We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tor Hotel Geneve
Nearby Hotels
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel N'vY(Geneva)
US$442
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$523
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$493
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
55
111
55
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
111
55
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast is servedgreat locationtrain stationenglish churchlift takesyogurtexpensive genevafree transport passesa lovely stayold townquiet hoteleach morningtriple roomeasy walking distancered crossnice breakfastexplore geneva
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at the Tor Hotel in Geneva with my husband for 2 nights. The staff spoke good english and we were happy about our room being ready when we arrived around noon.
One could say the hotel to be a bit hidden away inside an old house. The wooden floors are old and creates a cozy atmosphere.

The room is pretty small furnished mostly with stuff with Ikea stickers on them. The curtains haven't been ironed which creates a quite sloppy impression of the room. The two plastic mugs in the bathroom have obviously been used and washed one too many times - they have some black stuff in them that won't go away. The room seems clean but especially the bathroom is pretty worn out.

At arrival we notice that the safe is not working. We ask the receptionist for assistance. The receptionist tried to fix the safe, but was unable. He tells us that the manager will be present the following day and the safe can be fixed then. The following day nothing happens. I guess we should have asked again for assistance, but I really don't think a customer should need to do that, and I also think there's no reason that the safe could not be fixed the same day.
The breakfast is very simple consisting of a hot drink, a small glass of O.J., a croissant, some toast, jam, butter, honey, nutella and a Activia Naturell -yogurth. Very simple.

There is noise isolation in the hotel what so ever. Everything can be heard. The problem is not the traffic outside the hotel, the problem is inside the hotel. Bring your own ear plugs. During the second night of our stay someone was ringing the doorbell to the hotel several times in the middle of the night. After a while you could clearly hear the voices of a late check-in, the late arrivals going to their room and then later having loud sex.

At our check-out the credit card -reader did not work. We were forced to go and get some money from an automat, which is expensive when you don't have a Swiss credit card.

The Wifi worked pretty well and the location was really good. But other wise I'm not sure if this really was a hostel and not a hotel?

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odac0va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrelle, Manager at Tor Hotel Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear
We are very sorry our services did not meet your expectation...
We can assure you we are trying to maintain a high standard in cleanliness and care for our guests
Despite our low rates in Geneva we are always trying to improove our comfort and we are in the process to install better isolated walls and doors after we have finished the windows.
Usually, when taking the order for breakfast, our receptionist is offering a choice of fruit, sheese, yoghourt and muesli or korn Flakes...It seems you might not have received this choice
Once again we would like to present our appologies...
We sincelrely hope we will be able to welcome you another time in Geneva and finally meet your expectation for a comfortable night at Tor Hotel
Happy New Year
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We decided to stay at the Tor hotel because it was cheaper then others in the area and did not have reviews of strange people hanging outside. If you want somewhere cheap with an excellent location this is the place. It was not as clean as expected and smelled musty and of smoke. The room was noisy as we could hear street noise and our neighbors coming and going multiple times during the evening. The breakfast was brought to our room and was coffee, juice, bread, croissants and jams. Overall I am sad to say I was disappointed in my choice with this hotel. Mainly because of the noise and lack of meeting my standards of cleaning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaseyandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrelle, Propriétaire at Tor Hotel Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear
We are very sorry our services did not meet your expectation...
As you may have seen All the hotel is non smoking, sorry if one of our guests has overuled and smoke...
We will tell our housekeeping team your remarks on clealeness and we will do all our efforts to correct.
We can assure you we are trying to maintain a high standard in cleanliness and care for our guests
May we ask you if you remermber what was your room number ??
Usually, when taking the order for breakfast, our receptionist is offering a choice of fruit, sheese, yoghourt and muesli or korn Flakes...It seems you might not have received this choice
Once again we would like to present our appologies...
We sincelrely hope we will be able to welcoem you another time in Geneva and finally meet your expectation for a comfortable night at Tor Hotel
Merry Christmass
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Very nice clean hotel right in Geneva's city centre, close to all amenities like Lake Geneva, Old Centre, shopping etc. We stayed with 4 adults in a 2 room apartment on the 2nd floor for SFR 200/night. The apt was very clean and equipped with everything (all kitchen utensils, small fridge, stove, oven, microwave, dining table for 4). The bathroom was very clean and cosy. There was a seperate bedroom with a very good double bed and flatscreen TV and a cosy couch in the livingroom and a second flatscreen TV. There were 2 seperate single beds in the living room which sleep very comfortably. These 2 beds are normal beds with very good matresses and pillows. We did not hear any street noise whatsoever. The hotel offers the free Geneva transport card and the staff is very very friendly. They allowed us to see their standard rooms and I must say that looked very nice clean and also well equiped.
I would certainly stay at Tor Hotel again and certainly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renalda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrelle, Propriétaire at Tor Hotel Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear
We would like to thank you fro your visit and comment on our small hotel
It is always a pleasur to hear our guests are satisfied with our services
Your remarks will always help us and our team to keep our efforts to offer the best services possible
Hope we will be able to welcoem you again at Torhôtel
Wish you a Merry Christmass
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Good location next to the central station in the middle of the city. Room was ideal for a short stay, comfortable with all the facilities needed. It was nice not to be in a modern "uniform" hotel. Breakfast in the room was good, with plenty of choices and generous quantity, and the only choice since there is no restaurant. The free public transport that came free with the stay at the hotel was an added bonus.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrelle, Propriétaire at Tor Hotel Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2012

Dear Sir

Greetings from Geneva

Thank you for taking the time to send a comment on your stay at Torhotel Geneva.
Your feedback is integral to our quest for excellence.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about the hotel have been communicated to the entire team I am certain this will serve as a source of inspiration for us, in achieving higher standards.

Once again, I thank you for your valuable feedback.

We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back

Please do let me know in the meantime if I can be of any assistance.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I stayed three nights in Hotel Tor while attending a conference in Geneva. The location is outstanding. Its close to the train station, close to some excellent restaurants, and within a short walk from the lake. The rooms are small but very clean and very efficiently organized. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The value is extraordinary for Geneva. Breakfast and wifi are included in the price of the room. I will stay here the next time I am in Geneva.

Room Tip: 206 looks on to an closed courtyard is super quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torhotel, Propriétaire at Tor Hotel Geneve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Sir

Greetings from Geneva

Thank you for taking the time to send a comment on your stay at Torhotel Geneva.
Your feedback is integral to our quest for excellence.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about the hotel have been communicated to the entire team I am certain this will serve as a source of inspiration for us, in achieving higher standards.

Once again, I thank you for your valuable feedback.

We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back

Please do let me know in the meantime if I can be of any assistance.

Warm regards,

Laurent Patrelle
Owner-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews