We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and spotlessly clean”
Review of Hotel de Geneve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Geneve
Ranked #60 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A good hotel for a short stay in Geneva, very conveniently located near Cornavin station and the old town. The decor is rustic and rather typical, but the rooms are very clean. Shame about the trafic noise during the night though.

Room Tip: Aks for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MistigriBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We absolutely agree with the other reviewers. Small, quirky and characterful. Rooms small and basic but quiet. Very good location 10 mins from the central rail station and the area felt very safe to wander around. 15 minutes walk to the old town and tram stop and buses a couple of streets away. The staff were all pleasant and helpful, but some clientele were noisy and thoughtless- talking along the corridors into the early hours. Has both business and tourists and clearly very popular. Breakfast was good though it is served along side the reception so slightly odd and at times was full. Probably a good option for Geneva in terms of value for money but not a treat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moatpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Boutique hotel with loads of character. Simple. No mass-produced decor. Super-friendly reception staff. Very central yet quiet. Just a short walk to the bridges and to central rail station. I will definitely be back. A very nice haven in this sometimes cold city.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank constantParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had a couple of experiences with this hotel on a recent trip. For the first bit, I was in a single room and it was fine- tiny, functional, clean and with really tiny washrooms! Pros are the value for money, central location and breakfast. Cons are the really small room and amenities sizes and wi-fi availability only in (always busy) hotel lobby and pretty noisy overall.

On the second part of my trip, I shared a room with a friend and we had a lovely, spacious room with a separate WC, and full-sized bath, and a large room with a couch and desk and space to spare. A totally different experience! The pros were the same and the cons were greatly reduced! We even discovered that the 2nd level lobby caught some wi-fi signals and had some comfy couches, so we could get some emails and work done from there when the lobby was unbearably busy!
They also provide a quick laundry service for 5 CHF for a bag of clothes! Great deal.
I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0yalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A beautiful hotel with a very friendly staff. I've been there three times and stayed each time for 5 days. The location of the hotel is at the heart of Geneva, very close to the railway station, bus station and to many sight seeings such as the fountain and the Old Town. The rooms are clean but toilets are too small. I used to love the breakfast there they serve the best coffee I had ever had. I loved the decor they did during Christmas and Easter. The area used to have breakfast there is also very warm and nice..

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perihanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a great location and very well priced. Also hotel staff is very helpful.
Breakfast was included with room and very good. I only paid $120 per night for room
And that included breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They are very close to train station (Just down the hill 3 blocks from Train station on FAZY street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlpsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Manor supermarket, train and bus stops all close to hotel. Many restaurants on the river side, old town within walking distance. Good breakfast, included in room rate. Wifi is free, but does not connect beyond the reception and 1st floor. All staff are multilingual and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Werner O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#78 of 106 in Geneva
181 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 106 in Geneva
449 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#61 of 106 in Geneva
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ibis Geneve Centre Gare
#32 of 106 in Geneva
455 reviews
Excelsior
#59 of 106 in Geneva
281 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Des Tourelles
Des Tourelles
#70 of 106 in Geneva
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Geneve

Address: place Isaac- Mercier 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Hôtel Rio)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: £88 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Geneve 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Geneve Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing