We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Dinner”
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

For our last night in Geneva, we had dinner at the restaurant at Eastwest. It was delicious! The moelleux au chocolat we had for dessert was a perfect way to end our trip on a high note. There was one other person there for dinner so we definitely would consider this restaurant, tucked in a little corner of the hotel, a true hidden gem.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank NewYorkjMvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

Great hotel I stayed in a single room. Beautiful linens tassimo machine box of welcome chocolates great toiletries. Room was small but so cozy beautiful bathroom great friendly staff also. Two streets away is the red light district I found out safe to walk though. No one bothered me as a solo woman traveler. Great bakery across the street for breakfast loved their croissants! Ate here instead of hotel restaurant pricey as most everything is in Geneva! Hotel close to Brunswick monument and waterfront approximetely 3 blocks Geneva is a beautiful city old town a must enjoyed walking bring comfy shoes lots of old cobblestone streets great chocolate at gelle Geneva finest the display window is a work of art. I walked everywhere did not use free bus card hotel provided. One of the prettiest cities I have travelled to.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Staying here just for a night and writing this from the room itself - using the very efficient and free wi fi provided with the room. It is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World - and very deservedly so.
Thanks to the reviews I came here and would like to say that if any one wants a hotel to stay in Geneva this is the ONLY choice - unless one wants a big name like Mandarin Oriental or Kempinsky!
Today is a Sunday and the breakfast will be served until 2 pm - a first time experience for an avid traveller like me!
However, the taxi from station to the hotel is 15 CHF and not 35 as I read in one review. Yes taxi charges are unreal in Switzerland - what I paid on taxis in St Moritz, Zurich and Geneva - I could have rented a car for one month! Public transport is very good but NO ENGLISH usage at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at Eastwest because it was in a convenient location and a fair value in a very, very expensive city. We were made welcome, the room was a real haven, and you sighed with relaxation every time you walked in the door. The decor was elegant yet inviting. The people were nice, the food delicious, the location perfect for walking to anything you wanted to see. And slippers. I always love it when they have slippers. If we return to Geneva we would definitely look forward to staying here, and we would recommend it without qualification.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacificpuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed one night here due to TripAdvisor ratings and the relatively inexpensive price (for Geneva) and were not disappointed! Great lobby, friendly staff, the bartender was knowledgable and great to talk to. The room was spacious and very comfortable, plus quiet and clean! And the location can't be beat - agree with other posters that there are a few streets between the train station and here that are slightly sketchy but if you stick to Rue de Alpes you're completely fine. Very close to train and to the water's edge - be sure to cross over into the old city!This hotel is a definite gem in a sea of overpriced hotels and we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2travelgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We had read the reviews and I was worried about the location. It's true, 1 toward the train station and there are some lesser quality shops, etc. although I felt safe during the daytime. However, 1 block the other direction and you are on the water's edge, among some of the nicest hotels in Geneva. Added plus, it's only 7-8 blocks (short blocks!) from the main Geneva train station (which is only 7 minutes to the airport). It isn't located in the heart of the Old Town, but it's really not that far of a walk.

Hotel front doesn't look impressive, but inside is very modern, clean and stylish (yes, stylish!) inside. Rooms have large flatscreen tv's, good space (we chose superior room), deluxe bathroom area, HARDWOOD FLOORS (plus!). I think the beds were heavenly soft...but if you like a firm bed, you might be disappointed. There was a Nespresso machine in the room (only 3 parcels, but you can order more). Room looked out into a central courtyard, but was quiet and probably a better view than looking into the street.

You can order food from the room service menu, or, during evening hours, from the full dinner menu. Food was good quality, a decent but not lengthy selection with a slight Asian twist, but they equally had hamburger and fries, or a chicken sandwich.

There's a small intimate bar to the left of reception, a small "Asian"-themed back bar area, and the restaurant is also intimate (small, but not tiny). They also had internet room where you can print boarding passes.

There was supposedly a fitness area but we didn't view it.

Room Tip: As there isn't much to look at in the street, you're probably better off choosing a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TcarlGren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed for one night just after Christmas. Rooms equipped with everything you could need and beautifully decorated, we had a fabulous "walk in" rainwater shower in our room, but our childrens room had a big bath, so I think all rooms are individual. Hotel in good location, easy to walk old town of Geneva. We arrived by car,and its quite difficult to park outside even to unload(as filter lane at door), so make sure you book parking with hotel before you arrive. We had breakfast in hotel, but it was just ok, and quite expensive. Staff were all lovely and very helpful. All in all a great inexpensive (for Geneva!!) hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IONACARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
1,011 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#15 of 106 in Geneva
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
659 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#17 of 106 in Geneva
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Address: rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#6 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £153 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastwest Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing