We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good but not special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shahi Food - CLOSED

Shahi Food
Price range: US$17 - US$22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: James-Fazy
Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good but not special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

First, the address should be updated. Shahi is now at 38 Rue de Lausanne. We went to Place de Cornavin 2 and they had a helpful sign on the door saying they had moved (in October). It was a little strange to see pizza on the menu, but then you find out that its now an Italian & Indian restaurant (a little strange to me). We ordered two vegetarian dishes which were o.k. Not bad, but not great. Not sure I'd go again, but given the reviews of other Indian restaurants in Geneva, perhaps this is as good as it gets.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delawaresteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
347 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“great dahl near Geneva train station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I went there for lunch and there was only one other table occupied. It still took a while for the menu to arrive, then for the order to be taken, but I was in no hurry and amused myself by studying the very kitsch decor. The dahl was excellent, just the right consistency. Vegetable korma and Bombay aloo were okay. The salt lassi was deliciously sharp. Not expensive by Geneva standards, especially in view of the generous portion sizes. The service was courteous if a little slow.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confort, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good Indian, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Authentic food, nice atmosphere. Well-priced for Geneva, with the plus of offering halal meats. Portions are relatively generous and service is good. This is probably my favorite Indian restaurant in Geneva.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but little over the top decor, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Our Son wanted to eat ONLY indian and after long tiring day we had to settle for the closet restaurant to our hotel and i must say we were not diaappointed. We order dal/Paneer/naan and I must say that naans were so good that my 7yr old boy described it as "soft/puffy/sweet/crispy/non elastic/easy chew" so when naan were so good rest of the food just disappear down the pallet. I will go back to this place if I ever visit Geneva again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KADS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pathetic service, rude and uncourteous waiters”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Pathetic service, rude and uncourteous waiters.This restaurant is severing low quality which is not safe for health. Due to his location it is in high demand apparently not taking all the precautions as per health and safety.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shahi Food also viewed

 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing