We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel , bar & restaurant”
Review of Glencarse Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glencarse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Glencarse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel , bar & restaurant”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

stayed at the glencarse for 4 weeks whilst working in the area, was really pleasantly surprised with the quality of food & a very warm welcome . the owners and staff were really friendly.
a really good atmosphere and a real gem. keep up the good work. a+++

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
16
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Having been regular customers of Mike and Lena when they had the Grange Inn, St Andrews, we called in for lunch today to see how they are doing in their new venture. As we expected, the food was up to Mike's usual high standard. Lena, as always makes their guests most welcome.

For anyone who has not sampled Mike's excellent menus, and Lena's welcoming, we can highly recommend that you pop in to the Glencarse Hotel either for lunch or Dinner. If their reputation at the Grange Inn is anything to go on the you should reserve a table in advance.

Keep up the good work Mike and Lena.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfersStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked a double room as we had a wedding to go to at Fingask Castle. At first, we were not too impressed as the room is kind of basic (but very clean!). Then we had dinner in the lovely restaurant side, spent a great night in the bar, and then had a great breakfast the next day. The owner is totally lovely and very welcoming. With over 40 people from the midlands travelling to the wedding, many of our friends stayed in much dearer places and were not treated to such hospitality! Some were quite jealous when we told them about what it was like where we were staying!
Other plus points - easy to find, great to park outside the room

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J3nny_White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Glencarse Hotel this weekend, we booked this lovely wee hotel as it was closest to Fingask castle, we were attending a wedding at the castle.
The lady owner was lovely and really welcoming, we had booked 4 double rooms, all rooms were spotless and comfy.
On the Sunday morning we had an excellent breakfast again served by the owner.
Great place to stay if you used it as a base to do some touring in a scenic part of Scotland.

Room Tip: The rooms are all similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Went here for dinner on Sunday evening and was not impressed by the menu.

The food was not great for the money we paid.

They have tables outside in the garden area if required.

I would not recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reds1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Went here for dinner on Saturday evening for the first time and was very impressed. The food was very good. The staff were very friendly and made a point of welcoming us when we arrived. The butterscotch cheesecake was to die for.Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossgiel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Our family of four stopped here for lunch. The hotel and ambience was nice enough and we had a nice table in the corner. There was hardly any noise from the traffic despite being located very close to the main Perth/Dundee Road. It was however a little cold and I kept my jacket on.

The menu was basic pub grub fair which suited us fine, with a kids menu with usual macaroni cheese, sausages and beans etc. all served with chips or spuds.

My hubby had haddock and chips. It was £8.95 but the portion of fish was very small and it had been over cooked thus batter was just too crispy, he finished it in about 5 minutes and was still hungry.
My lasagne was nice though the salad was a little unimaginative - also £8.95
Son had macaroni cheese which was too saucy (lots of macaroni floating in cheese sauce). Portion was sizeable enough but he couldn't finish it as he didn't like it much. Came with chips or spuds which he declined as he's not fussed on either hence the reason the portion was larger.
Daughter had sausages and beans. She ate the lot but like her brother she too isn't fussed about chips or spuds however I don't think her portion was increased because of this despite us asking. She was starving at the end of it and ate my garlic bread (one small slice).
We asked for extra bread and butter - standard pan bread arrive and we had to ask for more.
Kids meals included ice cream but we bailed out to avoid further disappointment and headed for Glendoick Garden Centre instead where husband and daughter had a plate of soup to fill them up and we all indulged in gorgeous cakes. We noted a table next to us ordered haddock and chips and the portion was huge for £1 less.
I don't like being negative about places but I feel I have to be honest. Our lunch could have been so much better by just a few small changes: nice crusty homemade bread, decent sized portions, thoughtful offerings like perhaps offering the sausages and beans on toast since daughter didn't like chips/spuds.
Hope food improves as other reports seem to be positive. Good luck!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suduperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glencarse
3.8 mi away
Murrayshall House Hotel
11.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#15 of 49 in Perth
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencarse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencarse Hotel

Property: Glencarse Hotel
Address: 7 Main Street, Glencarse PH2 7LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Glencarse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glencarse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glencarse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glencarse Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing