We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Home just below Mount Titilus !”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  View from the Front  (Apartment C is on the Upper Floor)
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The house in Winter with stunning views
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 showing Ladder Steps to Loft Area
ALPHAVEN  Bedroom 2  Loft Area (King Size Double Bed)
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
Stairs to Apartment C
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C  Living Area
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 with Loft Area above
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
Engelberg ALPHAVEN in Winter with stunning panoramic views
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Engelberg ALPHAVEN   Apartment C   Bedroom 2
Apartment C   Living Area & Kitchen   WINTER
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
c_halliwu...
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Home just below Mount Titilus !”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After a long day of train travel from Italy , the four of us arrived at Alphaven Apt C. It was spotlessly clean and organized with outstanding views of the alps! Because it has all the amenities of home such as the dishwasher and the shower with amazing water pressure as well as laundry facilities including a dryer, it was very easy to settle in here. The home itself is quite intriguing due to the architecture of the building and we were fortunate enough to meet the owners themselves whom were extremely welcoming making sure everything was to our satisfaction! If you want Charlie's Taxi to save you the walk with groceries, go to the train station - everything is within walking distance, the train, the grocery stores and restaurants!
If you are fortunate to be able to sleep in the bedroom with the huge balcony then you will have a view of Mt Titlus when you awake in the morning not to mention the view of Engleberg!!!
Enjoy your visit here! We are certainly planning to go back one day!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauloc44
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Point”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just a marvelous experience. The sight, the house and the city are a treat.
We had mostly beautiful sunny days, in the begining of setember.
Mount Titlis is a must go.
Walking up the hill behind the house was also a pleasure (though my legs complained a bit).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sight
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhunt
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Glorious views”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four (including teenagers) really enjoyed our stay in Alphaven. We weren't lucky with the weather, but the views from the balcony and windows were superb when the clouds lifted! Even rainy days are pretty special at Alphaven C - you feel like you are inside the storm when one breaks. The apartment has everything you need for a short stay, and Engelberg has lots to offer. Paragliding in such a spectacular environment was one of the highlights of our whole summer!

I would caution people about the stairs - there are 70 (yes, I counted!) up to the apartment, so travel light. Carrying heavy cases up is not much fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolo0610
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We only stayed two nights but we definitely wished we could have stayed longer. The views were break taking at every hour of the day. We stayed in the top floor apartment which had more than enough beds for all of us. We were able to cook both nights and everything provided made it easy. Only negative was all the stairs going up and down with a toddler and a lot of luggage but at least the stair were wide and chilled. We took advantage of the discount cards provided and we were able to get a discount going up on the Brunni. The communication leading up to our stay was very smooth and the owners provided us with so much information on what to do as well as how to get to Alphaven. We would definitely recommend the Alphaven to anyone going to Engelberg.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ETEChandl...
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
“I'm going Swiss”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Spectacular views from the apartment. The apartment is very comfortable as are the beds. It is ideally located with easy access to the train station. Recommend the Waldegg Hotel Spa, and a trip to the top of Titlis Mountain. Engelberg village is delightful. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolfrom...
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, lovely accommodations, warm, friendly owners”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Alphaven was a real standout from my many internet searches for accommodations with stunning views in Switzerland. So I was excited when we decided that our plans would include Engelberg and Alphaven.

For 8 days of beautiful April weather we hiked, took cable cars, explored the area, visited friends, and enjoyed wonderful evenings on the balcony of Apt. C overlooking the snow-covered mountains and the monastery. We made simple dinners almost every night. In addition to taking the best advantage of this special setting, we saved on the high prices of restaurants in Switzerland. While we had a car, most of the time we hiked down into town and brought our groceries back in our backpack. It is a steep climb alternately on a winding road (very few cars) and a series of staircases but this helped justify the cheese and chocolate we consumed.

On the last day I took advantage of the wonderful Spa-hotel (Waldegg) below Alphaven and loved the warm pool with its incredible view of the mountains.

John and Ursula were warm, friendly and welcoming from the time we first made our reservations till the end of our stay. When I asked to see Apartment A, John was happy to show me (it is fabulous). I was fascinated to know that John designed the house—I LOVED the architecture and the way it takes maximum advantage of its remarkable location. I’m so glad we got to meet John and Ursula.

This is a very special place with remarkable views that change each hour and each day. I feel privileged we could spend our week in Switzerland at Alphaven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredible views; great architecture; great shower; friendly owners
Liked least: steep, curvy road to town, but it comes with the territory of stunning views above it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonBeeby
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Well I would suggest doing what we did and arriving after dark. This means that the following morning the views you are greeted with, first thing, are sensational.

Overall this place just goes that little bit further from the very powerful showers to the fully equipped kitchen. very short walk down the hill to the free bus service and also it is within walking distance to the Terrace Hotel. Walking back up requires one or two drinks to brave it, but the bus gets you very close.

Everything was very clean and fresh when we arrived, no trace of others staying and it felt like you had arrived in someone's home rather than a rented apt.

Parking on-site and covered and felt very safe and secure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing