We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Youthful and modern” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Engelberg Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Engelberg Youth Hostel
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Youthful and modern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We made a reservation for 8 people in this place for a Saturday night, before we went on our trip to Iglu Dorf. Though each room accommodated 6 persons , on request, the people in-charge have made arrangements for 2 additional mattresses. The hosts were friendly and had a constant smile on their faces. The rooms were clean, and fresh. Do not go by the outer "older" appearance, as the inside is renovated and modern. There is a luggage/shoe room at the entrance where people can leave their soiled shoes or Ski/Snow gear. The entrance door is free to use until 9 PM, after which to open it, you would need the key card of your room.

The mess hall is big enough to accommodate more than 60 people. The breakfast though with limited options was tasty and healthy enough to kick-start your day. The dinner was nice. There are guide books in the dining hall, in English and German, with loads of useful information to plan our trip better. We were also provided with a Guest card, using which you are entitled to discounts at most stores (incl. discounts on rental of Ski/Snow gear) in and around Engleberg and also to the Cable cars to Titlis/Brunni.

Sunmatt is the nearby bus stop. It is just a stone's throw away from the hostel. There are shuttles running around the town, which are free to use. Line 7 (Blue Line in the map), either from Engelberg Bahnoff or the Titlis Cable Station, goes to Sunmatt. If you are looking for a comfortable and affordable place to rest for the night, this is the preferable place.

If you are visiting Engleberg, don't miss One of the world's largest Organ in the Engelberg Monastery.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anirudh404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked this hostel for a weekend stay in Engelberg and it was very comfortable, staff were helpful, rooms and toilets were clean. We had dinner and breakfast from hostel thought the options were limited food was tasty. Hostel also has play room for kids, an indoor games room.
It took about 10 minutes by walk from banhof but you can also take free engleberg shuttle bus running across city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodepaka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
325 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here while hiking across Switzerland on the Via Alpina. In Engelberg, most lodging is either Belle Epoche hotels or modern chain hotels. For hikers, the Jugendherberge is the best budget choice. The facility itself is class Swiss chalet style, with trees and a pleasant yard. However, it is located quite a ways from downtown Engelberg, in a dreary area dominated by bland apartment buildings. Inside, there are excellent facilities for hikers: a room for boots and other hiking gear, for example. Our room had bunk beds and locking cabinets. Shared WC and wash facilities were across the hall. Downstairs, the dining and common room was airy and bright. Meals are served cafeteria style, and there is one entree at dinner. When we were there, it was noodles with meat sauce. We loved it. Portions are very generous. The staff was unusually pleasant and accommodating. The entire facility was extremely clean and well-maintained. At night, it was quiet. We highly recommend this place to fellow hikers. During the summer, we highly recommend making reservations ahead of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehoboth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a friendly, well-run hostel and a great place to stay.

The hostel is just outside the centre of the village, about ten minutes' easy walk from the railway station. It's located on a quiet street where the only noise is the sound of cowbells in the pastures above.

The building is an old, traditional Swiss chalet but it has been completely refurbished to a very high standard. We stayed in a twin room with private shower, which was comfortable and cosy. Toilets and further showers were located on the landing just outside the room. There are plenty of secure lockers for guests staying in dormitory accommodation. Guests have 24-hour access to the building using their keycard.

The room rate includes a buffet breakfast, which is very fresh and tasty. A two course evening meal is also offered at a very reasonable price. The menu is not especially imaginative but the food is prepared well and the portions are generous.

The hostel has WiFi that is almost free (guests are asked to pay 1 franc for the WiFi password for the duration of their stay). The signal in the common areas is good but we had no signal in the bedroom.

We were asked to pay a non-refundable deposit of 30% of the cost at the time of booking. The only form of payment accepted was international bank transfer, which cost quite a lot of money.

The evening meal has to be pre-ordered and is served at 6.15pm sharp, which does restrict what you can do in a day and still be back in time for dinner (you have to catch the 5 o'clock train from Lucerne to be back in time). If you plan to spend long days away, whether with a rail pass or walking, you should consider whether it would be better to eat elsewhere on some nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

My friend and I stayed here 1 night in June as a break between Paris and Rome. We were the only guests in this cute hostel, besides all the goats outside. The hostel was clean and run by a family. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Overall, our time in Engelberg was a much needed break after Paris!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

The staff was accommodating. The bedroom and bath were neat. Walking distance to the train station and to Mt. Titlis station. The pre-ordered dinner was yummy too. The kids enjoyed their stay here. Highly recommended for families with kids.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

Great hostel. Paid extra to have a 2 bedroom by myself. It was worth it. Still fairly cheap and had the room to myself.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#19 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Hostatt
Hotel Garni Hostatt
#13 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#14 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engelberg Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engelberg Youth Hostel

Property: Engelberg Youth Hostel
Address: Dorfstrasse 80 | 6390 Engelberg, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the River Aa in Engelberg - the "Angel's Mountain" - to the "end of the world". Is this your idea of holiday? Then the angel of the mountains, or "Bergengel", will grant your wish! And the more unusual, the better. How about hurtling downhill on a mountain tricycle? Or a cable car ride up to the magnificent panorama? Or quite simply the rugged, blue beauty of the mountains? Enjoy the caress of an angel's wings as you spend the night in the youth hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Engelberg Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing