We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel with Excellent Service”
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here at the tail end of our honeymoon for two nights. Geneva is pretty expensive and this hotel was no exception, but we decided to splurge. Though we do not think it was worth quite as much as we paid, it seemed to be on par with the prices for similar hotels so we think this is more due to Geneva being expensive versus this hotel in particular.

The room was fantastic. We were on the fifth (top) floor so the ceiling was lofted, which really opened up the room. It had a small sitting area with a Nespresso coffee maker as well. The bathroom was actually fairly large compared to what we had seen in hotels in France. It had a bathtub with a shower head on it on one side of the bathroom and a glass-walled shower on the other with a very nice, large showerhead.

The bed was a king and was very comfortable. The room was also very bright because of the windows and we had a view (admittedly a few blocks away) of the lake. They also left great little butter cookies with the turn down service at night. Breakfast was included in our rate and that was excellent as well. It was the typical breakfast we had seen on our trip with baguettes, pastries, jams, fruit and then scrambled eggs and sausage for the more "American" types. :)

The whole place had a bit of an Asian feel to it, very modern and the staff was very friendly. It's a great little boutique hotel. We did not eat any meals other than breakfast in the restaurant because it was pretty pricey in there. The first night we were there I ordered a cosmopolitan while we looked at a map of the city to figure out our gameplan for the next day. The bill came and it was $25 francs! So that was excessive, to say the least. But other than that, we really enjoyed the place. We didn't use the fitness center but there was a small one in the lowest level for our use if we had wanted. There was also a little outdoor patio in the back with neat lighting for people to sit outdoors and eat or have a drink. There were a lot of nice touches, like lit candles, throughout the place as well.

I will say we encountered one issue the morning after our first night there. I went to take a shower and no hot water. My husband called down and they said they had a large group who were likely showering all at the same time so to wait a few minutes. We waited 20 minutes and I tried again and still no hot water. He called down again and they said there was a technician working it. It took about an hour or so total, but eventually the water heated up and the shower was great. When we returned from walking around later that day, a manager came up to us unsolicited (not even sure how he knew who we were) and apologized profusely. He then said that he wanted to send up champagne and fruit and when would be a good time. We told him then was a good time so he had it sent up. We thought there would be a couple strawberries or something. But it was a split of champagne with an entire tray of fresh fruit - kiwi, passion fruit, apples, bananas, strawberries, etc. It was fantastic and we thought a nice apologetic gesture showing their desire to please their patrons.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend the splurge. Oh, and I saw that other people mentioned that it was too close to the red light district - that area was more toward the train station, which we never ran into until the morning we walked to the train station. So if you always leave the hotel and head toward the lake, it'll never be an issue. It's at least 2 blocks away and we didn't notice any "riff raff" near our hotel because of it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nunce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

482 - 488 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

Elegant and discreet, this quiet friendly hotel a couple of blocks from the train station and the lake made me so comfortable I was loathe to leave. My courtyard facing room also had a glimpse of the fountain in the lake over the neighboring roofs, and a large window that opened to allow enjoyment of the cool fresh air. The room was small, but not claustrophobically so, impeccably clean with a comfortable bed. A large dressing room meant I didn't have to stumble around my suitcase. The bathroom was large, with both a rain shower and a handheld faucet. Free wifi is included.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbyClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

As soon you step in to the lobby, you can already begin to see why this hotel is different than most in Geneva. For one, it has a unique style and atmosphere with its dark wood floors and purple curtains and the staff is so nice (for a change).

Stayed here for just one night but I was able to check in early and was also upgraded to a better room!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marwanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We have stayed at Eastwest many times over the last few years. It is our hotel of choice in Geneva. The staff is outstanding, from management level to the doorman. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. We love having the Nespresso machine in the room to make morning coffee. There is a minibar that we put our snacks in. Frette bathrobes and slippers are a nice touch. The rainhead showers are great. Not all rooms have a separate tub, although ours did. Because we were here for an extended stay and thus had lots of clothes with us, the management provided us with a rolling clothing rack to accommodate the overflow. The room has a safe that is large enough to comfortably fit a laptop, plus extras. The restaurant, Sens, has really good food revolving around a seasonal menu, and the service is exceptional. Eastwest recently added an ¨"anytime menu" where you can order a hamburger, club sandwich, etc. in the bar. That is a nice touch for the weary traveller that doesn't want to deal with a restaurant setting. We are not breakfast people, so I can't comment on that. I've seen some negative comments about proximity of the red light district, but that hasn't bothered us in the least. It is very safe during the day and there are plenty of main streets to walk on and avoid the area. Eastwest is in a great location, being several blocks to the main train station and in the other direction, to the lake. All-in-all, a wonderful place to stay in beautiful Genevé - we are always sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tierradeluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2011. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and had all the amenities we needed, including a Nespresso machine. The hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the train station. We were given a pass for free travel on the Geneva public transport network. We used the trams, which were very clean and punctual. The old town of Geneva is located a 10 minute walk away.
We didn't use the restaurant, as we found a nearby Italian / Swiss restaurant to be of excellent quality and friendly service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CymruGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights for our anniversary. Reception staff were always very friendly - on arrival the bags were taken to our room, we were shown around the hotel and also given free passes to use on the trains, tubes and water ferries in the Geneva area for the duration of our stay! We were also given recommendations of what to see whilst we were there. Cleaning staff did a thorough and spotless job. What we saw of the hotel is EXACTLY as it shows in the hotel pictures so what you get is what you see and you won't get a nasty surprise when you turn up. The hotel was 5 minutes walk to lake geneva itself. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment on those facilities but the bar area and restaurant looked spotless. I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel if we went back to Geneva and wouldn't bother looking for another one as this made a perfect stay for us. Wi Fi worked fine. The reception staff were also happy to put our bags into stoarge on the last day at no extra charge as we had an evening flight and even gave us bottles of water for the journey. Can't fault this hotel in any way....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptMorgan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

It was a bit tricky to find this hotel (we inadvertently went through the red light district that is quite close by) and even harder to park outside to unload luggage.

Beautifully decorated throughout and very calm environment. The room was small but adequate. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom a decent size.

We had room service which was very expensive - £130 for a bottle of red wine, a club sandwich and what tasted like a frozen cheese pizza!!! Not good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanpa_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 109 in Geneva
1,077 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 109 in Geneva
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiffany Hotel
#22 of 109 in Geneva
581 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 109 in Geneva
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Address: rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £130 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastwest Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing