We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views! Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The Ski Lodge in Engelberg Switzerland is stunning. The views, the rooms, the building, the service amazing. It is so wonderfully located in the cute little town of Engelbarg with a cable car going up to Mt. Titlus only a 4min walk away & the train across the road if you wanted to head into town. The views take your breath away & can be admired from your room or from the cool outdoor lounge area. We had some included meals which were scrumptious. Highly recommend! Loved it!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Ägare at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Rebecca,

We're happy to hear your kind words about our place, and are looking forward to welcoming you back another summer. We hope you had a great time during the rest of your travels around Europe.

Cheers from the whole team! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and stylish interior. It's perfect for couples as well as if you are travelling w friends. The staff was very friendly and professional and the food was really good - especially the breakfast. Perfect location next to the train station and close to the ski lift.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SwedishTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Ski Lodge at Engelberg is a very relaxed hotel ideal for a ski trip. However, it is not the usual ski hang out as it has great food and a lot of class. The après ski on the terrace in the sun is a great place to meet friends and have a god time, the BBQ food is excellent for a snack after a tough day o the slopes, good music and range of drinks. The staff are really friendly and helpful, they all look like they love skiing and being at the Ski Lodge which gets you in the mood, amazingly they are also quite efficient!

The hotel rooms are good especially if you get one of the front rooms in the old house. Did not see the back rooms that overlook the mountains, if they are big they would be worth asking for. Very clean and comfortable without being fussy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A surprise 40th birthday break from my husband. This is a very special place - quirky yet so comfortable and full of character. Breakfast and the Skier's Menu in Brasserie Konrad was truly amazing - worth a visit in itself! Location is perfect - just over an hour from Zurich by taxi and our return journey was by train (station opposite the hotel). Super friendly staff and attention to detail is impressive, particularly in the Brasserie. Our room was lovely - great views, entirely comfortable and very clean. Being English we like a cup of tea. Would it be possible to have tea/coffee facilities in rooms?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights when on a Topdeck tour. This hotel was such a pleasure to stay at, and we enjoyed everything about Engelberg and what this place has to offer. Clean, rustic rooms with breathtaking views, close walk to everything that you need, food was beautiful and the bar is one of a kind. Staff were very friendly and helpful too! Would recommend anyone travelling to Engelberg to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smaller building on the 2nd floor. fantastic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had a great stay at the lodge in feb 2014. We all loved it - very friendly service, familiar and unpretentious. The three course dinner included in the price was great. Breakfast very good too - We do love to go abroad but a lot of the times you get served a croissant and some jam for breakfast. Not the case here - a good Scandinavian breakfast, the perfect way to start the day before you hit the slopes. Will definitely come back next time we hit Engelberg.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Ägare at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you Adam!

As skiers ourselves, we know the difference between a full ski day with a croissant in your stomach, or a full day with a real hearty breakfast. We work hard to make our food worth talking about, so really happy you noticed.

Even though it's full-on summer here, we're planning for another great winter at Ski Lodge. Last week, we got a 14 meter long wooden sofa delivered to our patio, and we have more surprises both in the rooms and the terrace to come.

We hope to see you back when the snow starts falling :-)

The whole team at Ski Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed here for a week for a snowboarding week.

Building is nice and in a great location, a short stroll to the train station and the easiest way to get to Zurich (airport).

Checkin was simple and our room was ready. But no help with bags.

Our room was OK, not very big but everything you need for a week in the snow. Bathroom however is incredibly small.

The meals at night are a good standard and would recommend doing this as the place is so expensive, but so is all of Switzerland. The dinner staff are lovely and friendly.

Bar, the bar is comfortable and nicely set up. Bar staff are pleasant and cheerful.

You can buy your lift pass at reception, which was easily done. We found the reception staff to be not the happiest people to deal with.

Not sure if I would stay there again, possibly take a look at other options in the village.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricSpongberg, Ägare at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hi Petamy,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we're always looking for ways to improve our Ski Lodge.

The restaurant is our real darling, and we're happy you noticed that we've put a lot of effort into it. Regarding the price level, that has to do with our core beliefs. We use no shortcuts in our kitchen, meaning quality ingredients, sourced locally when possible, and cooking everything from scratch. All of which ends up few francs more, but also a whole lot better in our opinion.

I hope to welcome you back again soon! Cheers from the sun!

Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#10 of 23 in Engelberg
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#16 of 23 in Engelberg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Lodge Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Lodge Engelberg

Address: Erlenweg 36, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: £104 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ski Lodge Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Lodge Engelberg was crafted after the type of hotels that we enjoy staying at while on vacation. Hearty breakfasts, comfortable beds and personal and friendly service are things you can expect at Ski Lodge Engelberg. Forget the dated interior, bland food, and thin blankets of other hotels. The staff is ready to help you with all aspects of your stay from how to address those aching feet to finding the best snow conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ski Lodge Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Lodge Engelberg Hotel Engelberg
Ski Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing