We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good location, good price in a expensive city.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Longemalle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Longemalle
Ranked #55 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location, good price in a expensive city.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I spent 2 nights at Longemalle Hotel in Geneve. The price was very good , considerig the excellent
location nearby turistic atractions, museuns, shopping area and many restaurants. Breakfast is good and elevators quite available. Front desk people is attentious with many turistic informations .

Room Tip: Come to Geneve and Longemalle hotel at the end of summer . Prices are good and temperature stil fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiltonCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    70
    56
    15
    12
See reviews for
17
48
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I second what other people say - this hotel struck me as rather more style over substance.

Plus points:
- good location
- staff very friendly
- from the smell of paint in communal areas I think some bits are being redone.
- wifi worked well when I was there.
- Room was very clean (although some of the communal areas very dusty after the painting work).

Downsides:
- very little soundproofing
- I too had one of the bedrooms which looks out straight onto a wall.
- Little choice at breakfast
- No safe in the room (they have one at reception which resembles Fort Knox, great for your jewels, not so great if you just want to stash your laptop whilst you have breakfast).
- No tea and coffee making facilities in the room (as a Brit this is a big issue!!!)
- Unable to provide me with an iron, they expect you to use their hugely expensive ironing service. Very kindly said I could borrow the hotel's only iron, but after waiting an hour I gave up.
- Was very overdecorated but on closer inspection done very much on the cheap - flimsy net curtains in horrible polyester, wobbly tables etc.
- Took quite a lot of wrangling and discussion between the staff to find me a non-smoking room, so beware they are likely to give you a smoking room by default.

My overwhelming impression was that you pay £200+ per night here for something less than a Travelodge/Premier Inn in the UK would provide.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmak418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night to explore Geneva. The location is excellent, perfect for exploring the old town, shopping and the lake area. The staff was very friendly and treated all guests very nicely. The rooms are very charming, with antiques and a very comfortable bed. It was extremely warm and they had put air conditioning units in all the rooms which you don't often find in older hotels. I would absolutely stay there again. Some reviews claim the rooms are small, I prefer to,say charming. And in terms of value for money for a large city in Switzerland I would say it was outstanding.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jj6870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Let's start with the good bits: The location is really excellent, honestly slap-bang in the heart of the city, short walk to the lakeshore and perfectly located for a stroll around the luxury boutiques. Still not too noisy, good enough for a decent rest. Also, the exterior of the hotel is pleasant - beautiful classic building.

The public areas also do have their charme, I suppose, albeit they seem to me already riding the very thin line between timeless classic and plain outdated. Style-wise, certainly more advisable for the overseas vacationer on a cultural tour of Europe than for the business traveller from neighboring countries (also since the WiFi available was next to useless). Breakfast was okay, albeit lacking a bit of variety.

But - big, big but. I know, by Geneva standards, this is not the most expensive hotel, but still, this place will set you short of around 300 Euros, and for that price, what you get here, with all due respect, is pure insolence. I gather from the other reviews that the quality of rooms fluctuates a bit. Mine was actually quite sizable, but the condition the room was in was a bit of a shock - paint flaking off the walls, bed chipped, lamp shades barely clinging on to the lamps, seriously cold draft from the window. The bathroom looked like it had not been updated since the '70s (yes, including those lovely '70s bathroom colors - some may consider that classic...), with chipped tiles in the shower and God knows what kind of grease on the shower door. The room was clean enough at a casual glance, but I was brave enough to touch the top of the wardrobe once - inch-thick layer of dust. Wow.

Staff wasn't much help, either - when I complained about the room, the succinct reply was that there were no other rooms available. Next morning, they failed to arrange a taxi as asked, and until this date I have also not received my loyalty bonus miles, which I had asked them to arrange. Proper failure across the board.

In fact, I do think the place does have a certain charme - reminded me of those eerie, faded-glory hotels you sometimes encounter in former colonial cities, where the old grand hotels rot away while the business community has moved on to steel and glass. Thing is, though - for this type of charme, you usually pay, say, 30 Euros, and not 300. For this price, the condition is simply outrageous.

Room Tip: Since sizes seem to vary considerably, be sure to pay attention to this - if you should decide to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had booked tickets for the fireworks display and this hotel was a five minute walk which made it very convenient. The attractive exterior and lobby area made the hotel seem grander than it is. Our room on the fifth floor had a small balcony (a couple of chairs wouldn't have gone amiss) overlooking the 'square' and to your right the lake, so a nice view. The room was furnished with old mismatched furniture, some of it painted. Actually, I found it quite charming but the room was very small with an equally small bathroom, though it did have a bath. There's no sound insulation - I thought my partner had entered the room, when I realised it was the chap next door just moving around. And there really is no toaster at breakfast! There's an egg boiling machine but no toasty goodness to go with your egg. We paid around £150 per night - c'est trop cher n'est pas - which included breakfast but that was nothing to write home about. The staff were very pleasant, though I felt sorry for the man at breakfast who was rushing around trying to do ten things at once. I wouldn't stay here again, not because it was ghastly - it wasn't - but for that sort of money I think you can do better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
646 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

A fairly affordable hotel for Geneva standards, the main quality is its location, in Geneva's shopping area. Everything else is fair, though not above average.
Rooms are fairly comfortable, though small, service fairly good, breakfast fair.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Unbeatable location, in the heart of Geneva.
Upon arrival, I was assigned a very small single room, with a "fraction" of a window. As I was not satisfied, the following day I was given a proper room! So beware, rooms there can be tiny!
Apart from this poor start, the only other problem I faced was that the air-conditioning system in this hotel is unusual. The equipment is placed inside the room and the unit automatically turns off when a water container is filled with the condensed water. Therefore, I had to keep calling maintenance assistance to empty the water container.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel de la Cigogne
#36 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Cité
Fraser Suites Geneva
Fraser Suites Geneva
#25 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#9 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bel'Esperance
#41 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longemalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longemalle

Property: Hotel Longemalle
Address: place de Longemalle 13, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Longemalle 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Longemalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longemalle Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing