We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location clean, and comfortable.”
Review of Tor Hotel Geneve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tor Hotel Geneve
Ranked #3 of 22 Geneva B&B and Inns
Narrawong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location clean, and comfortable.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stepped off a bus from Chamonix at the depot and found the hotel was just across the road. Easy walk with luggage. Small entrance but lift takes you up to the floor of the hotel. Adequately sized double room with en-suite. Very clean room and comfortable bed and pillows.
Continental breakfast was good and delivered to the room.
Easy walk to city shops but also close to the lake so lovely views and walks available.
Got a good deal online and so was quite happy with the value for money.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    103
    46
    16
    11
See reviews for
62
45
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here 10 years ago and to my delight it was like coming home. The location is convenient and safe. Rooms are small but adequate. Great breakfast. Would prefer to skip breakfast but there is no option For this in the price which is quite a bit higher than what my colleagues paid at the Best Western. I would rate a 5 with the exception of the cost and the street noise. You need to keep the windows open for fresh air as there is no air conditioning. The fan they provide is helpful. I am planning to return to Geneva for anther week in the near future and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Harbridgetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrelle, Directeur général at Tor Hotel Geneve, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear
Thanking you for your stay at Torhotel it is a pleasure to welcoem our guest even every ten years !!
Fur us your trust is our goal
We are amazed with information about Best western offering lower prices!!
As we are quite a small unit we are not able of course to decrease our prices of 50% on week ends or low season like bigger hotels sometimes do...
But may we assure you we always are one of the less expensive rak rates in the city for 3 stars hotels...
Staying at your disposal and waiting to welcome you back
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Arrived at the hotel at 9pm and despite having an online reservation from their website they were full and had no room for us. We were told by the manager that we can do what we like - call the police, call the army. Pretty terrible attitude.

They did find us another hotel nearby (Hotel Cornavin) and paid the extra CHF100 difference which was a nice gesture.

I couldn't recommend this hotel as it is too risky to ensure a reservation turns into a room with a hotel that takes electronic booking online but runs all the room allocations on pieces of paper. Its also not worth the poor attitude of the staff (see other comments too).

If you want a cheap hotel near to the station the Hotel Cornavin was clean and had a good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frqunt_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrelle, General Manager at Tor Hotel Geneve, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear
Sorry to read your review, we would like to tell you how deeply sorry we are if we have made a mistake in your reservation.
Most of it please do accept our appologies for the inapropiate maner of our staff who was supposed to welcome you!! (this was not the manager)
this is indeed unacceptable, may we ask you to give us the exact checking date ??
However we can assure you it is not because we are working with so called piece of paper we have made this overbooking!!
Hence we do appreciate you have noticed we have assumed our responsabilities and payed the difference for your stay in another hotel for almost double the price of the reserved room
We hope we will be able to welcome you another time
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I staid at Tor Hotel in a triple room for just under a week in June 2014. The hotel staff was very friendly, and upon arrival they gave me a ticket for public transport in Geneva for the duration of my stay and offered to highlight key sites and attractions on a map they provided. The rooms were clean and tidy. There is a tv in each room, most channels are in German or French, although you can find a handful in Italian and English. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, although at times it may disconnect. You will have to ask reception for the password, and you can use it across multiple devices. Breakfast (continental) is brought directly to your room, usually consisting of bread, jam/butter/nutella, croissants, orange juice, yogurt, fruit and either tea, coffee or milk. You will need to tell reception at what time you would like it served. The hotel does not have kitchen or bar/restaurant facilities, but being in the heart of Geneva this is hardly a problem. Many takeaways and restaurants are available nearby. As a plus, the hotel is only a few minutes by foot from the main train station. If you are multiple people in one room, the hotel will provide each of you with a key, but be careful as if lost it will cost 150CHF to replace. Check-out on the last day of your stay is at 12pm at the latest, which is better than most other hotels. It is then possible to leave your luggage at reception if you plan on seeing some more on Geneva. One small side note, although bathrooms are en-suite, it is not possible to lock the door. Overall, a great experience and a lovely hotel, would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarioSheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Tor Hotel is centrally and conveniently situated not far from the main Station and the Lake. It is in an older building, and the rooms are simply furnished, but spacious, clean, modern and comfortable. Given the cost of hotels in Geneva, this is a good more economical option. A simple Continental breakfast is brought to the room at a time chosen by you. It's quite adequate. The location is excellent and the service friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Nice little hotel in the city center. There are about 10 rooms, feels like you're living in your own apartments in Geneva :)

You won't find any extras, like big choice for breakfast, but the rooms are quite spacious, and they are all clean and comfortable.

The location is perfect - just couple of steps from the train station, but not in the crazy area of Paquis.
5 min walk across the bridge - and you're in the main shopping street and near the old town.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

As many reviews have said, the location is what makes this "boutique" hotel attractive for 1 or 2 nights max. Nice simple breakfast. Beware that this hotel rules are not conducive for any refund if you do not show up or shorten your stay!

Room Tip: No real difference between the south side and the north side, as they are both facing a street ( sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewUlysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 105 in Geneva
211 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
928 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#29 of 105 in Geneva
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor Hotel Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor Hotel Geneve

Property: Tor Hotel Geneve
Address: rue Ami- Levrier 3, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cornavin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tor Hotel Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime location in the heart of Geneva, only 5 minutes from the Cornavin Railway Station, the cosy and intimate family hotel Tor offers modernly designed and fully equipped accommodation. Housed in a classical old building, the hotel is close to the lake and within walking distance of the main shopping areas, international organisations and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tor Hotel Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing