We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 December 2010

The service was excellent at this hotel
Very warm and welcoming staff especially the English girl at the check in. They have an excellent restraunt. Very Quaint panelled rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsndave00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanbrunqvist, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2011

Thank you so much for your review and for all your nice words!

We are looking forward to see you some other time soon!

Take good care and all the best from your Spannort Team!


Stefan Brunqvist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2010

I had a minor car accident on the way to the hotel. The staff were fantastic in talking to the hire company and police since I spoke no German. They were very kind. The rooms and food were well above average and the location was very central. Absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanbrunqvist, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2010

Hello,

Lovely to hear from you and thank you so much for your review!

We hope that you got back home safetly and that everything went alright with the car etc.

Engelberg is covered by snow now, beautiful!

Hope to see you soon again!
Take good care

All the best from your Spannort team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed for two nights in a junior suite that was excellent value with a large seating area. The booking,com web photo of the junior suite lacks a view of the seating area that is really comfortable. One of the bedding shots should be replaced by the window angle seats around a smart table. The hotel and restaurant are finished with very fine carved panels of traditional design - a really astonishing quality decoration. The bedside lights were a little weak for reading but the shades swivel (perhaps unintentionally) and this improved the illumination enough for us to read our e-books that are not backlit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdj_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanbrunqvist, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your review and for all the good ideas. We are working on new pictures from the rooms and will try to update them as soon as possible. The lightning is also something that we are working hard on... but want something in the right style, but I think we are almost there and hope to be able to install new lamps in a very soon future :)

Once again, thank you very much for chosing to stay at the Spannort in Engelberg and we hope to be able to welcome you back sometime soon again! And I hope that we have had time to improve the lightning until then!

Best Regards from a Snowy Engelberg


Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The warm hospitality and friendliness of all their staff is unbeatable (our heartfelt thanks to Stephen and Cecilia for telling us some of the best kept secrets of Engelberg). Spacious and well-equipped room as well as the cozy and beautiful decor lounge area made us feel so at home. Spannort has one of the loveliest restaurants in Engelberg, which serves great quality food with wonderful ambience. Definitely a must-try for honeymooners.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carroll_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanbrunqvist, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2010

Hello my dear friends in Singapore,

Thank you so much for all the nice compliments and for your review!

I hope we will see you sometime soon again in the future!

Take good care

All the best!

Stefan Brunqvist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I stayed at the Spannort for one night during a hiking tour. After several days staying in mountain inns, i wanted a night in somewhere a bit more comfortable for a change, and that's exactly what I got. I was given a room with a balcony on the third floor at the back of the hotel. No views to speak of, but that's not what I was looking for.

The bed itself was a great size for one (though if the room is also used as a double it would be on the small size). The room also had a "lounge" corner with a table and seating for three or four people. The shower was excellent, and was equipped with a collapsible clothes rail, very handy for drying wet gear after a day in the mountains.

I didn't use the restaurant, but the breakfast buffet was very good. Staff at reception were very friendly and chatty - two different receptionists asked me about my hike, where I was going, what I had seen and so on - the kind of nice personal touch that makes all the difference. I would stay there again if I was back in Engelberg.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanbrunqvist, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

A warm and big thank you from a sunny Engelberg!

We are very glad that you enjoyed the stay with us and thank you for all good feedback!

Wish you a nice rest of the summer and hope to see you soon again!



The Spannort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

My adult daughter and I stayed at the Spannort Hotel (Engelberg) in May of 2010 – in two very affordable single rooms.

We were extremely pleased with our warm welcome and large, clean rooms (each with a balcony). Anette and Cecilia were wonderful and spoke good English. The Breakfast Room and lounge were charming. Breakfast was delicious, and the food selection was good.

We also ate in the dining room. Chef Patrice Biberian’s food was superb – far superior to all other restaurants at which we ate in Engelberg!

We HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanbrunqvist, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2010

THANK YOU!

Makes us very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you soo much for all compliments, they have been forwarded to all in the Spannort team!

We are looking forward to see you soon again and until then, have a great rest of the spring and a lovely summer!

Best Regards from Engelberg

Your Spannort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

Nice and friendly service. The lobby is like a cosy living room! The room was clean, nice and had nice beds. Everything absolutley perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frau_Rosenrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stefanbrunqvist, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2010

Hello!

Makes us very glad to hear that you felt like home; our mission/ goal with the new hotel lounge is then accomplished :-)

We are already looking forward to see you soon again! Take good care!

All the best from Engelberg

Stefan Brunqvist together with the Spannort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
282 reviews
0 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 23 in Engelberg
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#16 of 23 in Engelberg
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spannort Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Dorfstrasse 28, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#3 Green Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: £159 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spannort Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant in Engelberg: a traditional Swiss hotel (20 rooms, 35 beds) and restaurant with a warm atmosphere located right in the centre of the village close to the train station and with its own parking area. The hotel has got high standard rooms with own balcony and alp-inspired interiors which will offer you a good rest after a long day out in the mountains. The restaurant offers a traditional Swiss kitchen with all its culinary thrills served to you in a warm environment. To fulfill the experience we present a broad wine list including a great choice of wines from Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Spannort Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spannort Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing