We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Barillon

Hotel Barillon
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geneva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Barillon
Ranked #15 of 21 Geneva B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

POSITIVES:
- Spacious
- Large HD TV facing bed
- Clean and modern
- Excellent power shower
- Daily housekeeping service
- Very close to train station and lake

NEGATIVES:
- We were not given the free travel card promised to all tourists - we asked about this several times but the receptionists kept making excuses, so we had to spend a lot extra on travel, which we had not originally planned on
- Extremely high levels of noise all through the night made sleep very difficult
- No A/C so had to keep the window open at night as it was very stuffy and warm - letting even more noise in
- Pillows inadequate for two people - one large and one small, both very flat and unsupportive
- Although supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, at times there were strong smells of smoke
- Situated in an area where prostitutes offer their services in broad daylight

Considering the prices in Switzerland this hotel offers a reasonably decent price, however, having paid 270 GPB for 3 nights, we were definitely expecting a better service.

Room Tip: Would recommend rooms on top floors as there is so much noise coming form the street at night
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barillon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The position is very good: it's just few minutes walk from the station. The room was small but very clean. The price is competitive and perfect if you have to stick on a budget. We loved the people at the reception. Our only concern is about the missing bathroom's door.
I definitely reccomend that that hotel if you are young and easygoing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

5mins walk from the station. Big and clean with super fast wifi! receptionist is very friendly and pretty. I recommend this hotel. lots of public transport and restaurants. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a top floor room as the location can be quite lively at night but that didn't both...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimpzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. Nice, clean, cheap. Big and clean bathroom with a shower. 5 min walk from the train station. 15-20 min walt to UN, less then 10 min by bus. Not far from the Pont du Mont-Blanc. Lots of public transport to any destination. No chairs in the room. Non of the staff (at least those i met) do not speak English therefore were kinda useless. One might find that the stay around is not the greatest (couple of drug dealers and prostitutes, lots of arabs).

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor. Since the area might be crowded during the night, those who can not stand...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank giovin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maykol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
239 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
967 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barillon

Address: rue de Berne 27, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis-Temple
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range: £85 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Geneva, 3 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes to the lake, the Hotel opened in May 2013 with 25 fully renovated spacious rooms with king-size beds, all equipped with window, bathroom, toilet, sink and shower. Free Wi-Fi access, 24 hour front desk staff, daily maid service, free daily public transport, smoke free and all credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing