We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, small, quite and in the red light district!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Admiral Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Ranked #77 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Ottawa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Clean, small, quite and in the red light district!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

Didn't realise it when I booked it, but it is right in the red light district. No worries though, I felt safe and it was certainly in a central location to walk to the train station. The room was European small, but not too small that I couldn't function. Room clean but a bit dark - small window. Breakfast was included and was the usual stuff - coffee, cereals, cheese, rolls, fruit. I was there one night and it was absolutely fine for the moderate cost (relative to Geneva) and decently central location.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingdoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    183
    101
    35
    32
See reviews for
31
163
60
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merignac, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

We are thoroughly satisfied with our stay in Hotel Alpina. Its location provides easy commute to different tourist attractions. The breakfast served in the hotel is sumptuous. Although initially, the staff was not very polite, during the rest of the stay, there was no problem. The elevators are a little too tiny. They had a good wifi connection, which was included in the stay. Overall, a good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duesseldorf
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

I was in the hotel for one night with one friend. We were for the first time in Geneva but we still could find the hotel very quickly. From the airport you take almost any train to the Geneva station (10min) and then walk ca.5 min to the hotel. This is not a luxary hotel, but very friendly, with a lot of paintings of different stile, but somehow cozy. I was als osurprized by fresh apples they offer the whole time there. The only thing was that it was pretty cold outside on that day and the heating in hotel was not enough to make room warm enough (they said the heating was already on max capacity). Breakfast was big, with fresh fruits. Free internet available. You get a free train card for all days of your stay ( i suppose this is normal in any hotel in Geneva). We were happy with this hotel.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KOLIRIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

Nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Had a pushchair which was too big for the very small lift so had a bit of trouble getting it up and down stairs. Room was big enough for a couple but a bit cramped with a travel cot and pushchair in it. Would recommend for a couple or group of friends. The restaurant opposite I highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank bramley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

Have stayed in quite a few Geneva hotels over the years, but this was the best 3 star I've found. Really handy location so near to Cornavin. Yes, it's right next door to a sex shop, but this is Geneva, so unless you feel really uncomfortable about it, its not a problem at all. This part of town is 'interesting', but in my experience perfectly safe.

The rooms are good. Not large, but thats a reality of the old buildings in Pacquis. I found the room to be well appointed, and very pleasantly decorated. Like most swiss hotels the water was reliably hot, and the shower good and powerful. The free in room wifi is quite superb. Fast, and 100% reliable. A good reason to stay here in itself. But perhaps the best of all is the breakfast - really excellent buffet, in a pleasant breakfast room area.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. Its pleasant, cozy and the staff are really helpful. One silly thing - I didn't realise I was being offered a free bus pass at first, and turned it down initially because I'd bought one at the airport. But they were very helpful about issuing it when I realised my mistake.

All in all, a great find. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Although the location is on the edge of the red light district, as a female traveller I didn't find this disturbing or threatening. The hotel is within easy walking distance of everthing you will want to see in Geneva. The room was smallish but very clean & having BBC Prime to watch was a bonus! Very nice breakfast buffet and helpful desk staff. A fairly quiet stay and the Admiral Hotel offers good value for money in a city where accommodation seems to be very expensive.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

Arrived at 10am, one hour prior to check in time and was given access to the room booked. Hotel is nicely located in between the rail station and the waterfront but right in the middle of the red-light district - not a problem in the day but 40+ girls looking for business at night make the area a little seedy. Clean room with all the facilities you normally expect. Hot powerful shower, free wi-fi and superb breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Strongly recommended if you don't mind the nocturnal 'atmosphere'.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew1NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#78 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Hotel Windsor
#81 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Excelsior
#62 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Geneva

Property: Hotel Admiral Geneva
Address: rue Pellegrino-Rossi 8, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star hotel, recently renovated, perfect central location, all rooms non smoking with air condition and free Wi-Fi wireless internet. A rich buffet breakfast is included in the price as well as all tax and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Admiral Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing