We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay - so welcoming.”
Review of The Angels Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Angels Lodge
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Engelberg
Devon
1 review
“Fantastic stay - so welcoming.”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had such a lovely time at the Angel's Lodge. The staff were so welcoming and extremely helpful with any inquiries. A lasting memory I have of our stay there was when the three of us (my husband,our little girl and I) were sat outside in the jacuzzi sipping on our drinks looking at the winter wonderland around us. The breakfast was excellent. Our room was also very comfortable and clean. We were in walking distance of the restaurants in the town and the ski lifts. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    28
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
38
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Viganello
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Spend just one night for 2 day ski trip with 2 friends. Good booking and reservation info. Also nice to park the rental car in a garage when it was freeezzing outside -15 c. The extra bed for the 3rd person could be more comfortable but it was ok for 1 night. The room ok. Excellent to have the Jacuzzi and sauna, with beer served, outside in the evening when it was almost -20c. What an experience! the breakfast was ok but I miss Fresh orange juice! That is always a good way to please and impress me as a hotel guest. All in all, friendly service with good suggestions that makes the stay memorable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A great little hotel. Comfortable room with a balcony (although it was a bit cold to use it when it was snowing!). The best Continental buffet breakfast we have had. Friendly, helpful staff and proprietor. Excellent location, it seems to be only 5 minutes walk from everywhere! - Town centre restaurants - supermarket - ski-lift - station, couldn't ask for more.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humbug136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the Angels Lodge, for 5 nights in December 2011, between Christmas and New Year.

Refurbished earlier in the year, the accommodation is clean and comfortable, though we had two single beds, as opposed to a double. The breakfast is a good cold buffet, with excellent coffee. The sauna and jacuzzi were newly installed during our stay and worked very well indeed. It is convenient for skiing, being a short walk from the main lift at Titlis, or one stop on the frequent bus (every 30 mins), which stops ca. 30 metres away from the lodge. The other lift area is not walking distance in ski boots but as the bus stops directly in front of the lodge this is hardly a chore. There is also parking available.

The family owners / staff struck a perfect balance between being helpful - especially in recommending places to eat - and giving you the space you want on holiday.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrudim, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We´ve spent 3 nights in Angel´s Lodge in Engelberg and there were definitely our best 3 nights in Schweiz. Beautiful nature friendly people,staff in Lodge, girl at the info center also. We were lucky with weather. I want to say one more time THANK YOU..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prevost, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I've stayed 3 nights at * The Angels Lodge*...the rooms are comfortable, the staff is friendly and the service is great...They really care about your stay!...I recommand it greatly!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajmer, India
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

One of great places to stay. Esp if one is going with family. Probably would stay at this Chalet than staying at a hotel. Kind hosts.

Room Tip: I personally will not select the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 22 in Engelberg
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 22 in Engelberg
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 22 in Engelberg
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#7 of 22 in Engelberg
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 22 in Engelberg
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angels Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angels Lodge

Property: The Angels Lodge
Address: Alpenstrasse 1, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Sunnmatt)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angels Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Angels Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing