We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and marvellous breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Admiral Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Ranked #77 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Hereford, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location and marvellous breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

This hotel was very well located with regard to the city centre and old town area, and was only a 10 min walk from the train station. Staff were helpful on arrival and the hotel facilities were good. Breakfast was marvellous and the best range of food options we encoutered during our 12 days in Switzerland. Free wi-fi access was provided. We were able to get a special room rate for our 1-night stay, booked two weeks inadvance of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
4 Thank OAPHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    183
    101
    35
    32
See reviews for
31
163
60
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
214 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed there over May 2010 , despite the location in the Red street ( which is safe and not bad at all) the hotel is clean and nice it has good small rooms and a decent breakfast with many cheese varities.
It's location is close to the main station and a 5 minute walk from the lake, it is in a live area in the city with many close by bars and places where you can eat at night.

I would recommned it to couples or friends that dont mind being in the red street.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahmad_Ardalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights over a 2 week period.
We were a bit concerned about it being right in the middle of the red light district initially but it was great.IT felt really safe and So handy to the train station.
We left our luggage at the hotel while we went tramping which was very helpful
The breakfast was very good and the hotel rate was very good considering we were right in the heart of Geneva.The staff were really helpful and we had early access to our room
We had Room 32 and 42 both quiet.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frances54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oloron-Sainte-Marie, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is 5 minutes by foot from the station (free travel between the airport and central Geneva, ticket from the machine at baggage claim) 5 minutes from the lakeside and adjacent to the red light district. Though non -threatening, such business does generate a certain amount of street noise at night. Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel and an upper floor to avoid this. Hotel rooms are spotless but cramped, bathrooms are miniscule, reception staff are correct but not service oriented. To consider if on a limited budget and must have a central location, otherwise look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid street noise by reserving off-street and upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbdgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great hotel....room was huge and had most of the stuff that a small family would require generally. Location was great...practically 5 minute walk to Lake Geneva. There is an adult toy shop right next to the hotel but that can be ignored and the hotel ambience was generally free from the influence next door. 5 minute walking distance to the bus station from where most tours pick up passengers. Lots of halal food places all over Geneva and this place was no exception with options for kebabs and halal meat pizzas available generally. Great value for money. Front desk staff was generally helpful even if sometimes i forced them into it :-) Would visit again probably.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parhakoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolim De Moura
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

In September last year, my kids and I spent a one-week vacation in Geneva and we stayed at the Admiral Hotel there. We got a very good price deal, as we booked through internet and we got two large and very quiet double rooms with a good view towards the courtyard area. I still could hear the people in the neighboring rooms talking, but I guess the walls are thin. Since I am a sound sleeper I did not have any trouble with the sleep. Good to mention is that oce we settled in our room a fruit basket arrived for the kids, which was a gift from the hotel and this made huge impression on the kids. The beds in our rooms were sizeable and very comfortable and the bed linen was spotless. We had free wireless internet in the rooms, which was much appreciated by my teenagers. The rooms were cleaned regularly and actually I can not say anything bad about the service and the staff as a whole, who were very polite and always helpful. The breakfast came as complementary and was very well arranged and much tasty. It included breads and cereals, waffles and yogurts, eggs and bacon, cheeses and fruits, etc. The kids liked the location a lot as we were close to the lake, the old town, and the botanical gardens and not far from the train station and several bus stops. On two occasions we went for a meal at the Les Brasseures brewery, which was nearby and offered great locally-produced beer. We had very good weather – sunny days but not hot and no rain, which was perfect for sightseeing and fun. To sum it up, we had great time in Geneva and Admiral Hotel was absolutely fantastic place to stay at. I will recommend the place to my friends and will stay here again, if we visit Geneva soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iaramatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I booked this hotel 3 months ago, based on Tripadvisor reviews as part of a 17 days
and 6 stops vacation. Internet was accessible only in some locations, where my husband and I would check our respective email accounts. Five days before arriving in Geneva (last leg
of our trip), i happened to check my email, only to find a cancellation notice from the Admiral hotel in my junk mail. It had be sent on Tuesday and i was only accessing my email that friday. supposedly this was their 2nd email and they wanted me to reconfirm my
reservation. I called them immediately and as it was a Friday the manager was gone for the week end
and there wouldn't be anyone there until Monday morning. I was supposed to arrive
on wednesday. The front desk clerk told me that , as far as he could tell, my room had been re-booked and they had no availabilities. i was stuck with no hotel, had to
change all our plans which ended up costing us several $100. Instead of trying to reach
me, during our trip, why didn't they charge my credit card for the 1st night or the full stay at the time of my booking back in March? this is what most very busy hotels do.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank liliane757575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMADMIRAL, Manager at Hotel Admiral Geneva, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having the idea to stay with us even if you didn’t stay.

1- Usually and normally when we book a room, we have to ensure that our credit card is valid and has sufficient sold to guarantee it (that was not your case)
2- You didn’t reply to our E mails
3- We tried vainly several times to make the transaction on the credit card provided.
4- It is clear; it is up to you to manage your E mail configuration to avoid sending your precious mail in Junk file.
5- Hotel will not keep non-guaranteed rooms; hence we canceled your booking!
6- Imagine! If you didn’t show up, who would pay the fee of NO SHOW?

However, we are still looking forward to welcoming you to show you the SWISS HOSPITALITY and GENEROSITY ( not “ SWISS ARROGANCE” as you wrote) but please next time do respect the policy and procedure applied worldwide to ovoid surprises in your legs of trip, and specially do not forget to have an eye on your Junk mail.

Best Rgards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#79 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Hotel Windsor
#81 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Excelsior
#61 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Geneva

Property: Hotel Admiral Geneva
Address: rue Pellegrino-Rossi 8, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star hotel, recently renovated, perfect central location, all rooms non smoking with air condition and free Wi-Fi wireless internet. A rich buffet breakfast is included in the price as well as all tax and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Admiral Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing