We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel nearby train station” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Excelsior
Ranked #60 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent hotel nearby train station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

3 stars hotel nearby train station and main bus lines. Small but nice breakfast room. Decent rooms with quite old furniture. Nice personnel. Many places where to eat in the surroundings. Good price value for Geneva.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stef0468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    108
    93
    17
    5
See reviews for
23
57
50
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level Contributor
244 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

You wouldn't guess from outside, but this is a well-run and friendly establishment. The rooms are not large, and my single bed was against the wall, but everything was sparkling and clean.

The wifi worked (a power socket near the table would be nice) and the breakfast consisted of a reasonable selection of good quality items.

Centrally placed, the hotel is down a side street, which is a distinct advantage in this area,

I'll be back, I expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

States at the Excelsior for three nights in a group of eight. Rooms are ok value, nothing luxurious but neat and tidy. If you can get a room at the front of the hotel - rooms at back face onto a very gloomy boarded up yard! Location is good at circa 3 min walk to the bridges that split the new town from the old.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neighbourhoodmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I stayed in Geneva many times in 3 and 4* hotels for business purpose. From my previous experiences I can really tell that this hotel is a very good value for the price. My excellent experience started by a warm and friendly welcome. The staff is very efficient and is always willing to give good advice. My room was comfortable and very well furnished with many amenity products such as sleepers. I also appreciate the free wifi and transportation card. The furnitures are a bit old but this is no issue for a short stay. The location is ideal.
It is a good hotel for business travellers like me who are looking for a place to sleep and who will not spend too much time in the room.
For my next stay in Geneva I will definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in Geneva many times in 3 and 4* hotels for business purpose. From my previous experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton NZ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Staff were very welcoming, nice rooms, good value breakfast was fine, good shopping in and around hotel, lake very close. nice stay. Lift is pretty old school and quite funny. The old steel sliding door. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which we began to find was normal in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lipm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the end of October in a perry of 8. We were split into four rooms and despite booking twin rooms one room was a double which we were told couldn't be changed. Not ideal for 2 men. The rooms differed massively in standard and were scattered between all floors, some with large bathroom, some with shower cubicles only. Double balconies with large shutters, some with view of the backstreets and just windows. One overriding factor of the hotel was the noise. Located on a busy intersection in Geneva the location is good but outside noise is high. However the most noise is from internally. The floors are all marble and when the cleaner starts at 0730 anywhere on the same floor or above or below your room then the noise of the furniture being dragged around makes it impossible to sleep. This goes on all day. The reception staff are friendly and the breakfast is to a good standard, hot selection as cold meats with pastries. Wouldn't stay here again just because of the old style of the decor and bathrooms but mainly the noise which was just too much...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

LOCATION
Very centrally located, just two minutes from the Central Station (Gare Cornavin) and the lake.

ROOM
Small room with very basic furniture. Nonetheless, everything was there and it was clean.

HOTEL FACILITIES
Free wifi. Breakfast is included in the rate, but the selection is fairly limited.

SERVICE
Nothing special, but reasonably friendly.

VALUE FOR MONEY
Considering the generally very high hotel rates in Geneva this place is really value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms to the patio are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#62 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#56 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#42 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Pâquis-Temple
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#50 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior

Property: Excelsior
Address: rue Rousseau 34, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing