We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IN THE RED LIGHT DISTRICT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Ranked #77 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“IN THE RED LIGHT DISTRICT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The hotel is with in the red light district with a sex shop next door. There are working women raoming the streets in broad daylight. The reception clerk advised us not to walk back late in the evening with valubles, purses or bags in our hands.
The rooms are small smelly and dingy The elevator is rickety and can only hold two people at a time. It is safer to take the stairs.
We checked out immediately and moved to another hotel.The hotel refused to return our money. We had booked for 2 nites and we were willing to pat for one nite and wewanted the 2nd nite refunded but they refused.
Book this only if you are visiting Geneva for its redlight district and bring a disinfectant for the rooms

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank samv62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMADMIRAL, Manager at Hotel Admiral Geneva, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having the time to write your “helpful” review despite its contents ! Because you gave me the opportunity to clarify the situation.


1- The Hotel is not within the red light district, It is right at the edge of the so called Geneva red light district, where you find within, a church and a primary school for children and many “ normal” activities, please do not forget that you are at the heart of Geneva city! You can avoid this area if you come from the Main Train Station side. If you like it, you can go through.

3- Among our guests you find: families, businessmen, couples, and others. Please read the following part of one of the reviews “My partner was a little worried about the red light district nearby, but while we saw some of the girls, they didn't cause any problems at all, and we needn't have worried”

4- The receptionist has merely advised you to use the safe deposit box existing in your room to keep your valuable things in a safe place, rather than roving with them day and night. Geneva is a safe European city

5- Our rooms are spotless clean and as it is written above in one of the reviews “You can smell the detergent when u come back to the room” So you do not have to bring your disinfectant with you !

6- Your rooms were booked and paid through a travel agency, hence the hotel can not refund you, the travel agency and the hotel have to apply the related clauses of the contract in such cases.

I respect your point of view relating the red light district, because we are not similar and maybe we have different cultures obliging us to react differently facing several facts, however the detergents and the disinfectants are same for all of us, if you do have one special for you, take it with you wherever you go!

Best regards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    183
    101
    35
    32
See reviews for
31
163
60
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

The staff and manager go out of their way to be accommodating. I want to mention especially Magda and Iole, who were helpful and very gracious when I asked for information about Geneva. My room was small, but there was a good sized closet, a desk, and a safe. Everything was very clean. The bathroom was fairly large, and the bathroom amenities were far better than those in other hotels I stayed in during this trip. Also better than the other hotels was the breakfast. There were many choices and everything was quite fresh and very good.

A big plus was free Wi-Fi in the rooms. This is something not to be taken for granted, since two hotels I stayed in prior to the Admiral charged for Wi-Fi. The hotel also has two public computers, which is a great convenience.

I would have liked better lighting in the room, however. It was difficult to read with the very dim lights. This is something the management should try to remedy. Other than that, I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiaOra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Location: Conveniently located close to Cornavin Railway Station and Geneva Lake. Plenty of groceries and restaurants within 2-5 mins walking distance. The property is situated at the end of the red-light area and thereby did not pose any uncomfortability during our stay.

Checkin/Checkout: Breezed through; was smooth.

Rooms: Clean, cosy with an airconditioner (realised it is an essential during summer stay at Geneva), adequate furniture and some nice paintings on the wall. The hotel lift is a bit of hinderance as it can accomodate max of a couple + 2 small trolleys

Breakfast: Pretty decent and a good range for a 3 star.

We stayed at Admiral both on our entry and exit from Switzerland (Geneva AIrport). To conclude, we would recommend this hotel for single/couples seeking 3 star adequate amenities accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samir_Sayad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

This hotel was very well located with regard to the city centre and old town area, and was only a 10 min walk from the train station. Staff were helpful on arrival and the hotel facilities were good. Breakfast was marvellous and the best range of food options we encoutered during our 12 days in Switzerland. Free wi-fi access was provided. We were able to get a special room rate for our 1-night stay, booked two weeks inadvance of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
4 Thank OAPHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
225 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed there over May 2010 , despite the location in the Red street ( which is safe and not bad at all) the hotel is clean and nice it has good small rooms and a decent breakfast with many cheese varities.
It's location is close to the main station and a 5 minute walk from the lake, it is in a live area in the city with many close by bars and places where you can eat at night.

I would recommned it to couples or friends that dont mind being in the red street.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahmad_Ardalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights over a 2 week period.
We were a bit concerned about it being right in the middle of the red light district initially but it was great.IT felt really safe and So handy to the train station.
We left our luggage at the hotel while we went tramping which was very helpful
The breakfast was very good and the hotel rate was very good considering we were right in the heart of Geneva.The staff were really helpful and we had early access to our room
We had Room 32 and 42 both quiet.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oloron-Sainte-Marie, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel is 5 minutes by foot from the station (free travel between the airport and central Geneva, ticket from the machine at baggage claim) 5 minutes from the lakeside and adjacent to the red light district. Though non -threatening, such business does generate a certain amount of street noise at night. Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel and an upper floor to avoid this. Hotel rooms are spotless but cramped, bathrooms are miniscule, reception staff are correct but not service oriented. To consider if on a limited budget and must have a central location, otherwise look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid street noise by reserving off-street and upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbdgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#48 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#76 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Windsor
#82 of 106 in Geneva
3.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#55 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Geneva

Property: Hotel Admiral Geneva
Address: rue Pellegrino-Rossi 8, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star hotel, recently renovated, perfect central location, all rooms non smoking with air condition and free Wi-Fi wireless internet. A rich buffet breakfast is included in the price as well as all tax and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing