We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than most hotels of this class in Geneva”
Review of Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I liked this hotel and I come to Geneva frequently. The hotels I usually use were fully booked so my office reserved the Excelsior. When I read other reviews I was concerned becasue they made it sound pretty poor. I want to tell you that this is one of the better hotels of this class in Geneva. The reception was friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was a good size, clean and well equipped with TV, free internet, safe, good wardrobe space, good minbar/fridge in the wardrobe which kept it quiet, nice soaps, shampoo and shower gel. Lights were better than many hotels, good double glazing and heavy curtains so it was quiet and dark. Bathroom had everything it needed adn was a reasonable size. The desk was a tad small, but enough to work on - pity there was no power socket within reach of the desk unless you unplugged the TV. Door locks are a bit basic, with old fashioned key and no internal chain, but not a problem f you remember to lock the door.

All in all, a nice place and I'd recommend it to anyone passing through Geneva wanting a good, reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMTMRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2010

Stayed here for a week on business, booked by our secretariat. The hotel is very close to the main train station and to the lake, so good location. The staff were very friendly and helpful: always provided relevant information, tried their best to accommodate all requests. All guests got a free week bus pass, compliments of the hotel, which was very useful (given that taxis in Geneva are extremely expensive). Free wifi was definitely a bonus though I had to ask for the username and password every day (it expired every 24 hours). Sometimes I would be back from long day's work and a quick dinner and didn't really like calling up reception at 11pm to get this information...but beggars can't be choosers so...
Now to the room: I was in a single room, and it was a literally single room. Single bed, one chair, one small desk. The room is narrow, the bed is fairly comfortable but the cushions were not. It's strange because the hotel website actually advertised the fact that the hotel had recently been fitted with all new mattresses...I didn't find them to be great, so I dare not think what was there beforehand...
I had initially been placed on the third floor and the next day had to ask for a change because all the single rooms are next to the lift and I found mine to be extremely noisy (also, it had no minibar). Reception staff changed me to a similar room on the fourth floor, which was a little quieter (this one was facing the court yard as opposed to the main street), though not sound proofed for sure. This one however had a minibar. Both rooms were overheated. The bathroom is simple and clean. I liked that the products provided were organic. This was definitely a plus for me. No closet space whatsoever. Though I am a woman, I usually travel very light so this wasn't a huge problem, but any lady carrying more than a couple of skirts and trousers would have had a seriously hard time hanging them up.
Breakfast was basic, but nice - included in the price. Cannot complain.
All in all, if you are on a budget, you might want stay here. You will not be disappointed by staff, but do not expect anything but basic from this hotel. I personally was shocked to find I was actually sleeping in a single 90cm wide bed. If you are cool with that, then go ahead.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I got the hotel only because of its proximity to the train station.
Small place, not well lit, noisy streets outside, tiny rooms, bed was ok, but only for 1 night.
Thank goodness breakfast started at 6am before my departure to the airport.
Love the Geneva hotel system which offers free public transportation.

I think a little pricey for the product, but I survived, and lived to tell the story.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moostro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

I stayed in the Excelsior Hotel in central Geneva in April 2008. The hotel is very conveniently located, close to the Cornavin railway station and only a couple of minutes' walk from the lake. It is hidden from the noisy main roads, located in a small street opposite the Manor department store, which is probably the biggest shop in Geneva.

I was given a single room on the first floor, at the front of the building. The room had obviously been recently refurbished. Although it was simply furnished, there was a feeling of quality to the furnishings, with beautiful wooden doors and panelling helping the effect. The bathroom was very small, with a shower (no bath), but was perfectly adequate. The TV channels included BBC Prime, which is very good for English-speaking guests.

My only complaint about the room was an annoying buzzing/humming noise, which seemed to originate within the hotel, as you could hear it in the corridor outside the room and it got louder towards the staircase at the back of the building. Luckily, the noise stopped around midnight, so did not interfere with sleeping.

Breakfast was included in the room rate. It was served in the adjoining bar/restaurant, but the choice was totally inadequate, unless you wanted to eat ham and cheese. There were no cereals and even the croissants were in short supply.

One further negative point about this hotel is that check-in time is at 18:00, which seems a little late. On the other hand, check-out time is 12 noon, which is generous. In addition, reception staff were pleasant and helpful.

Overall, not a bad hotel for the price in Geneva, but the breakfast is not worth bothering with. I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CRobDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank saputella2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaluRuiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bernina Geneve
#71 of 109 in Geneva
540 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#59 of 109 in Geneva
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#30 of 109 in Geneva
511 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Admiral Geneva
Hotel Admiral Geneva
#81 of 109 in Geneva
474 reviews
Pâquis Navigation
Hotel ibis Geneve Centre Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior

Address: rue Rousseau 34, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: £84 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing