We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Geneve Centre
Ranked #43 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to the French Alps and it gave us an opportunity for a look around Geneva before we moved on. Its location is its big positive - just a 10-minute walk from the central train station and 5-minutes from the lake. The road on which the hotel is located is a little seedy so I would be a little wary after dark however once your inside it is clean and the staff are welcoming and helpful.

All things considered it was a good value option in an expensive city. If you are without a car and/or have limited time to look around Geneva then I think this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBoxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelG, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s a pleasure to read that our central location and the dedication of our staff made for a great stay. We look forward to your next sojourn with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    565
    325
    101
    38
See reviews for
363
249
86
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent a couple of nights in this hotel in August 2014. The hotel is OK although I had to go back to reception to ask for a room with a sofa bed per our reservation. We did get a larger room with a small table and two chairs but still no sofa bed! Hotel was clean despite being quite busy.
The attached parking was convenient (be warned that the access ramp to the parking is quite steep though). Parking is paid per night which allows picking up the car after checkout as long as you don't leave the car parked another night.
Breakfast is mostly continental but included some hot food too (eggs, sausages, bacon...).
My wife didn't like the fact that the bathroom door didn't lock.
As noted before the hotel is close to the red light district but we didn't find this a problem. Its location ("Paquis" area) was actually pretty good as close by to Lac Leman and public transports.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuperCow73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelG, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad to read of your nice stay with us and that our convenient central location as well as our underground parking made it even better. We thank you for having taken some time to tell us about your experience and wish to have soon again the pleasure of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stay at this hotel a few times a year, and sometimes with family.
It is a clean and tidy hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.
The restaurant is good, and the bar is a nice place to relax, if not crowded

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCTech012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelG, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad to read that whether for family vacations or for business you chose our hotel because of its quality and the professionalism of our staff.
We thank you for your continuing patronage and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The location of this hotel is good that it about 5-10 minute walk from Geneva Cornavin Station. You can get a free 80 minute transport card in the luggage claim area (you have to get it there or else you have to pay once you have exited). You can then catch any train that goes via this station. It takes about 5 minutes from the airport to downtown. It can be said that at late afternoon/evening that it is the red light district however I felt okay as travelling with friends but can understand that it may not be suitable for some families. It is a short walk to the waterfront and Lake Geneva.

Once you get to the hotel lobby you feel much better and don't feel like you are in this district. It feels welcoming in there. They can tend to get short staffed during check-in and check-out. When I wanted to check in it was too early and they stored our bags. We returned just after 2pm but there was a queue and each person took forever. Eventually I checked in and got the keys to out superior 2 double bedded room.

The lifts are tiny (they can hold about 2 people with luggage or about 4 people. There were a few lifts but if they had people in them you couldn't use them. There were two comfortable double beds and separate shower (a bit small) and a bath in one and a separate toilet in the other. This was a good idea with more than 2 people sharing so toilet can be used whilst someone takes a shower.

There is also a fitness centre with a good variety of equipment as well as spa area with sauna, steam rooms and showers.

It may be old styling within hotel like the hallways between the rooms but it did the job and served us well as our base. As Switzerland is expensive we found this hotel to be reasonable in price. I guess you have to pay a lot more if you wanted to be near the lake.

I would be happy to stay here again and guess can put up with being in the red light area because once you are inside you do not notice it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelG, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It’s a pleasure to read that our convenient location and the quality of our facilities as well as the congeniality of our staff made for a great stay. We thank you for having taken the time to share this post with us and hope to have soon again the pleasure of welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The perfect destination if you like to be surrounded by PIMPS & Prostitutes days and nights... in other words a hotel to quickly forget for family holidays or even for any holidays !!!!

Despite of the awful district hotel and room is just correct, nothing's very wonderful to wait here. maybe 3*** would be more adequate to the reality.

Last thing and a serious problem, the restaurant is totaly a shame as in quality than in price of food and menus specially if u take in consideration that by night it's not so wonderful to go on around streets to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelG, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking some time to share your experience with us. We are glad to read that our facilities were adequate and suited your needs. We understand that the visual challenge imposed on you by the nearby neighborhood proved a tad unsettling though it’s an element that many premium international cities, such as ours, have to deal with. We hope to have again soon the pleasure of you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

While the hotel is centrally located - it is right next to the red light district.

As you walk to the hotel at any time of day / night you will be solicited by characters you wouldn't like. Embarrassing and depressing - spoilt our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pk_london_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelG, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for having taken some time to share your experience with us. We are aware of the unfortunate aspect of the nearby neighborhood and we apologize for it having somewhat rendered your stay not as pleasant as we all want it to be. Be certain though, that your security and safety are our first concern, which is why our hotel is protected by CCTV and private security guards. Then, the authority of our city and canton permanently patrol and monitor the place to guaranty that peace and order are maintained. We hope to have soon again the pleasure of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel was ok. We had difficulties with the lift as we did not know to use our room card to make it go up and upset people as we held things up. The decor seemed tired.

The under ground car park can only be used if your car is less than 1.7 m . You cannot park there with a roof box and we spent, no joke, 5 hours driving round all the car parks trying to fit in with the roof box. Eventually we got a place on the side of the road.


The area was horrible. There were heroin addicts lying on the pavement. I have been in many many cities all over the world and I have never seen so many prostitutes. It may be ok if you go as an adult. It is not the best place to take children.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison_L507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelG, General Manager at Novotel Geneve Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad to read that the quality of our hotel, the efficiency and congeniality of our team, made up for some unpleasantness caused by the appearance of the nearby neighborhood. We thank you for having shared your experience with us and hope to have again soon the pleasure of welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Warwick Geneva
#31 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Geneve Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Geneve Centre

Property: Novotel Geneve Centre
Address: rue de Zurich 19, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Geneva
#29 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Geneve Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Geneve Centre is a 4 star hotel located in the heart of Geneva, close to Lake Geneva and 15 minutes from the UN headquarters. The hotel features 206 rooms, a restaurant, bar and 6 meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. This 4 star hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays with your partner or family. In addition to the fitness centre and spa, with relaxation room, hammam, sauna, solarium and massage room, guests enjoy free public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Geneve Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Geneve Centre Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneva
Novotel Hotel Geneve Centre
Novotel Geneva
Geneva Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing