We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SLH, never miss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“SLH, never miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

I keep on writing that SLH is the best hotel brand that I know. The affiliates always provide excellent location, beautiful and quiet rooms but mostly little details that make you feel home. Eastwest accommodated us with an excellent room that you can modify through the use of wooden panels that slide between the lobby, the room and the bathroom, creating a very cozy atmosphere. Location is perfect, staff is helpful. Only downsides: breakfast is a bit expensive for what it is and lunch we had was pretentious, though not bad.
A sure bet and from what I have seen in Geneva, the best hotel, unless you like places that smell of old money...

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    204
    38
    5
    6
See reviews for
108
290
65
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woodside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Staff welcomes you by your name, very quiet and high quality rooms (I tried all categories from single to the suite - all are great), efficient and well located. no mistake, smartly done and managed in details. Makes me feel home when in Geneva. (HON and Centurion)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

This is a small boutique style hotel on the other side of the lake/river in Geneva from Old Town. Although the neighbourhood may seem a little dodgy, never fear. It's very close to the train station (5 minutes walk) and is on the edge of the city center, getting close to residential areas. But at the same time it's about 5 minutes walk from the center and just across the river from Old Town. Pricewise a little on the expensive side, but it's worth it - they've got the most comfortable beds I've ever seen in a hotel! And that's saying something! The decor is funky, but it grows on you. The room has a Nespresso machine and a fridge. The restaurant downstairs is fantastic - try it! Again, pricey, but all of Geneva is VERY expensive, so be prepared for that, relax, splurge a little, and you will have a good time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed at the hotel Eastwest in August for 3 nights and loved every minute of our stay. Our highlights of the hotel were:

- Friendly staff
- Great location- 5 minutes walk from the train station & easy access to the lake
- Excellent check in and check out- upon check in we received a free travel card for our stay
- Free internet
- Great bed- so comfortable we slept so well
- Loved the bathroom and the shower was excellent

We plan on returning to Geneva and would definitely be staying at Eastwest Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaAndMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel and from the begining we were impressed of how nicely decorated the hotel is. However, the standard room we received was very small, the gym room is tiny and minimally equipped (it's better to jog around the lake) and the breakfast was poor and not included in the room price. The staff was willing to help, but they are not as efficient as they should be.
The hotel is very close to the lake and to the old part of the town.
All in all we thought that this hotel is overpriced for what it offers (and over ranked in Tripadvisor).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

This was the most expensive of the hotels on our rail trip around Europe, but it was worth it. Really nice room and staff who were keen to please.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MopsyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australians in Paris
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed at the hotel for a business trip on one Friday, then remained over the weekend for leisure. The decor of the hotel is very tasteful and the Oriental decoration elegant and stylish. Gorgeous light fittings and cushions, elegant flower arrangements. This extends to the room, with paintings of intricate embroidered tunics and dark wood. The room was immaculately clean, and was kept so every day. The bed was extremely comfortable and a different cover was readily provided when the duvet proved too hot. The fact that there was no step from the flat floor of the shower to the bathroom floor would probably be greatly appreciated by any guest who had mobility issues. No problems with the internet connection, and an adaptor plug was promptly provided on request. (Do return this to reception when you leave, as there may otherwise be a charge for it) The hotel was within 5 minutes walk of the lake and we were able to explore the city over the weekend with no need for extra transport. Several good restaurants were close by and the staff were happy to make recommendations and reservations for us. We had a breakfast, dinner and a lunch in the hotel retaurant and it was extremely good, if a little pricy. But then, Geneva in general is pricy! The hotel restaurant has a very innovative chef, whose dishes feature combinations of food that may have you saying "What?" but which are very surprising and enjoyable when sampled. Give it a try!
We found every single member of staff we dealt with to be obliging, helpful and unfailingly courteous. No request we made was unfufilled and we would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank OtterAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Property: Eastwest Hotel
Address: rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#6 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastwest Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing