We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good own beer”
Review of Brasserie Baloise - CLOSED

Brasserie Baloise
Price range: US$18 - US$45
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mont-Blanc
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good own beer”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

There are different food: hamburguers, traditional, pizzas, etc... and is quite good. You can also drink their own beer of various types.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catalan_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rubbish service, average place”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Sat waiting for anyone to come our table of 6 for 15 minutes, and then were ignored for water and drinks for another 20 minutes. Ordered starters and then 5 steaks, starters were average and we were then told they had run out of steak... and we were offered ostrich and turkey instead?!. After refusing they got some steak from somewhere and it was actually very good altho a portion of fries looked like it has sat there for a week.(btw the 6th person had perch and it was really awful) The decor is terrible and the service is woeful even by Geneva standards. Honestly i'm not a fussy diner at all but can't understand the other positive reviews.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooders11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labaloise, Manager at Brasserie Baloise, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Hello there,
Thanks for posting this review. We are happy to announce that ownership has since changed and the restaurant got a total overhaul, decor, staff, food and service. We hope you visit and try again. Let us know when you do visit.
Best!

BLB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food for a good price”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I can only confirm the good comments I read before going to this restaurant. The decoration and atmosphere is nothing really special. the plance is a rather simple place. The food however is good and the qantities are rich. I had the meat on a hot stone and it was delicious. The wine was also good and served at the right temperature. Service was really good and the waiter was not only very professional but also very friendly and funny.

Geneve is a very expensive city so to sumarize, if you want to have a decent meal for a not so expensive price this is the right place. Good quality, good service and a good price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russeltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
“do recommend this nice place”
Reviewed 19 June 2010

I visit Geneva quite often and reside to a nearby hotel. Three years ago, I went to la Baloise
The food was excellent and enjoyed the décor. I also spoke to the chef and I was amazed by his kindness and his experience. I do look forward to go back and certainly do recommend this nice typical Geneva Brasserie. I must also say that the prices are very reasonable indeed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ledesagreable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Eat with the locals and savour the atmosphere aswell as the great food!”
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We have just returned from a weekend in Geneva. A very expensive city!! Whenever we are abroad, we always look for restaurants full of locals, rather than tourists. We were standing outside this restaurant (more of a cafe in appearance) when a local lady stopped to speak with us. She told us she could highly recommend the restaurant, that the food was excellent and that there was a wonderful family atmosphere. We returned a few hours later - she was right!!! Only one member of staff spoke English, but this attracted us rather than putting us off! We were the only people in the place who were not local. The English speaking waiter was extremely helpful, making recommendations regarding food and wine. We were not disappointed!! If you want luxury then this is not the place for you. However, if you want good food, at reasonable prices for Geneva, with a wonderful atmosphere, then look no further!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dinausore2010, Propriétaire at Brasserie Baloise, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire à bientôt. La direction

Thank you very much for your comment with soon. Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Baloise also viewed

 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing