We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel
Ranked #18 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a fabulous place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I came to the La Cour des Augustins on business, but it is definitely a fabulously nice hotel to stay when in town for a city break: far enough from, yet close enough to the business district, in a pedestrianised lane in the middle of a just normal neighbourhood (yes, they do exist in Geneva). A lovely restaurant just opposite, supermarket around the corner, little shops galore near by.

The receptionists are lovely and welcoming, the wifi is free, the rooms modern and well equipped with Nespresso machine and iphone station to listen to your favourite songs.

Great find indeed and v much looking forward to staying here again en route to the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygolightly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your comment via Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read your positive notes in regards to the location and the atmosphere of our hotel's surroundings.

We hope we will host you again very soon.

Do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page or our official website for special promotions and our best rates!

Once again, thank you very much and we already look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    129
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
44
131
31
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel is located on a quiet traffic free side street in one of the university districts, slightly outside the main city centre area. There are plenty of shops and eating places nearby,
although as you might expect for a student catchment many of the latter are less than great take-aways! However, there are a couple of good places in the same road as the hotel which provide room service in the evenings except on Sundays (the hotel provides its own breakfast and a limited all day room service).

Despite being outside the city centre, accessibility is excellent with one tram route (no 12) passing the end of the road and a second (no 15) less than 5mins walk. The no 15 is especially useful since it goes directly to main railway station. The hotel also gives you a card which allows free use of all the public transport in the city for your stay which is very helpful.

My room was spacious, with a comfortable bed, an array of a designer furniture and a mini kitchen area in an alcove (including a fridge, microwave and small hob). The decor is what you would expect from a designer hotel and the room also contains a large flat screen TV with a huge selection of international TV channels. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and I found the service excellent, the front desk were very helpful with travel tips and directions.

There is no getting around the fact that this is not a cheap place to stay, but given that no-where in Switzerland is cheap these days you might as well spend a little more and stay somewhere really nice. On that basis I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing La Cour des Augustins for your recent stay in Geneva and for taking time to share your experience.

It's a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We are delighted to read that you were particularly satisfied with the hotel location and the comfort of the room.
Once again, thank you very much and we already look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We chose La Cour des Augustins because it was close to family and the rooms appeared attractive. However, during our weeklong stay, we came to appreciate it for much more. We had booked a Junior Suite which was spacious and comfortable. There was a kitchen in an alcove; a seating area with sofa, coffee table and chair; a big desk with great lighting; a separate sleeping area; a walk-in closet and a very modern bathroom. The hotel is on a pedestrian street so it is very quiet as is the hotel itself. Within 2 blocks of the hotel are restaurants, grocery stores, wine stores, pastry shops and tea rooms. The stop for the number 12 tram which takes you to the main shopping area and the waterfront is two short blocks away. As with any hotel, it is really the staff that makes the difference. The staff at La Cour des Augustins is professional, courteous and helpful. They really know their city and provide excellent advice. We will definitely stay there next time we are in Geneva.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_and_Yves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing La Cour des Augustins for your recent stay in Geneva and for taking time to share your experience.

It's a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

We are pleased to know that the size and the comfort of the Junior Suite was appreciated but also the location of the hotel.

All the staff was happy to make your stay enjoyable and thank you again for your comment.

Looking forward to hosting you very soon, we stay at your disposal for any request you may have and wish you a happy New year’s Eve.

Best regards,

Anne-Laure Jeanneau- Front office Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in Geneva one night, on the way back to Africa. We arrived late at the hotel and were welcomed by the receptionist. The hotel upgraded our room, (we didn’t ask for it :-) )as they had availabilities, which was great. The rooms are spacious, and have a huge LED TV. The bed is very comfortable. And the best part of it, this hotel is affordable, if you compare it to other hotels in Geneva. Great stay, we will definitely come back...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kifita485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience at la Cour des Augustins and are pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay.

We are happy to know that you have appreciated the comfort and the equipment of the room and that this upgrade was welcomed (it’s always a pleasure for us to make some attention moreover it was a quiet period).

Hoping to welcome you again very soon, we wish you a happy New Year’s Eve.

Best regards,

Anne-Laure Jeanneau- Front office Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Hotel is situated very close to the social science centre of the University (UNIMAIL), with excellent tram connections. There is free wifi in all the rooms, and 3 public terminals in the public spaces. The hotel rooms are beautifully furnished - modern and stylish. Breakfast in the dining room is very good, with a wide selection of food. One minor grumble - please can we have instructions how to use the coffee machines in our rooms? Staff service was excellent - the staff provided a first rate experience and were 100% supportive. Another grumble, and not the hotel's fault. The exchange rate between the Swiss Franc and the Pound Sterling makes Switzerland a very expensive place for British visitors!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about La Cour Des Augustins.

We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and were especially delighted by the comfort of the room and the friendliness of our staff.

Your comments are extremely valuable (Nespresso machine) as we always aim to offer a high quality of service and product to our guests.

Once again, thank you very much and we already look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

A boutique hotel located in a thriving part of Geneva. This hotel is all about the styling and the location. The hotel is in a trendy part of Geneva and is really close to the Tram line. The hotel even gives you a travel pass to get around the city for free. We found the concierge very helpful as they were able to point out highlights and local secrets that we should visit. Their advice on dinner options was spot on and we found the directions given very handy. The hotel has some really interesting design features and the rooms are large! The artwork in the common areas is specifically picked by the owner and will have you wandering the halls admiring the pieces. The breakfast was awesome for such a small hotel and the service was extremly friendly.
Enjoy this unique hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments through TripAdvisor regarding your stay at La Cour Des Augustins.

It's a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We are delighted to read that you were particularly satisfied with the hotel location and the friendliness of the staff.

Do not hesitate to follow us on our Facebook page and visit our website to benefit of our best rates for your next trip to Geneva.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon at La Cour Des Augustins.

Best regards,

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I like this hotel.
Coming into Geneva the landscape is beautiful but strangely the town itself disagrees with me. Maybe for this reason I like getting to the hotel where the reception is both friendly and courteous. The location is good and the rooms are well equipped.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to express your comments through Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at La Cour des Augustins.

We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with the friendliness of the staff and the comfort of the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back at La Cour des Augustins during your next stay in Geneva.

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#22 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel

Property: La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel
Address: rue Jean- Violette 15, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#15 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#16 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in Geneva's Latin Quarter, La Cour des Augustins is an innovatively designed hotel with a distinctly urban style. It modernises the boutique hotel concept, combining architectural heritage with contemporary interior design. Far from the city's busy main roads and right in the heart of Genevan life, you can easily stroll through the Old City, the art and business districts, and the charming Sardinian village of Carouge. The concept was designed in collaboration with the Swiss designer Philippe Cramer, based on the idea of personalised and diverse spaces. The hotel harmoniously and subtly blends modern and classic design. Composed of 16 rooms and 24 suites that masterfully combine design, comfort and technology, the hotel is comprised of two buildings from the 1850s. Both building were entirely renovated in 2006 and are connected by an interior courtyard. Each room and suite has a unique and specific style, with contemporary designer furniture and objects. Whether you are planning to stay for a night, a week, a month or longer, La Cour des Augustins will fulfil all of your expectations. La Cour des Augustins also serves as an art gallery, hosting a permanent private collection of African art. Between vibrantly coloured designer objects, African statues, masks and figurines bring unexpected depth to the hotel decor. In each room and suite, you will find various artworks by international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cour Des Augustins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing