We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT the best hostel experience...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Geneva Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Geneva Hostel
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“NOT the best hostel experience...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this hostel late at night, (around 11pm) there were groups of people outside and I thought "oh it must be a very social hostel", when we went inside there was a huge line of people waiting to be checked in, and I then realised the people outside we're waiting to be checked in too. The staff were VERY rude and weren't rushing to check us in considering how late and tired everyone was! For every individual group it took the staff about 15 minutes to check them in (including us). I didn't understand why it was so hard for them to take our names, check us off and give us the keys? We just wanted to get in bed but had to wait over an hour to be checked in! The group in front of us didn't have to pay an extra fee for not being a member of some hostel group thing because they had waited so long, yet we were charged this extra fee and asked why we still had to pay because we'd waited long too, and the receptionist 'Cherif' was extremely rude and patronising, to us and was NOT welcoming at all. He was dressed unprofessionally and the whole thing just seemed like a joke.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burgergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    153
    93
    38
    26
See reviews for
19
16
151
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Been coming here for years and it really has gone downhill. In my room gone are the shelves and power sockets next to the beds that used to make all the difference. There is nowhere to put anything at night now- watch, water bottle, phone. Why is this? Never used to be like that!

Had to wait in a chaotic long breakfast queue for 20 minutes at 7:30am. Never ever used to be like that!

Only cold water from tap in room and in bathroom sink. 2 showers and one toilet for around 20+ male guests!! Never used to be like that!

I am not sure happened with the standards and management here but it is not the great hostel it used to be. Shame about all the changes for the worse.

Just be prepared for many inconveniences during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoblos940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good price for Geneva. Fairly good breakfast. Showers and toilets were clean. Pretty close to tramway station. Helpful receptionists.
Free wifi with good signal in rooms. I would stay there again if I go to Geneva.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenB122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's not an amazing hostel but it gets the job done. The bedrooms were very clean and I liked that the lockers opened with the same key card as your room. I would have preferred that the lockers were inside the room though, instead of outside in the hallway (for an added level of security). The included breakfast was good. The hostel is in an excellent location and they give you a free city transport card at check-in.

What I didn't like though was that that the hostel didn't have a very social atmosphere, so it was difficult to meet people. Also, the bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often. I hated that the showers were timed so I had to push the button over and over again (which is quite annoying) while showering.

I would stay here again though because it is affordable and secure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hostelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

35 CHF a night in a spacious 6-bed dorm, but there is an additional charge of 6 CHF per night if you aren't a Hostelling International member. I only stayed one night, but the extra fee seems a tad excessive if you are staying multiple nights.

It is located conveniently near the train station (10min walk or 2 stops by tram - take tram #15 heading North toward Nations, and you can take the same tram South towards Palettes if you want to go to the Old Town) and just a 5min walk from the lake. As with all hotels/hostels in Geneva, you are also given a card that grants you free transport on all buses, trams, trains as well as the yellow ferries in Geneva throughout your stay. Check-in is at 2pm but I arrived in the morning and they stored my luggage for me and gave me the transport card and wifi codes to use right away. Was served by Alain and he was pretty helpful.

Rooms and bathrooms were really clean. The key card used for the rooms is also used for the bathrooms and the lockers which are located just outside the dorm. Electric sockets are available above each bed and additional ones around the room. Even more to be found in the lobby area, which looks newly furnished and is the only area you can access the free wifi from, which is also probably why crowds congregate there with their devices.

Free breakfast is included but it ends relatively early at 9am and the set-up is quite poor; just a single line which moved really slowly meant a really long queue considering how many guests the hostel can accommodate (and this was on a weekday). The fare was decent though.

Definitely worth staying if you're on a budget to make up for the other high costs you're bound to incur in Geneva.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FT90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
373 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Upon my arrival, I was charged additional 12 chef that I never heard of.
Showers are not really very pleasant and comfortable. Rooms are cleaned but only the floors.
Breakfast is ok.
Wifi works weirdly.
Anyway, still the cheapest place to sleep in Geneva. Good for the money you pay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susp1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I spent two nights with friends at this hostel. The rooms and bathrooms and new and clean. You get a keycard to your room that also gives you access to a locker where you can store your valuables and luggage. Great breakfast for a hostel. The lobby is pretty nice, the kitchens are not that cool, though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apollinnaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#76 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Hostel

Property: Geneva Hostel
Address: rue Rothschild 28-30, Geneva 1202, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geneva Hostel enjoys a central location in Geneva and is in a historic building from the 19th century. It features free Wi-Fi and a restaurant serving Swiss cuisine in the evenings. Lake Geneva is only 800 ft away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Geneva Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Jeunesse Geneva Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing