We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Ranked #76 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
calgary
1 review
“Absolutely wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This little B&B was absolutely lovely. We received a kind, welcoming reception by the staff who were also very helpful. Common areas are decorated in a quaint, artistic style. The bedroom and bathroom was immaculate. We slept well and enjoyed an amazing, four star buffet breakfast. It couldn`t be in a more perfect location - walking distance to the train, fabulous restaurants and cafes and the lake. I would love to come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    185
    102
    36
    32
See reviews for
31
165
62
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This hotel is 'fine' but I would not recommend it. It is old, dingy, and extremely small. The bedroom and bathroom are cramped and the bed is hard.

It is in near the train station - which is convenient, however it is an area with a good deal of prostitution. I wouldn't say its 'unsafe' - but just a bit unsavory.

I would stay somewhere else if you can... though Geneva is expensive and for the money this establishment is acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citymusiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We have had a pleasant stay at this hotel. We were dubious about the area, but nothing to worry about, turn left as you leave the entrance, as it`s a better area. Reception were very helpful, small but comfortable rooms, bathrooms plenty of toiletries and towels. Free internet. Breakfast plentiful and variety. Noisy doors, but I`m a light sleeper and slept very well. We would definitely return here again. There`s a good restaurant opposite, the only one we tried with plenty of helpful pleasant waiters. Everywhere else was short staffed, even the most expensive. We don`t recommend the Tavern de Madeliene, surly waitress who couldn`t translate menu (lunchtime). Everywhere`s expensive of course and lots of beautiful villages around the area. The train was a good idea, and free transport was a boon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Good clean rooms and efficient service. Buffet breakfast was nothing special but more than adequate. Location for exploring Geneva on foot is really good, with a host of restaurants, bars & coffee shops all within a few minutes walk. Yes it is at the edge of the red light district and is next door to a sex shop, but these do not impact the hotel or your stay (you can avoid both if you approach from the city center direction).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlySme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The Hotel Admiral is all we could have asked for during our an overnight stay in Geneva. Clean, well appointed rooms; an excellent breakfast with all the fixin's; and an incredibly reasonable price for a city not exactly known for bargains. The hotel is an easy walk from the main station, which was also a big plus.

Yes, the hotel's located in the red light district, but don't let that be a deterrent. This being Switzerland the area was clean, tidy and safe. Not only does the neighborhood have some working girls and sex shops, but there are also really great restaurants, cute shops, and a few pubs.

If passing through Geneva, the Hotel Admiral is a great choice!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutofRange331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this nice little hotel. I travelled there with my young daughter for a mommy/daughter weekend in Geneva. The staff was friendly and helpful suggesting places to visit as the weather had turned unexpectedly cold and rainy in mid-May. (We went to Natural History Museum - free and it was also free to travel there with public transport).
The hotel was clean and bathrooms spotless (not even a sign of pink mildew which I am not shocked to see even in some other hotels - seems the Germans and Swiss have not discovered bleach to kill that stuff off, but I digress). The beds were comfy (not a given) and the rooms dark (thank goodness as my child wakes up immediately if she detects light).
We felt safe in the area despite it being in the ¨red light district¨. As a friend mentioned, the red light district in Geneva is NOT the red light district of NYC.
The breakfast buffet was lovely. Everything was fresh and there was a large selection of food.
AND we were not the only family with young children there on the weekend. I saw at least two other families (if not three) there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed at Hotel Admiral while on holiday in europe. After reading reviews about the sex shop next door i was a bit apprehensive however our stay was fantastic. The room was nice and clean, the breakfast was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. The lake was just down the road and everything was so close. And we got a free transport card for geneva which was very helpful. I always felt safe outside the hotel. The 'red light' area is in one direction and the lake, food, shopping etc is in the other direction so there is no need to pass sex shops or anything like that. We did however go into the district to do some laundry and although passed a couple of 'ladies of the night' never felt uncomfortable at all. The hotel is great and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbunny101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#45 of 105 in Geneva
113 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#75 of 105 in Geneva
177 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 105 in Geneva
439 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Novotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneve Centre
#41 of 105 in Geneva
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral Geneva

Property: Hotel Admiral Geneva
Address: rue Pellegrino-Rossi 8, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Admiral Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star hotel, recently renovated, perfect central location, all rooms non smoking with air condition and free Wi-Fi wireless internet. A rich buffet breakfast is included in the price as well as all tax and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Admiral Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing