We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, old fashioned rooms.”
Review of Hotel Adriatica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Adriatica
Ranked #63 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This place reminds me of the TV series Fawlty Towers.
In a good way: full of charm.
What makes the hotel is the hotelier at the front desk.
He was unfailingly polite, helpful, attentive, engaged.
Such a contrast to the usual hotel experience.
The rooms are old-fashioned and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

Although it looks like Liberace has done the interior design, this little discreet hotel has everything you need really. Staff are very friendly and helpful and it has a good location.
There has been a construction site banging away across the street for a few years, but I'd imagine they're done soon.
I was pleased to be offered complimentary cup of coffee on the terrace and it has a good continental breakfast.
Be prepared to bump in to people from all over the world.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leri12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We got there fairly late in the evening- the night porter didnt think much of helping us carry our three heavy suitcases and merely gave us the room key, pointing at the nearby elevator! The room was weirdly decorated, pseudo- baroque style, and definitely pretty worn out furnishings. They had forgotten to empty the wastepaper basket in the bathroom! The room was all but quiet ,on a street where a bus passes every 5 minutes!!! The next day we were having breakfast with a friend in the breakfast room by the terrace. Apart from the tables, there is a large couch covered in pseudo-brocade. Our friend had come with her tiny yorkshire, who decided , after sitting on the floor for a half hour, to make acquaintace with the adjoining sofa.He was sniffing around it and his mistress kept watch. Suddenly the self- defined hotel Manager- looks more like a handyman!- broke into the room shouting. We were, that day, the only guests in the breakfast room apart from a man on the side, and wondered what could have happened!! Pointing at the poor tiny dog as if at a monster, he accused it of having jumped on the sofa- oh,yes, HE had seen it on his monitor!- and of having torn the " precious" pseudo- brocade. There was, in fact, a huge tear right in the middle of the sofa! Certainly not due to the tiny paws of the midget- sized Yorkshire , though! The Manager continued, I ll charge you for this, and we both felt very embarassed, as well as our friend. This is when the other person in the room decided to speak out. He d d been there for a few days before us, and had noticed the unseeming tear in the sofa the first time he d had breakfast in that room! They were, in other words, trying to redecorate their furnishings at our expense! needless to say, we changed hotels the same day!

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toschina_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed in the Adriatica for 1 night on business. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was large and well appointed although showing its age a bit. Nice touches like bathrobe and slippers, good toilet requisites, fruit in the room and free wifi. Continental breakfast was adequate and nicely served. Reasonably priced, by Geneva standards. I'd certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phildia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel is just outside the biggest hospital of Geneva. The owner is a naturalized Swiss witha Russian origin which may explain the decoration. I was there twice for several weeks and found he place is ok, the staff very friendly and by Geneva standards it's reasonably priced. They do have an underground garage which is worth a fortune in Geneva if you come ther by car - you can go everywhere either walking or by public transport.
As many companies have employees from around the world working in Geneva for several weeks the Adriatica offers also some rooms with kitchenettes. I've seen one of a colleague and it was ok,
for a small initiative the room ladies will also wash the dishes.
The breakfast is ok, the hotel does not have a restaurant, but a bar in the evening. If you step out the main door and go to your right about 150m away is a good italian restaurant. You can reach the old part of town walking in about 15 minutes and there are all sorts of restaurants and bars. The lakefront is about 30 minutes on foot

Room Tip: If you plan to stay for a longer period get a room with a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudolf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Just had 2 nights at this strange little hotel, looks modern on the ouside but decorated in the most bizzare style, pretty tacky to be honest.
Also the walls are so thin you could here every bowel movement and flush from adjoining rooms, if you want a quiet night sleep give this place a wide birth.

Room Tip: a long way from lake but near a very good steak house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon68giddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Rococo/baroque style decoration throughout is rather unusual. A large glass chandelier as the main light in my room.

Apart from the decoration the hotel is very pleasant. The rooms are rather old but very clean. Breakfast is continental and adequate. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Fresh fruit was provided daily.

Hotel is well outside the centre of town. However, the are several bus stops nearby. Make sure you get the free ticket from the hotel for public transport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonbvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel LePrince
#73 of 106 in Geneva
43 reviews
Cité
Hotel Les Armures
Hotel Les Armures
#31 of 106 in Geneva
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bel'Esperance
#37 of 106 in Geneva
279 reviews
Atel - Calvy
#81 of 106 in Geneva
61 reviews
Hotel Carmen
#65 of 106 in Geneva
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adriatica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adriatica

Address: rue Sautter 21, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: £174 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adriatica 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Adriatica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriatica Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing