We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in Geneva!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Residence CityZen
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value in Geneva!”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel for more than two weeks, and when you're in Geneva for that long, having a kitchenette really helps you avoid spending an arm and a leg on eating out! The staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful--that's a major plus. The room I stayed in (#210) was very spacious and comfortable and extremely clean. Internet service is free and fast. There's a desk to work at, ample closet space with a safe for valuables, a living area with a stuffed chair and sofa and flat-screen TV. Kitchenette has two burner stovetop and a decent sized fridge with freezer compartment, plus enough pots and pans and utensils do do basic cooking. Bedroom was in the back and was extremely quiet. I would definitely stay here again!

The only downsides: the ventilation system connects the rooms and even if you're not in a smoking room, there is often the smell of smoke wafting through the vents, so if you're sensitive, this probably isn't the place for you. Other thing is the location--while convenient to downtown and transport, it is most definitely smack dab in the middle of the red light district, so if that makes you uncomfortable, it also wouldn't be ideal. However, you can avoid most of that by walking down and around the block when coming and going. I am a single woman and I felt fine staying there and walking to and from. Late night tends to get a bit rowdy on the street.

Room Tip: Higher up may be quieter, but I didn't find noise to be a big problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D'Arcy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
14
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Cigarette smoke

We were 3 adults and 2 young kids and we booked a non-smoker apartment which was supposed to have a kitchen, a living room, a bathroom and a bedroom. When we arrived, we were put in a smoker apartment where the smell was so strong that it continued to suffocate us after keeping all windows open for 18 hours! The stink was indeed unbearable.

Ridiculous arrangement of rooms

In order to get to the bedroom one has to go through the "kitchen" and the "bathroom", which are more like a part of the corridor with two doors on each side. The kitchen consists of a stove with two plates and a sink right next to it. On the opposite wall there is the bathroom sink, for which there is no place in the bathroom. The bathroom has a toilet and a shower cabin. We had troubles closing the door between the bathroom and the bedroom, as the bed was in the way. So, if you want some privacy in the bathroom, then you have to make sure there is no one in the bedroom.

No place to prepare food or eat

In the kitchen, there are plates and cutlery, one pot and one pan. The stove is so weak that it could not get the water for the pasta to boil. There was no lid for the pot. There is no place to put anything in the kitchen, so you have to somehow manage to cook by cutting your products in the sink (which is right next to the stove). At least, it was clean. There is no workbench or table. The lack of table makes it difficult to eat. We had to use the writing desk in the living room to have our meals.

Very helpful staff

When we complained about the smoke and the useless "kitchen", the staff showed great understanding and moves us to the suite without charging us additionally. The suite is wonderful. It has a real kitchen with a dining table and four chairs. It is very sunny and cosy. The only drawback is that the living room and the bedroom are not separated, so we basically slept all in one room. There is a little balcony with a table and 2 chairs. The kitchen is well equipped (microwave, water boiler, plates, cups and cutlery, pan, pot, fridge, a lot of space in the cupboards).

Very clean

The hotel is very clean and is cleaned every day.

I recommend the suite of this hotel (the pictures on the website are or the suite and the lounge, not of the "regular" apartment). I do not recommend the regular apartments, unless you do not intend to cook in the kitchen (this kitchen should be okay for the preparation of coffee and tea, though, plus one can warm take-away food in the microwave)

Check you access code

Before we arrived, we were given an access code to the hotel. It turned out that it was the wrong access code and it could not open the door. If you arrive when the reception is closed, make sure you have an access code that works.

Room Tip: The suites are really very nice, the "ordinary" apartments are terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This small residence hotel belongs to a hotel Group that runs several hotels in Geneva. Our first choice was fully booked and Hotel Residence Cityzen was recommended. We had a room on the top floor with a small balcony facing the inner street - cozy and quiet. Continental breakfast is available at €10 and a public computer in breakfast room is really handy. Good price, great location, clean and comfy. Good deal in Geneva.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank organpipecoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed for two nights, the hotel was very comfortable and the room was very big. Even though the hotel was in the middle of the red light district we found it ok and the location was really good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed here with a group of cycling buddies and the hotel was great for us as our group of 7 almost filled the place. It isn't cheap, but nothing in Geneva is. The rooms were'nt typically tiny European, the two of us got our bikes in to the little sitting area of our room easily each evening so that was good. Reliable wifi was great and the rooms were cleaned thoroughly except on Sundays. The continental breakfast was adequate and served by a very cheerful Swiss maid. Its worth noting the hotel sits in the middle of the Geneva redlight district, but even this is pretty tame compared to most in the world and over the course of the week was an endless source of amusement.

Room Tip: There is a great top floor studio if travelling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

This place was a superb last minute find. It was much cheaper than the city centre hotels. For only £60 approx per night for 3 nights I got a small apartment/suite of rooms rather than a normal small hotel room. There was a living room with sofa, desk and satellite tv. There was a twin bedroom and en-suite shower and toilet. There was also a kitchenette. There was also a small balcony (which I did not use - it was a little cold!).

My gripes are all minor: a lack of hooks in the shower-room, wifi you had to pay for, restricted opening hours of the reception. Furthermore it is not really a hotel so if you are expecting breakfast etc then forget it; there is no restaurant. I was not expecting this so this did not bother me. The location is ideal in terms of nearness to shops, the lake, train station. However it is in the middle of Geneva's red light district which might be a little offputting to some people!

All in all very good value. The gentleman working at reception was very friendly and helpful. And like all hotels in Geneva you get a free travel pass thrown in when you check in for free travel on public transport. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Superb value for money
  • Disliked — Paying for wifi
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Doctordj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cristal Design
#43 of 105 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 105 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence CityZen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence CityZen

Property: Hotel Residence CityZen
Address: rue Sismondi 10, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel-Residence Laffitte)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Pâquis Navigation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence CityZen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 11 apartements is composed of a bedroom, a bathroom, a living room and a kitchenette. Situated two steps away from citycenter, lake and the train station. TV, telephone (direct line), air conditioning, WIFI Living rooms with fold-out beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Residence CityZen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing