We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I’m sorry I missed this part of the cathedral on my last visit”

Archeological Site at St. Pierre's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.76*
and up
Geneva Pass
Ranked #16 of 149 things to do in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I’m sorry I missed this part of the cathedral on my last visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

As I was planning for things to do on my resent stop-over in Geneva for a day, I can across the Archeological Site at St. Pierre's Cathedral on TA. You have to actually visit to understand the great lengths that have gone into creating this historical experience. The entrance to the site is just to the right of the entrance to the cathedral (which I missed when I visited 3 years ago). Upon going down stairs to enter, you arrive at a reception area where you pay the fee to get in. Temperatures with-in the site seem to very greatly. I wish I had left my coat at the rack provided in the reception area. An audio guide is provided as part of the cost of admission. I did find it odd that I had to ask for the audio guide as it was not automatically offered to me. The other thing you have to pay attention to is the location of the stations associated with each stop on the audio guide. In my mind, the stations are poorly marked. I missed a few of the early ones because the station numbers were marked on the walkway barrier in the shadows below informational signs. Despite my struggles with the audio guide, the exhibit was extremely interesting. Considering you are literally walking through centuries of history, the over-all layout of the site is well organized. I would recommend this visit to anyone who has any interest in things historical.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jimfromohiousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    125
    31
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Reasonably priced with audio guide device provided. If you are interested in history this is definitely worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DRooks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Travelling through History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

A very nice and well maintained Archaeological tour through the history of Geneva. If you are expecting great treasures, art-work , precious metals and stones or things like that, then you will be disappointed. But the Genevese authorities have gone to great lengths to make this into an enjoyable experience. The entry fee is , I guess 8 chf normally and 4 chf for students (they didnt even check my card). Free audio guides are available in many languages. There are audiovisual shows which are very informative. It's never too crowded and the feeling inside ancient alleyways with only an electronic voice for company is delightfully eerie. Overall, a great experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nairit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a must see site if you visit Geneva! After visiting the Cathedral above with its austere finishes this amazing archeological go to this site below it and you will really be taken back in time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JGNY7100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Swiss can sell even rocks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

In this museum you can see, how swiss people are good at tourism. The archaeological site is nice, but nothing special in comparison with other archaeological sites(that I've worked on - although I am not an archaeologist, I sometimes help on a. sites as my hobby). You learn about history of geneva and stuff, but what you see are mostly walls and rocks. There are some models and visualisations, but it gets a bit boring after some time. No golden treasure, no bronze, silver, not even ceramic treasure. Nothing special. In some other countriess there would be just a little table saying this is something historical, but here they built a whole museum around it and that is amazing for me. So I would rate the a. site as average, but the museum as a whole, the e-guides, visualizations, documentaries they show you, ... as amazing. They know how to make museums.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archeological Site at St. Pierre's Cathedral also viewed

 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Archeological Site at St. Pierre's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing