We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel
Ranked #18 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Location was convenient”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I booked this hotel primarily on the location being close to my meeting and then on recent reviews. The location was perfect for my needs but I probably wouldn't stay there again when returning to Geneva. The good points; very friendly/helpful reception staff, spacious room, comfortable bed, large TV with good choice of channels including BBC 1, 2, 4 and ITV and Channel 4 for UK guests. There was a free chocolate bar in the room and another on check out which was much appreciated! Bad points; the shower was quite bad really, a very small shower head fitted to the side wall which didn't adjust very well and when you did it sprayed water onto the bathroom floor because the fixed shower screen wasn't wide enough. The room also had a fixed wall hair-drier, I really only expect to see these in a 3 star hotel. There were very few plug points in the room and none of them were at the desk (not much use for working with a laptop) or near the bed (for plugging in your phone) or near mirrors (for doing hair), there was a plug point in the bathroom but I didn't really want to use my electrical items near water. The wooden floors also meant it was noisy once the guests above me woke up! I really wouldn't bother with breakfast, the "hot" food was actually stone cold, there was not one other guest in there and no member of staff so requesting a fresh coffee wasn't possible just the self service machine. The milk for cereal or tea had run out. At over £180 for 1 night I felt it didn't live up to expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at La Cour Des Augustins.
We are truly pleased to know that you were satisfied with the friendliness of the staff and the location of the hotel.
We also thank you for your comments regarding some facilities in the room, that we will take into consideration as we continuously do our best to offer a high quality of service to our guests.
We did not have any remarks in the past regarding the breakfast, but it is a very valuable comment for us and we will focus our attention on it.
Our entire team always aims to offer a high quality of service to our guests in order to fulfill their expectation.

We would truly hope to welcome you again very soon.

With kind regards,

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    129
    14
    10
    2
See reviews for
44
133
31
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed 3 nights in a junior suit. It was a great room and we thought we could even live in it for a while, how well furnished it was. Reception and breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful too. Breakfast was great, we couldn't think of anything they forgot to serve - there was great choice of everything, from fresh berries to cheeses, hams and smoked salmon. The only thing I would point out is that our maid wasn't very generous and never replenished our toiletries. The bigger point would be that the rooms aren't well isolated so we could hear every footstep fro the room above us. But otherwise, lovely hotel, in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing La Cour des Augustins for your recent stay in Geneva and for taking time to share your experience.

We are pleased to know that the size and the comfort of the Junior Suite was appreciated but also the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

Your comments are extremely valuable as we always aim to offer a high quality of service and product to our guests.

Once again, thank you very much and we already look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for our Wedding Night in a Junior Suite in La Cour des Augustins and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel staff was very helpful and obliging in any situation. We got the room we wanted and enjoyed the complementary fresh fruits and chocolates/macarons :-) We can really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: For the rate of our room we benefited from an early booking more than 30 days before our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback about La Cour Des Augustins.

We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and were especially delighted by the friendliness of our staff.

On behalf of the entire team of La Cour Des Augustins, we wish to congratulate you and express our very best wishes of happiness!

Many thanks for your contribution.

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I came to the La Cour des Augustins on business, but it is definitely a fabulously nice hotel to stay when in town for a city break: far enough from, yet close enough to the business district, in a pedestrianised lane in the middle of a just normal neighbourhood (yes, they do exist in Geneva). A lovely restaurant just opposite, supermarket around the corner, little shops galore near by.

The receptionists are lovely and welcoming, the wifi is free, the rooms modern and well equipped with Nespresso machine and iphone station to listen to your favourite songs.

Great find indeed and v much looking forward to staying here again en route to the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygolightly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your comment via Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read your positive notes in regards to the location and the atmosphere of our hotel's surroundings.

We hope we will host you again very soon.

Do not hesitate to visit our Facebook page or our official website for special promotions and our best rates!

Once again, thank you very much and we already look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The hotel is located on a quiet traffic free side street in one of the university districts, slightly outside the main city centre area. There are plenty of shops and eating places nearby,
although as you might expect for a student catchment many of the latter are less than great take-aways! However, there are a couple of good places in the same road as the hotel which provide room service in the evenings except on Sundays (the hotel provides its own breakfast and a limited all day room service).

Despite being outside the city centre, accessibility is excellent with one tram route (no 12) passing the end of the road and a second (no 15) less than 5mins walk. The no 15 is especially useful since it goes directly to main railway station. The hotel also gives you a card which allows free use of all the public transport in the city for your stay which is very helpful.

My room was spacious, with a comfortable bed, an array of a designer furniture and a mini kitchen area in an alcove (including a fridge, microwave and small hob). The decor is what you would expect from a designer hotel and the room also contains a large flat screen TV with a huge selection of international TV channels. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and I found the service excellent, the front desk were very helpful with travel tips and directions.

There is no getting around the fact that this is not a cheap place to stay, but given that no-where in Switzerland is cheap these days you might as well spend a little more and stay somewhere really nice. On that basis I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing La Cour des Augustins for your recent stay in Geneva and for taking time to share your experience.

It's a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We are delighted to read that you were particularly satisfied with the hotel location and the comfort of the room.
Once again, thank you very much and we already look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Jérôme CIVET
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We chose La Cour des Augustins because it was close to family and the rooms appeared attractive. However, during our weeklong stay, we came to appreciate it for much more. We had booked a Junior Suite which was spacious and comfortable. There was a kitchen in an alcove; a seating area with sofa, coffee table and chair; a big desk with great lighting; a separate sleeping area; a walk-in closet and a very modern bathroom. The hotel is on a pedestrian street so it is very quiet as is the hotel itself. Within 2 blocks of the hotel are restaurants, grocery stores, wine stores, pastry shops and tea rooms. The stop for the number 12 tram which takes you to the main shopping area and the waterfront is two short blocks away. As with any hotel, it is really the staff that makes the difference. The staff at La Cour des Augustins is professional, courteous and helpful. They really know their city and provide excellent advice. We will definitely stay there next time we are in Geneva.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara_and_Yves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing La Cour des Augustins for your recent stay in Geneva and for taking time to share your experience.

It's a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

We are pleased to know that the size and the comfort of the Junior Suite was appreciated but also the location of the hotel.

All the staff was happy to make your stay enjoyable and thank you again for your comment.

Looking forward to hosting you very soon, we stay at your disposal for any request you may have and wish you a happy New year’s Eve.

Best regards,

Anne-Laure Jeanneau- Front office Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in Geneva one night, on the way back to Africa. We arrived late at the hotel and were welcomed by the receptionist. The hotel upgraded our room, (we didn’t ask for it :-) )as they had availabilities, which was great. The rooms are spacious, and have a huge LED TV. The bed is very comfortable. And the best part of it, this hotel is affordable, if you compare it to other hotels in Geneva. Great stay, we will definitely come back...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kifita485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerome C, Front Office Manager at La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience at la Cour des Augustins and are pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay.

We are happy to know that you have appreciated the comfort and the equipment of the room and that this upgrade was welcomed (it’s always a pleasure for us to make some attention moreover it was a quiet period).

Hoping to welcome you again very soon, we wish you a happy New Year’s Eve.

Best regards,

Anne-Laure Jeanneau- Front office Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 105 in Geneva
886 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#24 of 105 in Geneva
536 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 105 in Geneva
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Geneve
#10 of 105 in Geneva
713 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel

Property: La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel
Address: rue Jean-Violette 15, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#15 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#16 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in Geneva's Latin Quarter, La Cour des Augustins is an innovatively designed hotel with a distinctly urban style. It modernises the boutique hotel concept, combining architectural heritage with contemporary interior design. Far from the city's busy main roads and right in the heart of Genevan life, you can easily stroll through the Old City, the art and business districts, and the charming Sardinian village of Carouge. The concept was designed in collaboration with the Swiss designer Philippe Cramer, based on the idea of personalised and diverse spaces. The hotel harmoniously and subtly blends modern and classic design. Composed of 16 rooms and 24 suites that masterfully combine design, comfort and technology, the hotel is comprised of two buildings from the 1850s. Both building were entirely renovated in 2006 and are connected by an interior courtyard. Each room and suite has a unique and specific style, with contemporary designer furniture and objects. Whether you are planning to stay for a night, a week, a month or longer, La Cour des Augustins will fulfil all of your expectations. La Cour des Augustins also serves as an art gallery, hosting a permanent private collection of African art. Between vibrantly coloured designer objects, African statues, masks and figurines bring unexpected depth to the hotel decor. In each room and suite, you will find various artworks by international artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cour Des Augustins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing