We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel Room, But Excellent Location and Cheap for Geneva”
Review of Tor Hotel Geneve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tor Hotel Geneve
Ranked #3 of 22 Geneva B&B and Inns
La Condamine, Monaco
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel Room, But Excellent Location and Cheap for Geneva”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is a hotel for just spending the night and nothing else, but it is an excellent location and the price is very reasonable for Geneva. I was there for a job interview with a bank and I just needed a place to sleep and study/read. The hotel is 1 or 2 floors in an apartment block building and you have to take a lift up three floors or so to reception, it is very very basic, so you should understand this before going - it's a convenient and cheap place to crash.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRIJNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    103
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
62
45
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamme, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Strong Swiss Franc makes that prices in Geneva are going through the roof. A 3* for 200 euro/night is no exception. This one is less expensive, but quality and service is accordingly. Think of a student room, and that is about the level you can expect. Very basic furniture, outdated bathroom, breakfast served in your room (because they lack the space for a breakfast room). But the rooms are clean, WiFi is working good and the location is ideal. They also provide a free pass for trams and busses. So, the balance is mixed, but I will not return to this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

There's absolutely nothing wrong with the Tor Hotel. It's clean, warm and central and costs much less than the majority of hotels on offer in central Geneva. Before booking you need to know that there is no bar or restaurant and no wasteful frills but if that's not a priority for you then I'd fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with a window open, the front of the hotel can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annewiddecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I didn’t like this hotel and would never recommend it. This place comprises several converted residential apartments and is not a purpose built hotel. Converted apartments can be great for the very reason that they don’t feel like a hotel, but this can mean that rooms are close to each other and not built with soundproofing in mind. Indeed, a family woke me up in the morning with pretty standard levels of family noise. Another annoyance was that the Wifi was too slow to be useful, even to get past the payment page (no free Wifi here). The payment page froze and prevented further browsing by not giving out a password but it helpfully took my money all the same.

These small annoyances can be resolved or overlooked, but what made me regret coming here was the bedbugs. I’m quite a seasoned traveler and (unfortunately) know when I have shared my bed with these creatures and they were plentiful. If it wasn’t for the family noise, the itching probably would have woken me. They’ve got quite a colony in the bed I slept in. I think it’s been some time since they last tackled this problem (if they ever have).

The reception desk closes at 11pm. Expedia, the website from which I made the reservation, told me in the small print “if a late check in is planned, contact this lodging for their late check-in policy”. It's easy to overlook this especially when a specific time isn't mentioned. I fail to understand why they can’t mention the actual cut-off time when other hotels on Expedia do this. My late check-in was unplanned and I duly had to contact an off-site staff member and wait half an hour. If you do stay here, be aware that there is no staff around after 11pm and you absolutely have to contact them in advance to avoid loitering in the corridor entrance of the hotel.

This place is very cheap for Geneva especially now the Swiss franc is punishingly high so I realize that people would be reluctant to pay extra from what is already a high baseline, but consider that this hotel could well be in the same league of places that you wouldn’t consider in other, cheaper cities and that you can move away from it for a little bit extra. If you like clean sheets, accessible internet and 24-hour reception, consider the little bit extra you can pay to get this.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank metalbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Nice hotel,clean rooms,good location,about 300 meters from both, the main railway station and the lake.The receptionist was very helping and good.The hotel has no restaurant, so breakfast is served in the room.However check-in/check-out during odd hours is not possible as the reception service is not 24 hrs.We had trouble checking out in the morning(around 6) despite informing the receptionist the previous day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trieste
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I tried this hotel when my usual place to to stay in Geneva was already booked. The Tor hotel is a delightful family-run hotel located in the center of Geneva, between the railway station and the lake (both in walking distance). The building, has well renovated spacious rooms, high ceilings and beautiful hardwood floors that have been furnished with modern decor, creating a nice contrast. There is not a dining area and breakfast, simple but really good, is served in the room at the time you prefer. The management is friendly and the owners are very nice; service is impeccable, even if during the weekend, perhaps for the absence of the owners, I have experienced some uncertainties.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetleggedcoroner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Short walk from train station. Has quad room for family of four. Nice and clean. Good beds.
Good bathroom in the quad room. Serves breakfasts in the room, just tell them what you want (coffee, hot chocolate etc). Well located. Definitely recommended if you want to save money. You can always spend more for a fancy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eigerhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
211 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 105 in Geneva
928 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 105 in Geneva
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Hotel Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Hotel Geneve

Property: Tor Hotel Geneve
Address: rue Ami- Levrier 3, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cornavin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tor Hotel Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime location in the heart of Geneva, only 5 minutes from the Cornavin Railway Station, the cosy and intimate family hotel Tor offers modernly designed and fully equipped accommodation. Housed in a classical old building, the hotel is close to the lake and within walking distance of the main shopping areas, international organisations and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tor Hotel Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing