We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and welcoming”
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
Ranked #6 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Perfect location, small room but offering anything you could need, great bathroom with high quality products, extremely helpful and friendly staff, definitely one of the best hotel I've ever been. Of course, excellence has a price, but the experience is worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcptatpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Anniversary weekend in Geneva and chose this hotel because of the excellent TA reviews.

The hotel is contemporary, the beds as mentioned in previous reviews are very comfortable and the staff were friendly and attentive.

We had problems locating the hotel but this was more down to us exiting the railway station (one stop from the airport) from the wrong side. After walking totally in the opposite direction we gave up and paid 16CHF for a taxi for what should have been less than a 10 minute walk. If you leave the station at the correct exit (which is where the buses are - not the taxis) and take a left and then a right you will come to the Gare Routiere Bus Station (where the coach trips depart from) - the hotel is located on the same street, on the right hand side.

We had our anniversary meal in the restaurant and were totally underwhelmed. The menu was limited in choices and the lamb, which had received a good write up from other reviewers, was unavailable. Our main course was (basically) steak and mash with a very unexciting sauce. Potatoes apart, Genevan vegetables must have been out of season as we were presented with a basket of dry bread as an accompaniment. A miniscule chocolate desert (described as "for sharing") was presented in the centre of a very large soufflé plate, which only served to emphasize its inadequacy. The meal and a bottle of overpriced "vin ordinaire" left us with no change from £150. We appreciated in advance that Geneva is wildly expensive and made allowances accordingly, however quality and value should be a given whatever the price. The meal left us with a bad taste and a much lighter wallet.

The meal aside there is much to recommend this hotel and it enjoys a very convenient location close to the lake. The restaurant episode however devalued our overall experience and contributed entirely to our 3 star review.

The highlight of our long weekend was a trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc which was stunning. The coach departs from the Gare Routiere, just two minutes' walk from the hotel. We booked through Viator, who, though pricy, delivered an efficient and well organized service. It was also a breath of fresh air (in more ways than one) to momentarily return to the land of the euro and fiscal normality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed one night. My family and I needed a hotel close to train and center and this was a great choice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was well decorated including comfortable beds and very nice bathroom. It's about less than 10 mnt walk to the train and bus station. It's also close to the old part of town.

Room Tip: Ours had an inside view of the resto, quite nice, calm and agreeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globoterraqueo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a very nice boutique hotel. Very clean and spacious rooms. Good location. Very near places of interest and restaurants. Free transport passes on check-in. The bathroom is spacious and the beds are comfortable. If I go back to Geneva, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingHoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a great, small boutique hotel with very high standards throughout (not just in the lobby like many so-called boutique hotels)....The rooms are actually quite big considering the overall size of the hotel and the restaurant and bar is very cool (mood lighting, outdoor seating, well made cocktails). This is a great place for a weekend in Geneva which is a town full of bad, over-priced hotels. I liked this place so much I stayed for 2 weeks :) The rack rate is quite high,(though not for particularly for Geneva standards) but if you call the front desk and they aren't booked up you can sometimes get a big reductions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZPT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Awesome on all accounts. Friendly staff, clean comfy rooms, modern vibe. Had dinner on first night at hotel, certainly not your average hotel food. Very good, and creative. Can't think of anything that we found wrong with the hotel. Prices vary a lot in gva depending on business conferences, eye, so book early if possible. It's a good value, in Geneva terms where nothing is cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequentflyer0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I have tried several hotels in Geneva, in terms of value and location, this is one of the best. New design room, convenience location. Efficient and attentive staff. Clean and spacey room. I stayed here everytime in Geneva now. Walking distance to everything with reasonable price.

Room Tip: Book in advance with lower rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DashMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 109 in Geneva
1,071 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 109 in Geneva
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiffany Hotel
#21 of 109 in Geneva
580 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 109 in Geneva
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Address: rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#6 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: £135 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastwest Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing