We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for families and friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  View from the Front  (Apartment C is on the Upper Floor)
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The house in Winter with stunning views
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 showing Ladder Steps to Loft Area
ALPHAVEN  Bedroom 2  Loft Area (King Size Double Bed)
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
Stairs to Apartment C
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C  Living Area
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 with Loft Area above
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
Engelberg ALPHAVEN in Winter with stunning panoramic views
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Engelberg ALPHAVEN   Apartment C   Bedroom 2
Apartment C   Living Area & Kitchen   WINTER
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
susiewbar...
Danville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for families and friends”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful place to stay. We stayed in Apt. C+ with our family and our very good friends and their children (4 adults and 4 teenagers). We had a fantastic time and felt the property was very well represented. It is just as beautiful as the pictures represent. The views are breathtaking, the apartment and views are so unique and special. We loved sipping our coffee in the morning and looking out at the ever-changing view. We loved exploring the area in the day and coming back to sip wine and enjoy the evening views. John, the owner is an amazing photographer and his amazing photos are displayed in the entry hall way stairs. As previous reviewers have stated, there are many steps up to the apartment, but it is well worth it. Also, would definitely say a rental car is good to have driving up to the apartment as it is a good 15 minutes walk uphill from the wonderful town. We did the walk each day which was some good exercise, but I wouldn't have wanted to do the walk more than once a day. Would highly recommend this place to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty and uniqueness of the apartment
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brynjar S
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
“Fantastic !”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My wife and 2 children stayed in Alphaven in february and enjoyed every minute of it.
The house itself is very beautiful and well equipped and view is absolutely amazing ! We received very good and detailed instructions on how to get there and what could be done in the area.
We will certainly return to Engelbert and when we do we will stay in Alphaven again.

Thanks you for a great stay, see you next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent weekend stay”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Three of us stayed in apartment B, the place is fantastic and John was on hand to answer our questions and pointed out some good bars and restaurants.

The views from the terrace are just amazing and we have already started discussing returning in the summer!

Totally Recommended!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin296
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perhaps the most stunning view of any vacation rental”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four enjoyed a superb week at Christmas in the Alphaven Apartment C; the floor-to-ceiling glass framed Mt. Titlis and surrounding mountains perfectly. The apartment owners reside upstairs and are on hand to answer questions and offer advice. There are too many positives to mention them all, e.g. the living space accommodates four nicely without crowding, the kitchen allows some self-catering if the view keeps you wanting to enjoy your vacation from inside, and the sauna hits the spot after a day in the cold. Engelberg's centrally located for easy day trips to Chur, Ticino, Zurich, etc.

We're a discerning family, having stayed in vacation rentals in a dozen or more countries. Alphaven ranks among our favorites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean design of the apartment. . . and the views.
Liked least: Difficult to say. A flat sheet (American style) with the comforter may have been nice.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excellent, views forever”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

stayed only 2 nights with my wife and 2 children (10 & 7).
Fantastic hosts, views are breathtaking, accommodation superb
Couldn't recommend highly enough

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shubham S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must have experience”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I hate going to commercial over crowded places. After Zurich, Engelberg was all I needed and Alphaven was an answer to my prayers. Perfect place to complete your holiday experience. Sit in the balcony and enjoy the view and when it gets cold, sit cozy inside the apartment and you can still soak in the authentic Engelberg experience.
John has done up the place very thoughtfully. At the end of a long day, Sauna is all you need and you can sit pretty in beautiful rooms and read to sleep. He was very patient and answered the zillion questions I had. Very helpful and since I was travelling with a couple of 60 years old, he helped us with the luggage.
The best part that stayed with me was John enthusiasm when he showed us the entire place and when we could find a moment to soak in the beauty, he smiled with "Welcome to Heaven" and that in fact, is the perfect way to describe this place.

I know for sure that I will go back to Engelberg and Alphaven. I think you should do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: Walking down for dinner took time.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulo R
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wonderful place, wonderful city, wonderful stay.
First time in Europe with very happy memories.
Not much more to say.
Perfect

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing