or advice on how to get in the the town. Breakfast was included in my rate - my advice would be not to bother! cardboard cereals, processed cheese, hard rolls - avoid! Plus point, it has a small (1 PC) internet corner - for free!!! Not a good experience, for the money it cost - would not go back there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinklestar2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stay regularly at Holiday Inn Express hotels around the world and I am normally a huge advocate of this brand but this one has to be one of the most overpriced & disappointing ever! At almost £200 a night, the tired and dated rooms are a throwback to the early days of this chain about 20 years ago. The breakfast was mediocre by Swiss standards and the service indifferent. I know Geneva is notoriously expensive, but this still doesn't make this property anything other than a complete rip off, especially given it's unattractive location some 15 -20 minutes from the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

It is a nice hotel. since i was there for an exhibition which is close to the geneva airport, this hotel is very apt. the staff are nice and friendly and clean and neat hotel. just the breakfast should be a bit elaborate. stayed here twice may 2010 and may 2011 and the breakfast was exactly the same.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishalgoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

After having stopped in almost 10 different hotels in Europe during 2 weeks, Holiday Inn Express near Geneva Airport was the place we should not have stayed. Girls in the reception were rude and impolite, chewing gum the whole time when serving. Switzerland has different plugs than the rest of Europe and the answer to our question if we could borrow addaptors, was: "We do not have to provide it". If we asked about buying those (either from the hotel or some shop), they replyed that they were not a supermarket... It's difficult to give the emotions through writing but everyone was amazed by the rude answers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zelen200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Last April I went to Geneva to attend an exhibition at Palexpo for 4 days, so the location of this hotel was perfect to me. I arrived almost midnight to the hotel and I was a bit disappointed because if you are hungry and it is late, you have nothing to eat besides a sandwich that you can buy at a vending machine at the lobby.

Regarding the service it was ok, you have shuttle service all day long, so I had no problem to get to Palexpo (you can go by foot too). If you have time to go around the city you have to ask for the Geneva Travel Card at the lobby, they don’t offer you the card at your arrival.

The room was better than expected, it was very clean, bit small but it was fine to me. You don’t have wireless internet connection at the room (only at the lobby for free), so if you want to connect to internet at the room you will need an Ethernet cable.
I think that is a good hotel for the price, generally hotels in Geneva are very expensive but this has very reasonable rates and service is not bad.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Location and service to airport was fine. Staff spoke English well. Accomodation were clean, but were so basic, they reminded us of a college dorm room. Very small rooms, and both of our two rooms had twin beds pushed together with barely enough room to walk around them. Only stayed here to catch early plane to States, but thought accomodations were expensive for what they were.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjjtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
0.4 mi away
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Hotel
0.7 mi away
NH Geneva Airport
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nash Airport Hotel
Nash Airport Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cointrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Geneva
Crowne Plaza Geneva
#1 of 6 in Cointrin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.3 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport
Address: 16 Route de Pre-Bois, Geneva 1215, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Express By Holiday Inn Geneva Airport. Ideally located next to the Geneva Airport and Palexpo Congress Centre, the hotel is only 15 min from City Centre and Lake Geneva: Free transportation ticket available at reception. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and from the airport every 20 min. from 05.50am to 11.30pm. Start your day with our free continental buffet breakfast, served every morning from 06.30am to 10am. Companies in our direct neighborhood: Jet Aviation-Tag Aviation-Skyguide-Eli Lilly-Cambridge-Charmilles-TCS-IBM-Lexmark-IATA-Dell. With its fast, efficient and convivial service at very attractive prices, the Hotel Express by Holiday Inn Geneva Airport has a bar, a lobby with free Wireless Lan access, television, a business centre with internet access (charge), a breakfast room, two meeting rooms and an underground and external carpark (CHF15/24 hours). All our rooms are equipped with bathroom with shower and separate toilet, a working desk, high speed internet access (CHF 10/day), a telephone, an interactive television set and a tea and coffee maker. Within few minutes walking distance, you will find various restaurants, a fitness centre, a casino and a shopping mall Our friendly reception staff is at your disposal if you need to rent a car or if you want to buy a city tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express By Holiday Inn Geneva Airport Hotel Geneva
Holiday Inn Geneva Airport
Geneva Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing