We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Overall a very nice "boutique" hotel. The bedrooms are a decent size and reasonably furnished - major bugbear was the shower which was completely useless - it was a hand held with no wall bracket to allow you to stand under it. No bath either which is a shame as its great to soak ofter a day on the slopes. Nice bar with good atmosphere. Restaurant was good with a set meal option for half board - although the food was a bit too "fussy" for skiers / kids and they seemed phased when we asked for somethingelse for the kids and didn't have anything to offer - so not child orientated! Good breakfast buffet.
There is a hottub and sauna in the garden - but the staff forgot to turn them on!! - we're more interested in being on the slopes than attending to the needs of guests it seemed

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us and giving us a couple of hints on where to improve.

We have rooms with showers and baths, and we try to accommodate everyone's needs as far as possible. About the restaurant, we don't have a kids menu - but if we get a little notice, we can serve up any special requests you might have.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Cheers from a sunny Angel's Mountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone again. Rooms are okay, decoration and location is great. But we felt a bit misplaced, service is very unfriendly and not service minded at all. The waitress prefered to chat with the swedish guests than to have a look what is missing from the table or the rest of the hotel guests.
Sadly.. never again and i will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Price / quality is just not appropriate.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank funkysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

I'm terribly sorry to read your review about us.

When we founded this hotel 6 years ago, we wanted to create a memorable service experience that went beyond the formalities of traditional hospitality. Meaning that a member of the staff should be knowledgable not only about food, wine or the check-in process - but the overall experience the guest is looking for. Similar to visiting a friend in another country, he/she should be able instantly guide you to the best cafés, beaches and secret spots. Or a foot massage!

Sadly, we've failed here and made you feel unwelcome - and I'd like to find out more about your stay to be able to improve. If you email me at eric@skilodgeengelberg.com I'd be very interested to hear more and also invite you back to give us a second chance.

Cheers from a sunny Engelberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a great place to stay in Engelberg! The nice staff and great restaurant and bar is a big plus! Our bathroom was a bit cold, but that's just a detail! I will definitely go back! The location could not be better with walking distance to the cabin and city center, very convenient! A perfect place to enjoy Engelberg.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnusheden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for the review, it means a lot to us.

Your timing couldn't have been better with you stay, Engelberg was (again!) on of the few lucky resorts with chest deep powder snow in November :-)

Good note about the bathroom, expect some improvements during the summer months.

Welcome back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Centrally located and with a breathtaking view from the Hotel entrance it is the place to stay at in Engelberg. That is if you want to meet with people who take skiing serious and are happy to share tips and ideas about skiing in general and skiing in Engeberg in particular. Add laid back after ski and excellent dining and you have little else to wish for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 514Hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure having you here for the season opening!

Cheers from the snow :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I lodged here for 2 nights in Sept 2013 as part of a Topdeck trip. Ski Lodge Engelberg is cozy and the staff and crew are warm, welcoming and friendly. We had 2 included dinners and the food was simple yet delicious home-made fare. I got to spend my birthday in Switzerland and Ski Lodge Engelberg and it was a terrific experience.

The town itself is pretty small but all the major points of interest are well located. We could walk from Ski Lodge Engelberg to the cable car station to go up Mt Titlis, and the main train station to Luzern is only a stone's throw away. I highly recommend taking a day trip to Luzern, approx. 1hr by train from Engelberg. Otherwise, you can rent a bike and pedal around town or for the more adventurous folks, there are some pretty challenging bike trails around the mountains.

We had the good fortune of being allocated a spacious room on the 2nd floor with a massive balcony that had breathtaking views of the mountains and hills around. The room also overlooks the alfresco drinking area and an outdoor hottub! WiFi was free and the connection was good.

It was a shame that we were only there for 2 nights, would've loved to spent more time there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl_SG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing us Cheryl, always highly appreciated.

We hope to see you another time soon, you should see this place in winter too!

Cheers,

Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a topdeck tour in sept 2013. The rooms were average European size, not all that big but still fit our suitcases at the end/beside the bed. Room and bathroom were both very clean. Had a traditional Swiss dinner outside in their gorgeous outdoor setting, the lady serving the food was so kind and accommodating. Such a central spot, would be ideal in ski season. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shopuntilidrop_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is run by a lovely Swedish couple who provided fantastic service. It is all within 15 mins walking distance to the Coop supermarket, train station and cable car to Mt Titlis.

Rooms are very clean and a good size. Free wifi was also available. The views are spectacular and enjoyed the dinners downstairs at the restaurant. The bar is also a great place for a drink and you can sit outside to enjoy the views of the snowy mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 23 in Engelberg
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#16 of 23 in Engelberg
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Lodge Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Lodge Engelberg

Address: Erlenweg 36, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: £99 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ski Lodge Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Lodge Engelberg was crafted after the type of hotels that we enjoy staying at while on vacation. Hearty breakfasts, comfortable beds and personal and friendly service are things you can expect at Ski Lodge Engelberg. Forget the dated interior, bland food, and thin blankets of other hotels. The staff is ready to help you with all aspects of your stay from how to address those aching feet to finding the best snow conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ski Lodge Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Lodge Engelberg Hotel Engelberg
Ski Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing