We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay and convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ski Lodge Engelberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Very comfortable stay and convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The location of this Lodge is excellent and you can see it as soon as you exit the Railway Station. Engelberg is a very small town and you can pretty much see everything from the Station. We were 3 adults staying there and had a double and a single room. The rooms were very clean and had balconies overlooking the hills. The single room also had two beds (just like the double room), the only difference between the two rooms being - the wash basin in the single room was outside the bathroom. In spite of having 2 beds, the single room was much cheaper than the double. I don't know if they have a "per person" charge for the single room, but I would recommend it if it's a couple looking to just spend the night there. Almost everything (barring 3 restaurants) in Engelberg closes at 6.30pm (COOP closes at 7), so you should plan accordingly. The staff at Ski Lodge was very, very helpful and gave us personal attention. It's a small hotel, without a restaurant. But there is an in-house bar, if you need anything.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shredder069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for the praise and for taking the time to review us!

Just to clarify the single room question: During calmer days, we try to upgrade our guests as often as we can. Hence the size of the "single room". And - too bad you missed out on the restaurant. It was closed during your stay (Mondays/Sundays during summer), but we hope to have you back here so you can try Jonas' cooking some day soon.

Cheers from the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    55
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
34
58
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollerau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

First impressions and greeting very poor, we barely received a hello or welcome when we arrived through the door. Certainly no smile or eye contact.

The staff seemed embarrassed to acknowledge our presence and gave us the impression throughout that we where somewhat inconvenient.

Room very average,for example , tv reception didn't work or bedside light. Very ordinary sub ikea furnishings.
Shower very basic and from a bygone age, no dressing up with old skis will disguise a sixties bathroom....

Dinner in the evening was a disaster,although not due to the cook who tried his best and was sweetly charming.

We had pre-booked a family meal for 7 pm, the earliest time available, due to the fact that we have three small children. When we arrived at 7.05 pm the restaurant door was still locked........

We had to go looking for a member of staff to open the door, as we had when we had come for evening drinks at 5pm.

We were trying to spend money here but your weren't helping us !

Our children where really hungry at dinner and we had to endure a long and irrelevant service. There is a big difference between guests who are lingering and enjoying a slow dinner with conversation, and parents with small children who need them fed quickly !

Can I suggest that you cater for children ?

It appears to us that this place is a no more than a youth hostel with no capital expenditure for its future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EPIEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear ElizabethIsabella,

I'm sorry you found your experience so terrible, and we would have loved to hear it during your stay so we could have had a chance to improve. We have already been in contact with you about giving us a second chance, and I really hope you take us up on the offer.

You are right about us not being a perfect restaurant to get kids fed quickly, but we are happy to take on the challenge if you give us some notice. About investing and restoring the hotel - we are continuously improving the hotel - 2010 we built an entire new reception and restaurant extension - adding 100m2 to the hotel. This year, we are redoing the whole old dining room - and we'll keep on doing everything we can to improve the Lodge for our guests.

All in all, we sincerely apologize for your lackluster experience, you have given us valuable feedback on how to improve and we really hope to have you back in winter and show you what we really are about. And show you our brand new restaurant too.

Best regards,

Eric Spongberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My Wife and I celebrated our wedding over a weekend with friends and family flying in, as we are not native Swiss, only residents, coming from DK and NL. We decided on Ski Lodge as the location for the parties (two nights) and we all spend the night here (almost 90 people). I have to say that the Ski Lodge scores top ratings on all accounts, from the great food of Jonas in the kitchen, to the organisation of Matilda and Olivia and the friendly and helpful attitude of all staff. It is very low key, no sucking up or snobbery, but genuine friendly approach. The place is homely in appearance with a modern Nordic twist. It is predominantly a place for the skiseason, which is obvious by the lack of "business/city appliances" such as iron and iron boards in the rooms and drycleaning services. But honestly, who can blame them, and for the dry cleaning one of the hotel staff offered to take a pair of pants 30 min down the mountain!

Whether for a skitrip, a hike in the summer or for a party with friends, Ski Lodge is the best choice in Engelberg!

Room Tip: nice rooms 12,13,22,23
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrinceBeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Due to Tripadvisor guidelines, we cant write your names here, so...

Mr X & Mrs X - it was such a pleasure to have you here in our house! We have organized weddings before, but this time was pure magic. Thank you for being such excellent partners when planning the wedding, it makes is so much more fun with people who are really interested in food, wine and the ambience around the whole event.

Your amazing photographer shared his pictures with us to publish on the homepage and... we are in awe.

So a big thank you right back to you, and all your swiss, dutch and danish friends.

And, we wish you a very long & happy marriage :)

The Ski Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin,Israel
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Spent there one night, the room was nice and comfortable, well maintained.
Great view from the balcony.
Breakfast was very good; dinner at the hotel was tasty,
The staff was very helpful. Excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oodimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words - looking forward to have you back. Glad you liked our cooking too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKEGNESS LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Having enjoyed many Kuoni holidays in Switzerland, we have always been impressed with the Hotels chosen from their brochure, the most recent being The Derby Hotel, Grindelwald, Antares in Zernatt and Bernerhof in Kandersteg
This year our son and daughter-in-law were coming with us and we wanted our holiday to be special.
Since Ski Lodge was rated no 1 in Engelberg we thought we couldn't go wrong.
The Hotel is very convenient for the station and the village and has a relaxed atmosphere which we liked However considering how quiet it was apart from a coach party arriving for a couple of nights we were disappointed to find our rooms were dark and looked out on to next door's wall instead of the mountain view we had hoped for.
Ski Lodge is basic and clean but the shower enclosure in room 14 would not close and the plug was missing in the basin.
It was difficult to get a drink in the bar in the evening as there were sometimes no staff on duty there or at reception on several occasions.
We were also unprepared for the "Hostel" style breakfast room , Breakfast was basic .
To sum up Ski Lodge is perfect for groups of skiers but not suitable for Summer holiday makers looking for Swiss Quality

.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiger063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Tiger063,

I'm sorry to hear your review, and 3/5 is certainly not what we aim for.

Thank you for the comments and taking the time to review us, and we have already looked into the problems in your room. About the breakfast, was there anything in particular you missed? We try to improve our breakfast all the time with smoothies, different cheeses from the valley etc, so we would be very grateful for more detailed feedback from you to make it better.

During low season we don't have our bar open every day. We obviously weren't clear about the opening hours, and will look into our routines to inform our guests better.

If you ever head back to Engelberg, please contact me directly on eric@skilodgeengelberg.com and I'll make sure you have a good stay.

Best wishes from the mountains,

Eric Spongberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed in your hotel during summer (and we will hopefully be back at some point during winter!). The room was very comfortable and spacious, with great views. We truly enjoyed every aspect of this hotel - great breakfast, great food in general, the lovely terrace outside - but we mostly enjoyed the friendliness of all staff members.

The location is simply perfect - also for travellers by train because the hotel is very close to the station - and the surroundings are absolutely stunning!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarloesPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed at skiers lodge in Engelberg in January 2011 and had one of my best hotel experiences ever. I could recommend both families and young people to this diammond in one of the most snow secure places in the alps.

Eric
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angels Lodge
The Angels Lodge
#12 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Lodge Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Lodge Engelberg

Property: Ski Lodge Engelberg
Address: Erlenweg 36, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ski Lodge Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Lodge Engelberg was crafted after the type of hotels that we enjoy staying at while on vacation. Hearty breakfasts, comfortable beds and personal and friendly service are things you can expect at Ski Lodge Engelberg. Forget the dated interior, bland food, and thin blankets of other hotels. The staff is ready to help you with all aspects of your stay from how to address those aching feet to finding the best snow conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ski Lodge Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Lodge Engelberg Hotel Engelberg
Ski Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing