We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking Panorama”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  View from the Front  (Apartment C is on the Upper Floor)
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The house in Winter with stunning views
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 showing Ladder Steps to Loft Area
ALPHAVEN  Bedroom 2  Loft Area (King Size Double Bed)
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
Stairs to Apartment C
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C  Living Area
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 with Loft Area above
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
Engelberg ALPHAVEN in Winter with stunning panoramic views
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Engelberg ALPHAVEN   Apartment C   Bedroom 2
Apartment C   Living Area & Kitchen   WINTER
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Zanzibar4...
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Panorama”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Alphaven looks over the Engelberg valley and has a 360 degree vista of the surrounding mountains. Apartment A boasts a hot tub which is perfect after a hard day's skiing or hiking.
The apartment is an easy walk from the village and ski lifts. A ski bus passes by.
The apartment fully equipped and is a home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the mountains
Liked least: Climb from village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryantmon...
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Amazing view! Great location! Perfect for a family of 5! Owners are very helpful!”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My wife does most of the planning and came upon this property online. She said to me, "Look at this view! Do you think it's that good in person?!" Well, let me tell you... it's better. The view and location cannot be overstated. The drive up to the house could be a little treacherous if the weather is bad, but the journey up the hill (and up the stairs to the apartment) are worth it!

We had 3 teenagers with us, and the sleeping accomodations were perfect... the two boys in the 2 single beds and our daughter in the loft. The kitchenette is not really for big meals, but we just did breakfast in the room and we were out and about during lunch and dinner. It served as a great home base during our few days in Switzerland.

The owner's are very helpful, before and during the stay, and we felt like we had great instructions on how to get the place, where to get our key, etc. Overall, we could not have been happier!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The stairs at the end of a long day
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
1 review
“Such an outstanding stay with John and Ursula”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My friends and I were totally delighted and happilly surprised to get in touch with John and Ursula, very friendly host !
The appartment was clean and ready, view from balcony was breathless and we received great advises from engelberg must sees !
I don't know when but I hope to get back in touch with you soon :)

Cheers,
Christophe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I felt home !!!!!!!
Liked least: No idea
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie R
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible, truly is heaven in the Alps!”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Alphaven is a rare gem in the self-catering holiday market... it really is as beautiful as it looks on the website! We stayed for 3 nights with our boys aged 7 and 9 following 2 weeks in Italy. This was a bit of luxury for mum and dad at the end of our holiday and it didn't disappoint. The apartment was excellently equipped and the quality standard of everything really was 5 star. We were welcomed on our arrival by Candy, and nothing was too much trouble during our stay. The weather was disappointing during our stay, so having the hot tub was a real bonus keeping the kids occupied during the day, and the grown ups (with a glass of fizz) relaxed in the evening. Thank you so much to John, Ursula and Candy for an amazing holiday. We'll be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting was incredible.
Liked least: Loved it all!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c_halliwu...
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Home just below Mount Titilus !”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After a long day of train travel from Italy , the four of us arrived at Alphaven Apt C. It was spotlessly clean and organized with outstanding views of the alps! Because it has all the amenities of home such as the dishwasher and the shower with amazing water pressure as well as laundry facilities including a dryer, it was very easy to settle in here. The home itself is quite intriguing due to the architecture of the building and we were fortunate enough to meet the owners themselves whom were extremely welcoming making sure everything was to our satisfaction! If you want Charlie's Taxi to save you the walk with groceries, go to the train station - everything is within walking distance, the train, the grocery stores and restaurants!
If you are fortunate to be able to sleep in the bedroom with the huge balcony then you will have a view of Mt Titlus when you awake in the morning not to mention the view of Engleberg!!!
Enjoy your visit here! We are certainly planning to go back one day!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauloc44
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Point”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just a marvelous experience. The sight, the house and the city are a treat.
We had mostly beautiful sunny days, in the begining of setember.
Mount Titlis is a must go.
Walking up the hill behind the house was also a pleasure (though my legs complained a bit).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sight
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildhunt
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Glorious views”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four (including teenagers) really enjoyed our stay in Alphaven. We weren't lucky with the weather, but the views from the balcony and windows were superb when the clouds lifted! Even rainy days are pretty special at Alphaven C - you feel like you are inside the storm when one breaks. The apartment has everything you need for a short stay, and Engelberg has lots to offer. Paragliding in such a spectacular environment was one of the highlights of our whole summer!

I would caution people about the stairs - there are 70 (yes, I counted!) up to the apartment, so travel light. Carrying heavy cases up is not much fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing