We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short visit”
Review of Tor Hotel Geneve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tor Hotel Geneve
Ranked #3 of 22 Geneva B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good for a short visit”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a tourist class hotel centrally located in Geneva that we booked for the Auto Show

The Pros:
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Cost $250/night was among the cheapest we could find in Genevea during the auto show
- Can a accomodate a group of 4 in one room
- Simple breakfast delivered to your room included (Croissants/bread, coffee, juice, jams)
- Good water pressure
- Pets Allowed
- Central location, short walking distance from train station, Lake, and restaurants
- Linens/towels clean, decent quality

The Cons:
- Thin walls - you can easily hear other guests talking in their rooms
- No Parking (overnight parking in public garage 200M away runs $56 per 24hrs)
- Older mattresses and furntiture/decor a bit run down
- Bathroom clean, but hard floors in room were not
- Flat screen tv had only analog signal, lots of fuzzy channels

We would consider staying here again for a short visit where we didn't plan to spend time in the room. Fine for families/pet owners in town for short trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrelle, General Manager at Tor Hotel Geneve, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Sir
Thank you fro coming to Torhotel and for your review.
We do appreciate our rates are may be the lowest in town
as we know we do not provide the best soundproofing walls in the area but it is also coming with investments and this is increasing pricing of the rooms!!
About public parking we are happy to inform we now are able to provide special discount
card on two of the nearest parking around the hotel fro approx 40% discount...
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    103
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
62
45
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kapuskasing, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Accross the street from the bus station, a block from the train station, very close to the swyss view of Mont Blanc, we spent the night at Tor. The surprise: no lobby at street level, it was a couple of levels higher. The room was very clean, larger than we expected, the staff was attentive and competent and the breakfast, to our room, was excellent.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the back, up a flight from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very nice receptionist. He made sure we knew what was where etc. and have us free transport passes for bus tram and ferry. Very nice.

Very simple but quite a large bedroom.

Breakfast is served in your room. Which is ok for some I guess. Not for me.

Very close to Lake Geneva and a short(ish) walk to the old town centre.

Parking is at an underground car park about 1km away. Easy to find and quite reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at Tor Hotel for one night on 18th February with my girlfriend. It is conveniently located and known by taxi drivers.
On arrival we were greeted warmly for check-in. All the staff I met during my stay were extremely helpful and welcoming.
We were allocated a fantastic double room with plenty of space. The rom was well appointed and nicely decorated.
Breakfast served to your room. We found this a nice touch- a lazy start to the day with breakfast in bed.
My only criticism would be the soundproofing for the room next door- our neighbour insisted on a loud 4 hour phone call late in the evening that we could hear word for word.
I would definitely return to Tor Hotel on my next trip to Geneva, fantastic value for money and very convenient set up. The staff are a credit.
Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This turned out to be a gem of a hotel for our family of four in a pretty quad room with everything we needed. Beds and linens were cozy and the room was full of character with parquet flooring and 12' ceilings. Bathroom was small but functional and staff was great. Breakfast in the room was perfect and timely. Location could not be better. Great value-

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JobenluNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great location, good value for Geneva. Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance from the train station and heart of Geneva.

Glad I read the reviews about it being tricky to find...I didn't have a problem, but may have if I was expecting something different.

As a young solo female business traveler, finding a place that is reasonably priced that leaves me feeling comfortable and safe can be a challenge. I was perfectly happy at Tor Hotel, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it ( I did get a private bathroom).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here with 2 young children and it was brilliant. Excellent location, very near the station and shops. Our room was very clean and extremely comfortable. The Reception is on the third floor, but there is a lift so this was not a problem. We contacted the hotel to say we would be arriving late and they were very accommodating and made arrangements for us. The staff were so helpful and it really was an enjoyable stay. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Mc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
211 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
928 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 105 in Geneva
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Hotel Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Hotel Geneve

Property: Tor Hotel Geneve
Address: rue Ami- Levrier 3, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cornavin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tor Hotel Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime location in the heart of Geneva, only 5 minutes from the Cornavin Railway Station, the cosy and intimate family hotel Tor offers modernly designed and fully equipped accommodation. Housed in a classical old building, the hotel is close to the lake and within walking distance of the main shopping areas, international organisations and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tor Hotel Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing