We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fondue heaven”

Restaurant Les Armures
Ranked #17 of 1,842 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Cite
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The restaurant at Hotel Les Armures had been recommended to me by a friend who previously lived in Geneva. The meal was fabulous and somewhere not to miss when you're in Geneva!

It is famed for it's fondue and the reputation is well deserved. If you like cheese you're going to love this place! This has set the benchmark for all future fondues for me!

Loved it!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nataliemK3093QN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 565 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2016

What a great place to eat in Geneva. Great location The best waiter in all Europe.
We had the best service in Switzerland at this great restaurant we had a waiter
from Italy who was fantastic must go

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 629rogerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The Hotel des Armures as a well-deserved reputation as a charming, stylish but expensive place. So it may come as a surprise that the attractive terrace in front serves a daily set lunch for CHF20. We took the offer recently and have every reasons to recommend the experience. Notice the bronze plaque on the facade next to the door, reproducing the «thank you» letter sent by president Bill Clinton after a meal there (maybe not the set lunch, though).

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank RayAnh72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2016

outside dining on a good pasta dish, beware that most Swiss are heavy smokers and do smoke at outside dining areas, but the food was good and not expensive by Geneva standards, we also ate as a party of 8 inside which was excellent, we had veal and pasta, again not too expensive by local standards and very good

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank madhatterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Dined here on 2 occasions during a recent visit to Geneva. The food , service and atmosphere were very good and the waiter we had (see below) was very helpful and attentive. On both occasions we dined on the terrace...which added to the evening.

On our second visit our initial waiter we found to be very assertive bordering on rude,he failed to bring the correct number of starters,provided no bread when asked, filled wine glasses without care and to too great a volume, was lost in conversation with other customers and could not be called. Deciding enough was enough we alerted the manageress who responded immediately by moving us to another table and allocated a different waiter.....(coincidentally the same waiter from our first evening).we were impressed by her professional approach and significant intervention to ensure that our meal was a positive experience. We will return.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Smokiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Les Armures also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Restaurant Les Armures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.