We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Rustic and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights when on a Topdeck tour. This hotel was such a pleasure to stay at, and we enjoyed everything about Engelberg and what this place has to offer. Clean, rustic rooms with breathtaking views, close walk to everything that you need, food was beautiful and the bar is one of a kind. Staff were very friendly and helpful too! Would recommend anyone travelling to Engelberg to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller building on the 2nd floor. fantastic room!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Ski Lodge Engelberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a great stay at the lodge in feb 2014. We all loved it - very friendly service, familiar and unpretentious. The three course dinner included in the price was great. Breakfast very good too - We do love to go abroad but a lot of the times you get served a croissant and some jam for breakfast. Not the case here - a good Scandinavian breakfast, the perfect way to start the day before you hit the slopes. Will definitely come back next time we hit Engelberg.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Ägare at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you Adam!

As skiers ourselves, we know the difference between a full ski day with a croissant in your stomach, or a full day with a real hearty breakfast. We work hard to make our food worth talking about, so really happy you noticed.

Even though it's full-on summer here, we're planning for another great winter at Ski Lodge. Last week, we got a 14 meter long wooden sofa delivered to our patio, and we have more surprises both in the rooms and the terrace to come.

We hope to see you back when the snow starts falling :-)

The whole team at Ski Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here for a week for a snowboarding week.

Building is nice and in a great location, a short stroll to the train station and the easiest way to get to Zurich (airport).

Checkin was simple and our room was ready. But no help with bags.

Our room was OK, not very big but everything you need for a week in the snow. Bathroom however is incredibly small.

The meals at night are a good standard and would recommend doing this as the place is so expensive, but so is all of Switzerland. The dinner staff are lovely and friendly.

Bar, the bar is comfortable and nicely set up. Bar staff are pleasant and cheerful.

You can buy your lift pass at reception, which was easily done. We found the reception staff to be not the happiest people to deal with.

Not sure if I would stay there again, possibly take a look at other options in the village.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Ägare at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hi Petamy,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we're always looking for ways to improve our Ski Lodge.

The restaurant is our real darling, and we're happy you noticed that we've put a lot of effort into it. Regarding the price level, that has to do with our core beliefs. We use no shortcuts in our kitchen, meaning quality ingredients, sourced locally when possible, and cooking everything from scratch. All of which ends up few francs more, but also a whole lot better in our opinion.

I hope to welcome you back again soon! Cheers from the sun!

Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Perfect for a group, rent a few rooms and enjoy dinners in the hotel restaurant which is quite good. Very nice staff, friendly atmosphere and great alternative. Nothing special but everything you need on a ski trip. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

A big thank you from all of us at Ski Lodge for reviewing us and for the kind words. We work hard with our service and staff, and I'm glad it shined through :-)

Cheers from a sunny Engelberg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Overall a very nice "boutique" hotel. The bedrooms are a decent size and reasonably furnished - major bugbear was the shower which was completely useless - it was a hand held with no wall bracket to allow you to stand under it. No bath either which is a shame as its great to soak ofter a day on the slopes. Nice bar with good atmosphere. Restaurant was good with a set meal option for half board - although the food was a bit too "fussy" for skiers / kids and they seemed phased when we asked for somethingelse for the kids and didn't have anything to offer - so not child orientated! Good breakfast buffet.
There is a hottub and sauna in the garden - but the staff forgot to turn them on!! - we're more interested in being on the slopes than attending to the needs of guests it seemed

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us and giving us a couple of hints on where to improve.

We have rooms with showers and baths, and we try to accommodate everyone's needs as far as possible. About the restaurant, we don't have a kids menu - but if we get a little notice, we can serve up any special requests you might have.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Cheers from a sunny Angel's Mountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone again. Rooms are okay, decoration and location is great. But we felt a bit misplaced, service is very unfriendly and not service minded at all. The waitress prefered to chat with the swedish guests than to have a look what is missing from the table or the rest of the hotel guests.
Sadly.. never again and i will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Price / quality is just not appropriate.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank funkysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

I'm terribly sorry to read your review about us.

When we founded this hotel 6 years ago, we wanted to create a memorable service experience that went beyond the formalities of traditional hospitality. Meaning that a member of the staff should be knowledgable not only about food, wine or the check-in process - but the overall experience the guest is looking for. Similar to visiting a friend in another country, he/she should be able instantly guide you to the best cafés, beaches and secret spots. Or a foot massage!

Sadly, we've failed here and made you feel unwelcome - and I'd like to find out more about your stay to be able to improve. If you email me at eric@skilodgeengelberg.com I'd be very interested to hear more and also invite you back to give us a second chance.

Cheers from a sunny Engelberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is a great place to stay in Engelberg! The nice staff and great restaurant and bar is a big plus! Our bathroom was a bit cold, but that's just a detail! I will definitely go back! The location could not be better with walking distance to the cabin and city center, very convenient! A perfect place to enjoy Engelberg.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnusheden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for the review, it means a lot to us.

Your timing couldn't have been better with you stay, Engelberg was (again!) on of the few lucky resorts with chest deep powder snow in November :-)

Good note about the bathroom, expect some improvements during the summer months.

Welcome back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angels Lodge
The Angels Lodge
#13 of 23 in Engelberg
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#10 of 23 in Engelberg
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Lodge Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Lodge Engelberg

Address: Erlenweg 36, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: £118 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ski Lodge Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Lodge Engelberg was crafted after the type of hotels that we enjoy staying at while on vacation. Hearty breakfasts, comfortable beds and personal and friendly service are things you can expect at Ski Lodge Engelberg. Forget the dated interior, bland food, and thin blankets of other hotels. The staff is ready to help you with all aspects of your stay from how to address those aching feet to finding the best snow conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ski Lodge Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Lodge Engelberg Hotel Engelberg
Ski Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing