We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Cite-Verdaine
Ranked #79 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The manager on reception was simply rude and insulting, left me speechless on more than one occasion. I completly agree with what has been previously written about the hotel.

Avoid at all costs. Not worth getting abused on a daily basis by the person that is meant to help you enjoy a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szalony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2009

I read the other reviews and totally agree - my partner was sleeping one day and I left without keys. I had to ring the doorbell to get back in and was made to feel a worthless piece of trash by the manager who had to walk 5 metres from his desk to open the door!!! The place was just awful...

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I've been staying in the Cite Verdaine for over one week now and I can't wait to leave. The extremely tiny room is dirty and cheap. The website is totally unrepresentative of what the hotel actually looks like. The internet, although free of charge, is slow at all times.

The worst part was the service at the front desk. I wasn't able to receive calls for a whole week. I said maybe I was giving people the wrong number and he rudely replied "the instructions are on the table". I eventually found out that calls were coming through but the phone wasn't ringing. He replaced my phone the next day with a phone that didn't work! I asked him to replace my phone again, to which he replied by sighing and rolling his eyes. Not even a single apology.

Also the cleaning ladies don't even knock before coming into your room. They walked in on me several times.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

I stayed at Résidence Verdaine for two weeks in July 2007 while on business. If you go there, I suggest you consider bringing your own cleaning lady, a portable air conditioner and a thick skin. You will need them. The carpet in my (€150+ a night) room was so dirty it looked as though Rubens Barrichello had recently used it for lap practice. The stains were so unusual I took photographs of them with my phone. The central heating, which could not be turned up or down, was stuck on "furnace", just what you want in the middle of July... But the worst part was the inexplicable attitude of the reception lady. On a good day she was merely unhelpful. But mostly she was just insulting and humiliating, especially to anyone with an accent. Everything was "Well Monsieur, here in Switzerland we..." or "You see Monsieur, we Swiss..." or "You want to pay with that credit card? But it's not Swiss". Think female Basil Fawlty, speaking French. If you want true Swiss hospitality, avoid Résidence Verdaine.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank encavale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номер для 3 очень большой.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank viktooorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmoino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Bel'Esperance
#37 of 106 in Geneva
279 reviews
Cité
Hotel Les Armures
Hotel Les Armures
#31 of 106 in Geneva
217 reviews
Residence St James
#83 of 106 in Geneva
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Cigogne
#42 of 106 in Geneva
171 reviews
Hotel Longemalle
#58 of 106 in Geneva
230 reviews
Hotel Sagitta & Residence
#54 of 106 in Geneva
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Cite-Verdaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Cite-Verdaine

Address: rue du Vieux-College 5, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Bourg-de-Four
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: £89 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Geneva’s business area, 200 meters from Old Town and close to the lake, the Hotel Résidence Cité-Verdaine provides 52 studios. The different sizes’ studios all have a fully equipped kitchenette (with material and utensils), a bathroom (with amenities and hair dryer), television (cable channels) and phone (private landline). Most of the studios have a balcony. Free wifi connection is available in all areas and there is a computer free of use for guests at reception. Laundry services and ironing facilities are available on request. Several restaurants, cafés and shops can be found within a 2-minute walk. Moreover the Hotel Résidence Cité-Verdaine has good connection with public transportation and is close to Cointrin Geneva airport and Cornavin train station. Public parking is possible at a location nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Cite-Verdaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing