We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Alphaven is simply out of this world!”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  View from the Front  (Apartment C is on the Upper Floor)
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The house in Winter with stunning views
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 showing Ladder Steps to Loft Area
ALPHAVEN  Bedroom 2  Loft Area (King Size Double Bed)
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
Stairs to Apartment C
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C  Living Area
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 with Loft Area above
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
Engelberg ALPHAVEN in Winter with stunning panoramic views
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Engelberg ALPHAVEN   Apartment C   Bedroom 2
Apartment C   Living Area & Kitchen   WINTER
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
TOAO66
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alphaven is simply out of this world!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We booked Alphaven because we wanted to be located somewhere in the centre of Switzerland to be well placed to explore the country from there. Located literally hanging over the beautiful town of Engelberg, Alphaven is a jewel of a place with views that are hard to describe and imagine without experiencing first hand. The apartment we stayed in was very clean, modern and well equipped with balconies and windows all round to capture the superb views from every corner. The owners are very hospitable and professional and make you feel welcome without intruding on you unnecessarily. I would highly recommend Alphaven for families with children, honeymooners, groups of friends, etc. Alphaven and Engelberg are so nice that we hardly went anywhere outside the area apart from Lucerne which is very close.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleeRay
Goldsboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Alphaven- Truly Close to Heaven”
Reviewed 28 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Shortly after arriving at Alphaven a storm rolled over the mountains resulting in the most glorious full double RAINBOW arching from one end of the valley to the other. And that was just the beginning of the spectacular views in store for us. Alphaven is truly close to heaven.
Alphaven is a wonderful base for summer exploring. We had a car and it was easy to visit Lucerne and all the lovely villages around the lake- then return home to our mountain retreat at night. And of course Engelberg was a delight as well. A perfect summer vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great base location for summer travel.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thralldad
Pleasant Hill CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“World Class Views! Stunning beauty!”
Reviewed 10 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Alphaven is a work of art. John, the owner is a master photographer with a genuis for beauty. He told me"I knew within 5 minutes of standing on the vacant lot" his vision for 'Alp heaven' "It was years in the making"
We rented C and D apts for 2 weeks in early June 2011. All 4 of us were awe struck by the 220 degree vistas which changed constantly depending on light. Wild flowers growing everywhere...cows with bells....snow covered mountains on all sides...hiking trails galore...the Engelberg Valley and town below
Food in Switzerland is expensive so we recommend the Co-op grocery store/restaurant. Carrying food up the hill to the Apt is a daily issue if you don't have a car. There are many steps.
The town's people were friendly and honest in returning things we left in our delighted absentmindedness. I doubt if we will every be able to top Alphaven's beauty.....Anywhere. All four of us agreed it was our best vacation spot ever.

Ask John about the book dedicated to Alphaven.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktaneja
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Splendid”
Reviewed 24 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Don’t remember the exact words i wrote in the guestbook while i checked out of Alpheaven but what I do remember is the feeling of not wanting to leave yet.

Me and my family stayed there for 3 nights in the first week of May 2011 and had a very pleasant and comfortable stay during that period.

John and Ursala have made every attempt to keep the virtue of the property name and give it a real sense. The location (although a little away from the village downhill) gives a splendid view of mt. Titlis. We stayed in apartment C (which can easily accommodate 6 adults) that had all the basic facilities you could possibly need during your stay.

We knew that restaurant and markets are little far from the cottage so we were equipped with ready to eat food, which came quite handy during the stay.

I would certainly recommend this hidden gem to anyone who’s planning a trip to Engelberg.

A satisfied customer
Kunal

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry-Dub...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Excellence”
Reviewed 20 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Just pack and go, this is the most fabulous place in the world to get away from it all for a few days or weeks, Alphaven owned by John and Ursula O'Brien is perfectly located with the best views of the Swiss Alps you can imagine, and close to the Town of Engelberg a short walk and at every turn another stunning view. Alphaven is perfection, clean, well designed, comfortable, peaceful and has an amazing location above the town. We will definitely return and stay longer next time.
Thanks John and Ursula

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edandra
Lake City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay for memories of a lifetime!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

This is an outstanding apartment with an awesome view in a beautiful mountain setting. Owners (John) very knowledgeable and helpful-gave great advice and info. Lots to see and do with easy travel by train to entire region. Only a 15 minute walk to the train station. This rental is worth every penny!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marita72
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Enchanted Family of 6 - stunning Alphaven!”
Reviewed 5 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in Apartment C in April 2011 with our 4 children aged 9 to 14. What an enchanting place this is! The view from the apartment is spectacular to say the least. An ever changing, living masterpiece - we found that we spent much of our time in the apartment looking at the view that we never grew tired of. The apartment was immaculately clean, and offered everything we needed for our 4 night stay. The kids loved sleeping up in the loft - a real novelty for them. The use of washing machine and dryer was extremely helpful. The walk up from the town to the apartment was a challenge to say the least, but all added to the experience of staying at Alphaven - and worth it to be rewarded at the end with the view from the apartment of Mt Titlis (next time I think we'll get a car!!). Engelberg itself is a delightful town, with plenty to see and do. The trip up to the snow to Mt Trubsee and Mt Titlis was unforgettable - our 4 children had never seen snow before, so you can imagine their excitement and joy! John is the most helpful host - all questions I had before arrival were answered promptly and with lots of detail, and he was able to provide us with extra information regarding our stay in Engelberg and Switzerland. It was a pleasure to meet you John, and thank you so much for making our stay at Alphaven an enjoyable and memorable one. Our only regret is that we could not stay for longer!! We hope to see you again sometime, and will be sure to recommend Alphaven to anyone heading to Switzerland.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing