We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victim of its Location”
Review of Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excelsior
Ranked #63 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Victim of its Location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel has an ideal location as it is just 3 minutes walking away from the train station and the Geneva lake. There are a lot of shops around it and also eateries. But that could be a problem.

There is a bar just below the hotel and people sit outside and chat aloud up to midnight. The hotel windows, and the walls, pass the slightest noise, including the squeaking of the bed of your top floor neighbor. And since the rooms have no air conditioning, (just one small table fan is provided), so you need to keep the windows open.

On Aug 3, at about 3 a.m. I jolted awake by screaming coming from outside. It was, I assume, a brawl between a guy and a semi-naked lady in French. The police arrived and after 15 minutes, quite awkwardly, managed to arrest and take them away. Surely the noise had nothing to do with the hotel but its road side location carries a high risk of bad sleep for guests.

To be fair, the room and bathroom, though small, were clean and the service and breakfast was satisfactory. And the price looks reasonable. They even give you a free travel pass around Geneva for the duration of your stay.

So unless you are someone who wanders around the city till midnight and when comes back, can easily sleep in a noise high area, you have to look for somewhere else.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not given a room facing Rousseau Road, quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manbato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    116
    100
    18
    6
See reviews for
25
63
52
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We were shocked at how nice the hotel was! Elsewhere in Switzerland we were paying more and getting a lot less for our money. We got a double room for 118 CHF.

The hotel itself is really nice. Our room was clean and modern.

The staff were extremely helpful and let us keep our bags in their luggage room until our room was ready. They also gave us a free passes for the public transport in Geneva.

I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baar, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Very close to the train station, to the lake and the city center, the hotel is clean but is old-fashioned and without any spirit.
Style from the 60's-70's, well maintained but ... no air-conditioning, no coffee machine in the room, ...
I asked for a quiet room and I got a room in the back which had no noise coming from the street but ... the room was very hot, no airco -> opened the window ... I had the noise of some cooling equipment from the back of the hotel and the nice flavor of some bloody smokers !

So, go there in winter time and ask for a quiet room and it should be ~ ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveiro, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The worst hotel ever. Bad managment sure the biggest regret I ever been im my travel life.,
im not a weird person on perfection. I like to enjoy the places and at least minimal conditions. I never asked too much. But this hotel I dont recommend to anyone.
Bad bad cleaning! noisy, and the managemnt very rude with clients. the only good thing is good locatiojn, but that.. its just luck. You can find better hotels around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 nights in Excelsior. The location is a stone's throw from the railway station, 3min walk from the river, 5min walk from the lake. You got all you need around the hotel: cafe, pharmacy, department stores. Geneva is pretty small so the old city is 10min walk from the hotel. Even so, it is very quiet.
The team was very helpful, recommending good restaurants and sites to go.
The rooms are large and there was a small chamber inside for baggage. The rooms are kept very clean, and so is the bath.
Since it was July, the air outside may be hot and humid, and so air conditioning could have helped, but still, they have a ceiling fan and a door to a tiny balcony which ventilate efficiency, keeping fresh air, as opposed to air-conditioned rooms that tend to seal and smell.
All n' all, highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shmuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited Geneva during Easter weekend. The hotel is standard; clean room and bathroom. The neighborhood is really good, station, mall, lake, everything at walking distance. Service was fine, receptionist friendly.

We were given a twin bed though we had given 1 double bed as preference. They said we could change after the first night stay there. We did not ask for it though. The problem with one of the beds was that its top right leg was broken and hence the bed was not stable. We did not complain during our stay as we had already unpacked. What we thought was, this could not have gone without their notice. Room service would have noticed it for sure and they still gave it to customers which is weird.

Breakfast was standard; the egg boiling process was very confusing for everyone. They keep raw eggs and you need to boil them in a common boiler yourselves. This confuses everyone , even though there is a board but not everyone will notice it. People take each other's egg and if you don't stop others from taking yours, you might end up waiting for 10-15 minutes again. Also, some people didn't realize the eggs kept there are raw, and tried to break them with mishaps. I saw at least 2 tourists in trouble with that.

I would have rated this restaurant higher had they paid attention to these details. For the price you pay to stay here, you deserve a little more comfort for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSunahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

There is no waiting lounge and the desk staff are not very helpful, especially when you have asked for an early check in. The rooms are too small for comfort and air conditioners are needed in May and June. The breakfast is basic to say the least. Reminds one of a Nunnery!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romasolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#56 of 105 in Geneva
280 reviews
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#58 of 105 in Geneva
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#61 of 105 in Geneva
169 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
227 reviews
Hotel d'Alleves
#40 of 105 in Geneva
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior

Property: Excelsior
Address: rue Rousseau 34, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing