We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice location, but our room was kind of a pit”
Review of Residence St James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence St James
Ranked #80 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really nice location, but our room was kind of a pit”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

You can't beat the location -- right in the old city, a block from Lake Geneva, lots of nice restaurants and (pricey) shopping nearby. But the service basically stinks -- and, speaking of stinking, our room reeked of cigar smoke. One night in the room, even with our bags shut tight and the windows wide open, and all of our clothes and luggage stank for the next day. My sense is that these are actual apartments that the owners rent out for individual nights through the building's management. The person at the front desk was very nice but couldn't help with anything. Also, we had to leave the hotel at 6:30 AM to catch a cab to the airport. Although the front desk person told us the desk would have staff beginning at 6AM, nobody was there, so we had to roam the streets of Geneva at 6:30 in the morning to hail a cab on the street. It's cheap, but I would have paid an extra $100 or more for a nicer place.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    32
    23
    15
    21
See reviews for
19
29
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clwyd
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

A safe and pleasant stay every tie where value is the name of the game. Not the Ritz and in need up of grading but in this city of high priced hotels with not much respect for customers - this is the place. Ask for a room at the back and remember there are three supermarkets close by to stock up
youe supplies . Close to shops and the Lake, there is an excellent selection of resturants nearby and the links to the Airport are first class.Great beds that fold up and a decent bath make up for the limited kitchen utensils and rather old tv.

Room Tip: A room at the back always. Book well in advance and try the italian restaurants of the area and ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Staying in Geneve requires romantic walking along the sides of its wonderful lake, where the prices of stay jumps. Therefore this amazing residence gives a lot of flexibilities due to its strategic location which is close to the lake & jet d'eau. In addition the central shopping zones.
This residence is offering free wifi, their breakfast is not recommended, there's a close Mcdonalds to this point, the room was nice with some small repairs needed, there was a gas, microwave, minibar & safebox.
I really enjoyed my short stay & i recommend it for budget travellers.

Room Tip: Top floor with a proper view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASaadany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This place is very centrally located in Genev. You can easily walk down to the floral clock and the lake side from where you get the tickets for city tour.

Reformation wall is also pretty near to this hotel.

The rooms are clean nice. The staff is very friendly and co-operative. To reach airport you can take their services , its cheap and efficient.

The utensils in the room are not uniform, we had taken 2 rooms so we did not have any problems.

Well, its worth staying in this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukherjee_rakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

This little residence was one of our great finds for budget travelers. The rooms were extremely clean and included a little kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, gas top, coffee & tea making facilities as well as a quite large room with comfortable bed and good heating. Switzerland is on the whole not a budget destination in Europe and eating out is very expensive so having access to somewhere to cook is fantastic. The hotel is located one street back from the lake and a short walking distance from the old city. From Geneva airport you can get free tickets for public transport in Geneva. You can catch a train to the main station then a no 8, 5 or 10 tram to very close to the hotel. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants close by if you need to go out to eat. Staff here are also very helpful with information and ready to assist with all you ask of them.

Tip 1: book well in advance if visiting in high season
Tip: 2 don't forget pick up your free public transfer ticket before leaving the baggage pick up area at the airport.
Tip 3: ask your hotel to provide you with your free public transport ticket which is valid for the whole of your stay and means you can travel anywhere in the city and back to the airport for nothing.
Tip 4: if staying here save money by cooking yourself.

Was this information helpful. If so please let me know.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KathyH111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The staff at the reception desk hardly speak French or English. The room is cleaned only each three days. And the lift was broken when we left the hotel. The housekeeper helped us with our heavy laguagge, but only because she was very kind with our impossibility to take them down, from the 7th floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Longemalle
Hotel Longemalle
#50 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sagitta Swiss Quality Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Geneve
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#8 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cigogne
Hotel de la Cigogne
#39 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atel - Calvy
Atel - Calvy
#79 of 105 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bel'Esperance
Bel'Esperance
#41 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence St James

Property: Residence St James
Address: 3 Rue Versonnex, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence St James 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Residence St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence St James Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing